We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel!”
Review of Michelberger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Michelberger Hotel
Ranked #107 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

great location, and fun neighborhood. 5-10mins walk to the East Side Gallery, public transportation(subway,tram,etc) is right across the road. The staffs there are helpful and friendly. Hotel bar and restaurant are also great. Lovely hotel:-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky22240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    289
    83
    30
    28
See reviews for
80
406
91
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The bar downstairs was brilliant, selling cocktails and good beer with with cool vibe. One night there was a small gig going on from a pair of Electro guys, was a great experience.

The room was cosy aka small. But that what we were expecting so no issues there. Between the Bedroom and the bathroom was a large see through glass window. I found it quite funny but for other couples, this might not be preferred.

Brilliant transport links as the hotel is situated just outside the city center. Railway/subway station strait across the road.

Room Tip: You don't want a room that faces inside the courtyard as peoples voices can echo up and be rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Situated in a great neighbourhood this is a fun spot to stay. The clientele tend to be fairly young but not exclusively so. The rooms are quirky although slightly expensive for the comfort level but it's more of a place to hang out in the bar or garden than spend hours in your room. Breakfasts are great and served in a beautiful airy room. I've stayed in a courtyard room and a front facing room, the latter being slightly noisier but great for people watching the busy street outside. Go, it's a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cakedestroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is definitely my favourite place to stay in Berlin. The whole place has a really cool Berlin vibe and the rooms manage to be homely while still offering a bit of hotel style luxury. The bar downstairs is great too. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieIngrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Michelberger Hotel not only represents Berlins vibe like no other hotel, it is as well by far the coolest and at the same time most welcoming hotel in town. If you look for something different, want to get to live like a local and care about details, you will be very happy in this place. Every little detail is designed with thought and fun, and you can feel that the employees really love working here and identify with their job. It is a hotel thought outside of the box. Nevertheless, if you are looking for something standardized of the rack or want silence and your tv screen on the room, then you are in the wrong place. people here live and discover and don't watch pay tv or order room service. this is a place for people who are open minded and hungry to discover the city.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to be very different, we stayed in the big one for 8 people which was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of a two week trip around Central Europe and to be honest, I could have just spent the entire trip at the Michelberger. I felt completely relaxed. The rooms were tiny, but well-appointed and used the high ceilings effectively. My only discomfort was caused by the necessity of keeping the windows closed at night to shut out some of the street noise. The room got very stuffy. A fan would have been nice to move some air around.

The Michelberger is in microcosm what Berlin is in macrocosm. There was always something happening downstairs in the atrium and my family loved the energy. We took up the hotel's posted offer of a "free" tour of Berlin's underground art scene and learned much from it. The hotel's bar, Honolulu, had great drinks on offer, but my favorite was their private label "Mikkellerberger" pale ale. We sampled the restaurant, the breakfast, and found absolutely nothing lacking. I would stay here again and again.

The hotel is close to two busy mass transit stations: the Warschauer Straße S-Bahn and the U-Bahn. Down at the bottom of the street near the Oberbaumbrücke is the River Spree and the beginning of the East Side Gallery (the longest surviving stretch of the Cold War era Berlin Wall). Kreuzberg and Friedrichshain are within walking distance, as is the YAAM Beach Club bar. Three stops away further east is the hidden but incredible Stasi Museum.

Room Tip: Rooms on the very busy Warschauer Straße are noisy until about 12:00am. Rooms on the atrium/courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spent two nights here last week. Have been to Berlin numerous times, my favourite city in the world. First time staying in the Michelberger. Unfortunately like others have mentioned, the security in this hotel needs to be addressed. My mate and I were both awake luckily when a man entered our room, when I questioned why he had gained entry he made some rubbish excuse that he had entered the wrong room. Our door was closed, I still have no idea how he gained entry. On leaving I did mention it to the receptionist but unfortunately she did not seem at all alarmed at the event and just said she would "note in on our booking" . Thanks, C

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cons55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelberger, Owner at Michelberger Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback. After your checkout we double checked the logs on the door security systems. They show that only our housekeeping staff has been entering your room. Some people of our cleaning team only speak German. You probably misunderstood their excuse of entering the room, while you were still in there.

We have briefed our housekeeping team again, to be very outspoken and clear when entering a guest room. For our guests to feel comfortable at all times.

Unluckily at the Check Out you have not been given enough information or consideration, leaving you with a wrong impression. Our apologies for that. We have discussed this situation with our front office team.

We definitely take every security aspect very serious, so all our guests can feel safe and comfortable at any time.

Over the course of our 5 years of operation, we had over 250 000 guests staying with us. Unfortunately in the past we had a few occasions where guests did not fully close their doors, enabling intruders to take advantage of the moment. Over 1 year ago we update all our security system, installing cameras and controlling our entrance. This has been very effective and we did not have a situation since.

All the best to you!

Your Michelberger Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Holiday Inn Berlin - City East Side
Friedrichshain
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
#44 of 634 in Berlin
247 reviews
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#31 of 634 in Berlin
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
East Side Hotel
East Side Hotel
#452 of 634 in Berlin
124 reviews
Charlottenburg
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin
Friedrichshain
Almodovar Hotel
Almodovar Hotel
#136 of 634 in Berlin
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelberger Hotel

Property: Michelberger Hotel
Address: Warschauer Str. 39/40, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Michelberger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Michelbergerhotel is a budget hotel concept created by a group of friends, who had the idea to make the best hotel they could, the kind of hotel they'd like to stay in. A place that's individual, charismatic, stylish, fun, rebellious and inexpensive, a place where anything goes, just like Berlin itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Michelberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing