We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hotel only 20min from Alexander Platz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Berlin East
Ranked #286 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable hotel only 20min from Alexander Platz”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

When arriving at thw hotel we were positively surprised as it was directly next to the M-train which goes directl to the Alexanderplatz and Heumarkt.
Although the hotel room seemed a bit outdated and the matresses weren't the best, it was clean and sufficiently big. The hotel staff was very friendly and after reading the warnings about theft we stored our valuables in the safe provided at the reception. The hotel has free wifi and has a very good value for money. I would recommend it to anyone who is travelling on a budget and doesn't mind a 20-minute ride into the city center.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neyjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Neyjah, Thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy to read, that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay. In Berlin you can reach almost everything with the public transportation. The tickets you can by easily at our reception. The Alexanderplatz you reach in about 20 minutes. Sorry, that the quality from your mattress was not the best. Hopefully you had a good sleep and wake up refreshed in the morning. The compliments for the clean room we will forward to the housekeeping department. You are right to put your valuables in our safe at the reception. We are also working on it, to put now safes in the guestrooms. So the guest have it more comfortable. That you liked our value for money is really great. We hope that we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    764
    620
    211
    133
See reviews for
340
953
91
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our room was robbed. The laptop, hard discs and other things were stolen. The police told us that such thefts happen in the hotel very often. Strangely the administration does not care about this. We recommended the manager to write warnings for other guests, he promised and did not make it. As well he did not offer any amends.

Besides this terrible accident. The room service was very bad. When we had just come in the room we found uncleaned trash can and bath tube. And all the next days we stayed there the maid made her job very inaccurate.

Don't recommend at all to stay there. But if you will put all your things into safe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nata1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Nata1287,
Thank you very much for your review at TripAdvisor. We want to apologize for all the bad thinks what happen to you. We are so sorry, that you got such a bad experience in our hotel. Thefts happen all over the world. Important is always to put the valuables articles always in the safe. The safe are at the reception free of charge. About your recommendation to warn the other guests, we do put information with safety information in different parts from the hotel. We are really sorry, that you don’t felt comfortable in your room. We will forward your review to the housekeeping department, that we are sure that in the future they will put a better eye on the cleanness. We hope that you accepted our apology. We hope that we can welcome you again to show you our improvements. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Firstly, the Grand City Hotel does not exist. In the sense, it is merged with another bigger hotel behind it. so when we got there after a long trek from the airport, it was disappointing to find doors locked and no proper sign. However, on going to the reception of the bigger hotel (I forget the name), we learnt that they're the same hotel.

The staff was helpful and interactive. The room was clean. Service was generally good. The restaurant and bar are fine too. The only thing is that Osloer Strasse, where the hotel is located, is nowhere close to anywhere a traveler needs to be. It is a residential area and quite far (6-7 stations) from the central Alexanderplatz. Also, the hotel is in the middle of two U/S-bahn stations, and you have to either walk a lot or take the tram. You really don't want to do that with luggage or when you're coming back drunk :-)

The location on websites said Mitte, but we realized that Mitte is a pretty large area and this was probably on the upper fringes of Mitte. This also explained the reasonable prices.

As a traveler, I would spend a little more to stay close to Weinmeisterstrasse, Hackeschermarkt or Alexanderplatz. Those places are much nicer and well connected.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santanu_Bhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Santanu,
Thank you very much for your review at TripAdvisor. We are sorry, that you don’t find directly our reception. We can understand you very well, after a long trip with a plane and the transfer from the airport to the hotel. The Hotel complexes have 2 different hotels. One hotel is the Grand City Hotel Berlin East and the other hotel is the Holiday Inn Berlin City East. Both hotels are sharing one reception. For sure it is very confusing, if you don’t have this information. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is not located close to the Osloer Strasse. We are at the Landberger Allee in Lichtenberg. For sure you mean another hotel! You wrote also, that the hotel is at Mitte. For sure you was in the Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte Hotel…..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was awfull. Stuff is terible no one cant speak english and if you have problem they dont care. I paid for room with air condition and wifi and they didnt gave me that. Also at noon there was no water in hotel and parking is free but they charge you extra 10eur/day. I leave hot 1day earlier even a paid one day extra because i couldnt belive what is going on in this hotel. Worst hotel experience ever!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sanela P.,
Thank you first of all for taking the time to leave a Feedback at TripAdvisor. Feedback like yours allows us to correct defects and improve our customer satisfaction. We want to apologize, about the misunderstandings about your reservation. The tour operators have different contracts, so some guests have the parking free, others not. And this is with different things like the service with WIFI. All our colleagues at the reception are speaking English. Maybe some of them speak English not like a native speaker, but that is one demand to work at the front office. We are sorry, that you have the feeling that they don’t care about your problems. We will forward your review to the front office, to speak with the person in charge. We hope that we can welcome you again, to show you our improvements. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coniston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, room only, the hotel is perfect for sight seeing in Berlin being 20 minutes from Alexanderplatz, we purchased day travel tickets from reception each day at 6.70 euros and the nearest station is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The room was basic, clean and served a purpose of being a base to explore from, disappointing to request a double bed and arrive to 2 single beds pushed together with 2 single blankets, we requested extra pillows and towels on our first night before they appeared 3 hours later that night only after asking for the third time. The hotel kindly stored our bags on the day of checkout free of charge however reception didn't understand the concept of confirming our transfers by phone for us. The staff were efficient but not necessarily friendly and welcoming.
We wanted WiFi in the room so purchased it daily at 5 euros each, we didn't want to use the communal PC's and the WiFi was very weak in reception.
All in all a great base to explore Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJane111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear LauraJane111,
Thank you very much for your review about your stay in our hotel. We are happy to read, that you explore a lot of interesting places from the city. The best way to explore Berlin is with the public transportation. In about 20 minutes you reach with the tram the Alexanderplatz. The tram station is 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel away. The tickets for the public transportation you can get at the reception. So it is very comfortable for the guest. We want to apologize that the extra pillows and towels arrived so late. We will speak with the housekeeping department about this case. Normally the guest confirmed there transfer or flight themselves. Because of that they are maybe a little bit confused. We are sorry, that you felt, that our colleagues were not necessarily friendly and welcoming. Service is very important for us. In some of our rooms the WIFI is included or the guests have the possibility to rent it for 5 Euro a day. Also there is in our business center 2 computers with printer, which our guest can use free of charge. We hope that you had a great stay and enjoyed the time in Berlin. We hope that we can welcome you again to show you our improvements. Best greetings your Ihr Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and being four star hotel we expected a lot more . In our double bed room on fifth floor there was no air condition or fan and in the heat we almost suffocated . The ambiance was not impressive. Only one window could open and we felt backed there plus the carpet was dirty and TV was not working proper. Breakfast was good and with additional 3 euros it could be served in room .Overall it was ok but unfortunately ,still not upto 4 stars mark.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAWARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Traveller,
First of all we want to thank you for taking the time to leave one review about your stay. Feedback like yours allows us to correct defects and improve our customer satisfaction. We want to apologize, that you had problems with your TV. Please contact the next time directly our colleagues at the reception that they can take care about it. Great, that you had a good start in the day with our breakfast buffet. We hope that you had a great time. Hopefully we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. We want to show your our improvements. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cropwell butler
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As with the previous comments, good food, good beds once the extra pillows arrived and friendly staff. We don't tend to watch TV so that wasn't an issue, everything else was better than your average UK hotel. The transport system is superb, no such thing as Sunday timetable, it just all works beautifully.
We really enjoyed our long weekend AND there is a Llidl just down the road!!!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerandangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Traveller,
Thank you for being our guest and for your positive rating at TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you liked the hotel, enjoyed your stay and particular the convenience by the public transport system to get easy and quick to the city center. We hope that you have visit a lot of interesting places on your long weekend. We hope that we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
Holiday Inn Berlin City East
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#377 of 634 in Berlin
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#208 of 634 in Berlin
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Berlin East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Berlin East

Property: City Hotel Berlin East
Address: Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Berlin East 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cultural and sporting capital with a unique lifestyle at this 3-star Berlin hotel. Whether as a tourist or business traveller, the city has something to offer everyone. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is centrally located close to Alexanderplatz. For leisure travellers, there are sports courses and sporting and event venues situated nearby, such as the Sportforum, the Velodrome events venue and the Max-Schmeling-Halle. Meals and drinks are served up at the "Landsberger 203" restaurant and the “New Orleans Bar” with Mediterranean and Berlin-style cuisine. A well-equipped gym is available to hotel guests at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Berlin East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing