We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageously fun! We loved our stay here!”
Review of Michelberger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Michelberger Hotel
Ranked #126 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel has so much good energy! It is creative and down to earth at the same time. Upon our arrival, we were each given a can of their delicious, refreshing Michelberger Hotel Coconut Water. We stayed in one of their 'Cozy Rooms', which was small but very well designed and perfect for our needs as a couple, looking for a place to rest our heads after a long, exciting day of exploring Berlin. The lobby is amazing - couches and pillows everywhere for lounging, great music playing, a 24 hour cafe/bar, and very creatively decorated. There is a beautiful courtyard, where food and drink is served, and it also has several places to sit and relax if that's all you want to do. In the hallways on each floor are TVs playing "The Big Lebowski". Little fun surprises like this are everywhere to be found at this hotel. We also noticed that there was a great variety of clientele. Everyone wants to stay here, and everyone can, from families, to artists, to single young (or old) party people, to 30 something couples like us. The hotel is right next to a metro station, which will take you all over the city and from here it's a 5 minute train ride to Ostbahnhof Train Station. The neighborhood it's in, Friedrichshain, as well as nearby Kreuzberg are fun and very lively at night. If you want a unique experience, this is the place to come! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannah and Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

great location, and fun neighborhood. 5-10mins walk to the East Side Gallery, public transportation(subway,tram,etc) is right across the road. The staffs there are helpful and friendly. Hotel bar and restaurant are also great. Lovely hotel:-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky22240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The bar downstairs was brilliant, selling cocktails and good beer with with cool vibe. One night there was a small gig going on from a pair of Electro guys, was a great experience.

The room was cosy aka small. But that what we were expecting so no issues there. Between the Bedroom and the bathroom was a large see through glass window. I found it quite funny but for other couples, this might not be preferred.

Brilliant transport links as the hotel is situated just outside the city center. Railway/subway station strait across the road.

Room Tip: You don't want a room that faces inside the courtyard as peoples voices can echo up and be rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Situated in a great neighbourhood this is a fun spot to stay. The clientele tend to be fairly young but not exclusively so. The rooms are quirky although slightly expensive for the comfort level but it's more of a place to hang out in the bar or garden than spend hours in your room. Breakfasts are great and served in a beautiful airy room. I've stayed in a courtyard room and a front facing room, the latter being slightly noisier but great for people watching the busy street outside. Go, it's a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cakedestroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is definitely my favourite place to stay in Berlin. The whole place has a really cool Berlin vibe and the rooms manage to be homely while still offering a bit of hotel style luxury. The bar downstairs is great too. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennieIngrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Michelberger Hotel not only represents Berlins vibe like no other hotel, it is as well by far the coolest and at the same time most welcoming hotel in town. If you look for something different, want to get to live like a local and care about details, you will be very happy in this place. Every little detail is designed with thought and fun, and you can feel that the employees really love working here and identify with their job. It is a hotel thought outside of the box. Nevertheless, if you are looking for something standardized of the rack or want silence and your tv screen on the room, then you are in the wrong place. people here live and discover and don't watch pay tv or order room service. this is a place for people who are open minded and hungry to discover the city.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to be very different, we stayed in the big one for 8 people which was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henning P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of a two week trip around Central Europe and to be honest, I could have just spent the entire trip at the Michelberger. I felt completely relaxed. The rooms were tiny, but well-appointed and used the high ceilings effectively. My only discomfort was caused by the necessity of keeping the windows closed at night to shut out some of the street noise. The room got very stuffy. A fan would have been nice to move some air around.

The Michelberger is in microcosm what Berlin is in macrocosm. There was always something happening downstairs in the atrium and my family loved the energy. We took up the hotel's posted offer of a "free" tour of Berlin's underground art scene and learned much from it. The hotel's bar, Honolulu, had great drinks on offer, but my favorite was their private label "Mikkellerberger" pale ale. We sampled the restaurant, the breakfast, and found absolutely nothing lacking. I would stay here again and again.

The hotel is close to two busy mass transit stations: the Warschauer Straße S-Bahn and the U-Bahn. Down at the bottom of the street near the Oberbaumbrücke is the River Spree and the beginning of the East Side Gallery (the longest surviving stretch of the Cold War era Berlin Wall). Kreuzberg and Friedrichshain are within walking distance, as is the YAAM Beach Club bar. Three stops away further east is the hidden but incredible Stasi Museum.

Room Tip: Rooms on the very busy Warschauer Straße are noisy until about 12:00am. Rooms on the atrium/courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Holiday Inn Berlin - City East Side
Friedrichshain
East Side Hotel
East Side Hotel
#504 of 635 in Berlin
130 reviews
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#35 of 635 in Berlin
3,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Klassik Hotel
Klassik Hotel
#364 of 635 in Berlin
294 reviews
Friedrichshain
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Friedrichshain
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
#58 of 635 in Berlin
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelberger Hotel

Address: Warschauer Str. 39/40, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £73 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michelberger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, enchanting, exciting - We’re a modern family business with a big wish to make our little world better, day by day. Instead of chasing profit, we want to maximise quality and experience in all that we do. We love to relate to everything and everyone. We always ask: who do we work with? Which products are we using? What matters to our guests? It all started back in 2004 in our living room. We were dreaming of a big house, a house that would serve as a base for us and our friends. A place to collaborate, to create and to engage; a new home for our ideas and our lives. Wondering what we would then do with all that space, and considering that we did not have that many pioneering friends at that time, our flatmate suggested running it as a hotel! What a great idea! 5 years later there she was. And every day since then, we’re getting more and more excited about all the things, encounters and movement to come. Small is beautiful. Welcome to the Michelberger! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Michelberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing