We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Berlin East
Ranked #278 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointment!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and being four star hotel we expected a lot more . In our double bed room on fifth floor there was no air condition or fan and in the heat we almost suffocated . The ambiance was not impressive. Only one window could open and we felt backed there plus the carpet was dirty and TV was not working proper. Breakfast was good and with additional 3 euros it could be served in room .Overall it was ok but unfortunately ,still not upto 4 stars mark.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAWARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Traveller,
First of all we want to thank you for taking the time to leave one review about your stay. Feedback like yours allows us to correct defects and improve our customer satisfaction. We want to apologize, that you had problems with your TV. Please contact the next time directly our colleagues at the reception that they can take care about it. Great, that you had a good start in the day with our breakfast buffet. We hope that you had a great time. Hopefully we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. We want to show your our improvements. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    756
    612
    208
    129
See reviews for
337
942
88
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cropwell butler
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

As with the previous comments, good food, good beds once the extra pillows arrived and friendly staff. We don't tend to watch TV so that wasn't an issue, everything else was better than your average UK hotel. The transport system is superb, no such thing as Sunday timetable, it just all works beautifully.
We really enjoyed our long weekend AND there is a Llidl just down the road!!!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerandangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Traveller,
Thank you for being our guest and for your positive rating at TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you liked the hotel, enjoyed your stay and particular the convenience by the public transport system to get easy and quick to the city center. We hope that you have visit a lot of interesting places on your long weekend. We hope that we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Located right next to a tram-line so is okay for location and to get about the city. Bed's were average comfortwise but only one small, flat pillow resulted in a poorer sleep than we had hoped. The TV was old (With the big back!) and it had a limited number of channels with no English-speaking channel which wasn't great when looking for something to watch and listen to. No free WiFi which again adds to the negativity.

It was cheap and it isn't the worst hotel in the world. The staff were really friendly and with a few changes it could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Refman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Traveller,
Thank you very much for being our guest and for taking the time to leave a review at TripAdvisor. We hope that you had a great stay and enjoyed the time in Berlin. We hope that you sleept well. When you need more pillows, please let us know. It is no problem to give you another pillow in your room. You are right; in most of our rooms still we have the older TV’s. But we are working on it to change them. Some of our rooms have WIFI inclusive. But also we have a small business center close to the reception with 2 computers and one printer which our guest can use free of charge. It is nice, that you remember our friendly colleagues. The service is very important for us. We hope that we can welcome you soon a again on your next trip to Berlin. Best regards your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel on a cheap deal with booking.com an what a bargain we got. Was an ideal base for the week. Excellent transport links into the centre. Clean and tidy and friendly staff. Couldn't fault it.

Helpful?
5 Thank ScotsPhotoMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Traveller,
Thank you very much for your Feedback at TripAdvisor. We are happy to read, that you got a great deal when you booked your stay. The best way to explore Berlin is with the public transportation. In about 20 minutes you reach with the tram the Alexanderplatz. The tram station is 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel away. We hope that you explore a lot of interesting places from Berlin. It will be great, when we can welcome you again soon. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The breakfasts were nice, the hotel staff friendly in helping give directions into the city centre, but there was no fridge, Wi-fi was 5 euros a day, the TV only had 7 channels so no English news etc very noisy deliveries early in the morning and the pillows were really really flat!!! We had to ask for an extra pillow, but it made no difference, so not very comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Rachel K.,
Thank you so much for your review at TripAdvisor. We are happy to read, that you liked your stay and felt comfortable with us. Great that you liked the breakfast buffet, so you got a good start in the day. It is good to read, that our colleagues at the reception was helpful to give the right directions to come fast to the city center. In the moment the hotel don’t have fridge in the rooms. Drinks and Snacks we do provide from vending machines in selected floors. Close to the reception you will find a small Business Center with 2 computers and printer, which our guest can use free of charge. We are sorry, that you had a really flat pillow. We are sorry, that you can’t sleep well about the flat pillow. We are happy to read, that you liked the value for money. We hope that you had a great stay and we hope to welcome you soon again. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I booked this trip sun morning to wed afternoon for my boyfriends birthday for what I paid including flights and 3nights (room only ) was well worth it .The hotel is clean the rooms are very basic No kettle iron etc but this I could live without-2single beds but we put together no problem and housekeeping arrived everyday
, The hotel shares the reception with the holiday inn hotel, save you time for looking ate out so unable to leave comment reference to the breakfast or New Orleans room however macs restaurant not far from hotel new car garage is fab and well priced
When arrive in Berlin buy a 36hr travel rider pass must valid before all trips undercover rail tickets inspectors on board trains/trams to catch people out BEWARE 40 euro fine (buy at the information desk in the airport)
1down fall government tax to stay 7.50 euros
Hotel is not far out m5 and m6 will take you to the city centre :) avoid bad reviews !!!! Hotel was fab and location easy accessible xx

Room Tip: Block 2 room 1030 floor ten no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sara_c338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear sara_c338,
Thank you very much for your rating at TripAdvisor. We are happy that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay. We are happy to read, that you liked your room. We hope that your boyfriend have a unforgettable birthday in Berlin. When you want to go to the city center, the best way is with the public transportation. In about 20 minutes you are at the Alexanderplatz. The tram station you can reach in 5 minutes walking distance. Hopefully we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Myself and my boyfiend were under the illusion that we would get a double bed, when we found 2 single beds we asked for a room with a double bed. The staff said there were no available rooms so I asked if I could talk to a manager. The staff member went away and came back claiming that there were rooms with double beds but that loud students stayed around those rooms and it would be a downgrade. The staff were unhelpful and rude. Other than that, the room was very nice. It was annoying to have to push the beds together, but the bathroom and room overall were very well laid out and really clean so was impressed with that. Also just a tram ride away from the centre of Alexandrplatz. Also, there ended up being really noisy students in the main hotel area and we had to wait 40 mins to get up an elevator one night because they were messing with it; we also had to walk down 8 flights of stairs the next morning because they were messing again and when we told the staff, they simply shrugged and could not give a f***.

Room Tip: We choose the superior business double room and it was lovely. Note: they are single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmU5629IC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear sarahmU5629IC,
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to leave a rating and comments about your stay. Our hotel has room with double beds or 2 single beds. When you make the reservation, you can write one request for the double bed. But this is no confirmation. Great, that you liked the room and the cleanness. We want to apologize for the noise from the other guest. We hope that we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
Holiday Inn Berlin City East
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#349 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#207 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Berlin East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Berlin East

Property: City Hotel Berlin East
Address: Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Berlin East 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cultural and sporting capital with a unique lifestyle at this 3-star Berlin hotel. Whether as a tourist or business traveller, the city has something to offer everyone. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is centrally located close to Alexanderplatz. For leisure travellers, there are sports courses and sporting and event venues situated nearby, such as the Sportforum, the Velodrome events venue and the Max-Schmeling-Halle. Meals and drinks are served up at the "Landsberger 203" restaurant and the “New Orleans Bar” with Mediterranean and Berlin-style cuisine. A well-equipped gym is available to hotel guests at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Berlin East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing