We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Berlin East
Ranked #278 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Kos, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Located just 20 minutes out of the hustle & bustle of Berlins city center, this hotel offers very good value for money rooms & a great breakfast!! Staff were very helpfull & overall we were very pleased! Only downfall was the lack of tv channels, if you werent fluent in German there was nothing to watch!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alikh_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Alikh, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read, that you liked our value for money and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliment about the great breakfast buffet and our rooms. Also that you was pleased about our service. We hope that we can welcome you again on your next stay in Berlin. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    758
    617
    209
    129
See reviews for
339
946
89
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We travelled to Berlin in July this year and got into the city quite early. When we reached the hotel, while we did not expect to be checked in at that time, it was surprising that the reception staff were completely unwilling to even consider the possibility of checking us in a minute before 3pm even though we asked for one room at least at 2pm which is the normal time in most hotels !!! Given I was with my elderly parents and my daughter , I was shocked at this so called insistence on rules... What was the icing on the cake was the rudeness of one particular staff, Michelle. She was boorish, rude and snappy. And when I told her so...her response " That's your opinion" !!! I have been to 20 countries so far and thankfully no hotel client service staff has ever behaved that way . Must say the rooms were good and spacious though !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Priya, Thank you very much for your review. Your Feedback is very important for us to improve our service. First of all we want to apologize the situation with our colleagues at the reception. The check in time is normally at 3 pm. When we have rooms free and also clean, then for sure we offer the check in earlier. But when the rooms are all occupied, then we need the time until 3 pm because the housekeeping team need the time to clean the rooms. So for sure there was no possibility to let you earlier in your room. There is so reason to let our guest wait for there rooms when there are already clean. But it is important to explain the situation and to offer you at least to leave your luggage that you can go to eat or to have a coffee until your room is ready. We hope that you accepted our apology. But it is nice, that you liked you room and we hope that you had a wonderful stay in Berlin. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Larisa, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

great hotel, has three buildings(at least 3 i saw) great value for money. is 10 minutes by tram from Alexanderplatz. the hotel is surrounded by trams that can take you anywhere. has free city map and a lot of brochures for free. auto selling machines at the ground floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teravice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Larisa, thank you for being our guest and for your positive review. You are right, the hole building have 3 towers. At the reception you can by the tickets for the public transportation and free maps to explore the city. In 5 minutes walking distance you reach the tram station and in about 20 minutes you are at the Alexanderplatz. We hope that you have seen a lot of interesting places and had a great time. It will be nice when we can welcome you soon again. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Clean & Spacious rooms. Friendly Staff.
Amazing breakfast. Lockers available at the reception. Local transport tickets, passes etc are also available at the reception. It takes around 20 mins from Alexander platz. Good conndctivity. There is also a supermarket nearby.
Only one letdown is the restaurant. Very rude staff. Food was also not great. We had a very unpleasant experience in the restaurant.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hu04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. We are happy to read, that you liked your room and that you remember our friendly colleagues. The compliment for the fantastic breakfast we will forward to the kitchen. You are right, in the moment we have the safety boxes at the reception. For all our guest free of charge. Also there you can get the tickets and maps for the public transportation. With the tram you need about 20 minutes until you reach the Alexanderplatz. We want to apologize the bad experience in the restaurant. Service is very important for us, and you can be sure, that we will speak in our next meeting about your review. We hope that we can welcome you again, that we can show you our improvements. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel was in a decent enough location, I got quite a good deal so it was well worth the money I paid for it. The place was clean and staff were friendly. would recommend it for a quick stay for those who are not looking for anything too fancy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancyljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Nancyljames, Thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy to read, that you got a great deal and that you liked the value for money. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin City East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is actually a holiday inn supposedly 4star. No safety deposit boxes in rooms. Our room and 2others broken into on same evening ,laptops,cameras,kindles,phones stolen. Commenting General manager"oh yes, it happens all the time. What do you want me to do?" Police comment "oh yes, this hotel is famous for it" suggest all travellers should give this hotel a very wide berth

A

Room Tip: 4star no safety boxes, no air conditioning. Avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Megan, Thank you very much for your review. We want to apologize what happen to you on your stay in our hotel. In this big Hotel building are 2 different hotels. Both are sharing one reception. In the moment we don´t have in our rooms the safety deposit boxes in the rooms, but they are at the reception. Free of charge for all our guests. But we also order them to put them in the guestrooms. All over the world happen thinks like that. Not only in hotels, also in buses or trains. So it is very important to put valuable articles in the safe. The hotel is doing all what is possible for the safety from our guest. Please use always the safety deposit boxes and you can be sure that your values are safe. We hope that we can welcome you again to show you our improvements that you can forget the bad experience. Your Grand City Hotel Berlin City East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is part of the holiday inn chain and is quite a bit out of the way.It takes around 20 mins by tram to get near the sights.This wasn't a problem for us as we enjoy a walk and wanted to see a bit of the East side anyway.However, we were disappointed that there weren't ANY restaurants nearby, apart from the hotel one.Breakfast there was 17 euros and we thought this too pricey.The bar's priced seemed pretty much in line with other places in the centre of Berlin.
Room was ok with basic amenities such as a hairdryer etc.As previous reviews suggests our room wasn't dirty. Yes, there were a few stains on the carpet, but at the price we paid and it being significantly less than the rest of Berlin, i don't feel a plush room is to be expected.
There weren't any aircon or free wifi. We found this quite poor, especially as the hotel is a big chain!! There was a note on the door saying people's valuables had been stolen recently and to leave valuables at reception. We took all electronics with us at all times. Security seemed good with swipe entry doors with most rooms being high up, so maybe there has been an issue with some staff?
I would stay here again but not if I had a young family!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave the review about your stay in our hotel. You are right, the hotel is not directly in the center from Berlin. But in this 20 minutes you can take the first impressions with you. You can see a lot of interesting things. Close by are no restaurants, but when you don't want to eat in the hotel, then directly in the city. Hope you explore and had a great time. In our small business center you can use the computers and printer free of charge. It is normal, that you have to put your valuables in the safety deposit boxes. This is all over the world the same. But in the moment we have the safety deposit boxes at the reception and not in the rooms. This will change and we worked also for more safety for our guest. It will be nice to welcome you again to show you our improvements. Best greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin City East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
Holiday Inn Berlin City East
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#364 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#215 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Berlin East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Berlin East

Property: City Hotel Berlin East
Address: Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Berlin East 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cultural and sporting capital with a unique lifestyle at this 3-star Berlin hotel. Whether as a tourist or business traveller, the city has something to offer everyone. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is centrally located close to Alexanderplatz. For leisure travellers, there are sports courses and sporting and event venues situated nearby, such as the Sportforum, the Velodrome events venue and the Max-Schmeling-Halle. Meals and drinks are served up at the "Landsberger 203" restaurant and the “New Orleans Bar” with Mediterranean and Berlin-style cuisine. A well-equipped gym is available to hotel guests at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel Berlin East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing