We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spatious, New, Clean, Freindly Place to be”
Review of Abba Berlin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abba Berlin Hotel
Ranked #71 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Arrived in Berlin at the beginning of what was supposed to be 1 week in Germany and Czech republic. Our check in was very smooth a side from road construction blocking the on street hotel loading zone. My german is awful and who ever I approached at the desk, bar or restaurant always was able to help me in english. Our room was modern and interesting, very well kept and spacious. It was nice to have heat and AC in the room because for as cold and dreary the Berlin weather was, the room got stuffy at night until we ran the air. The location is nice, in West City and has good food, drink and shopping nearby. We walked to everything touristic we wanted to see in the center of town, but it is not a short walk. We could have rode the mass transit which is trains and buses close by, but we perferred the long walks. We did drive to the East Side Gallery though, it would have been out of reach. Parking is below the hotel and directly accessible from the hotels elevators and stair. Breakfast was quite ample by most european hotel standards and was always fresh. The dining room is the hotel restaurant so there was plenty of seating and there was breakfast staff on hand if you need help. The Bar was fantastic, we enjoyed Roman the bartenders company, drinks, his attention to detail and his love for his work. All in all this is a great place to stay, eat and drink. There were other facilities on site including a spa but I didn't take advantage of them. I don't like having to pay for WiFi, ad if I do i don't lke the system of tie block that are commen to more than this hotel. But the internet worked well, had good connection and good speed. I also think that 15 euro a day for parking in a hotel lot is excesive, but it was easy. Really liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2010

Went to review the hotel with a view to having a conference there.
Good location-central.
Very very smart, uber modern. Reception staff I would rate as 7 out of 10, a bit otherworldy. The room was spacious, nicely kitted out, but wooden floors. The whole of the floor we were seemed to resound with various noises.
The bar was far too small for the number of people staying there, and was manned inefficiently.
I am sure when it has been opened longer it will be a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chispeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Loosely speaking the hotel is fairly central but if you are inexperienced with the city, it is maybe a bit of a walk to the action, maybe 10mins to Zoologischer Garten station, a major S-Bahn/U-Bahn interchange. Savignyplatz U-Bahn is probably slightly closer.

There are supermarkets and bars/restaurants nearby which is good and many at Ku'damm of course.

The hotel itself is a very modern building and still has a 'new' feeling. I would have to disagree with the reviewer who said bad staff, all my questions were answered and they were willing to help out by speaking English. The room was a good size, spotlessly clean but laminate floors were not good for the grit and snow! Sound-proofing reasonable and comfortable beds. The style is more minimalist than luxurious but comfortable and all required features there (except Tea&Coffee facilities in standard room). There is a bath and shower, with all manner of complimentary toileteries.

We had a travelzoo deal which brought the price to €198 for 2 nights.
We had dinner on the first night, which was only a single course and not really a 'dinner' so watch out for that but the food was o.k.
Breakfast was also included but as the hotel was quite empty, there wasn't much fresh food put out, so some of it was a little stale, but otherwise a decent choice.

I would definitely reccomend this hotel for around €80 B&B to travellers familiar with Berlin but if there is no deal available or you are there for the major sites, I would look for a deal in somewhere nearer the centre.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamezon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

The second stop on our Cosmos tour was in Berlin. We had a last minute change of hotel from the Globus Ramada to the Abba Berlin. Think we got a really good deal. The hotel had only been open for one month. Absolutely spotless with that lovely new smell. It’s situated only about a 5 minute walk from the city centre – the Ku’dam Strasse.

Comments on the hotel

• Room – very modern – flat screen TV mounted on the wall, 2 x king single beds – incredibly comfortable
• WiFi – free
• Air conditioned
• Minibar with fridge
• No tea or coffee making facilities
• Breakfast – lovely large dining room with good choice. No toast – don’t think it’s very popular in Germany
• Supermarket – less than a block away
• Eating places – loads within very close walking distance
• No iron or ironing board
• Hairdrier – yes
• Bathroom – large range of free toiletries
• Roomsafe – yes
• Location – very central

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zannagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Great hotel which opened just 4 months ago.
So all the equipment, rooms, public are are really really great, rooms are nice and large, breafkast very good..... but staff absolutelly horrible.
From check-in until check-out disastear. No greating, no how are you, no thank you.
Worst was check-out were I heared only Hmmm.... (lady called Kari¨/Kare somthing like this). I had to ask all the questions she should have asked.
And this is dissapointing me most - you can have as great hotel as you have but if the staff does not know who to behave....even for me it looks like they were bored that they have to see clients - than you can foget to be 4*.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrozruska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Got this hotel as a second option since the one we chose was fully booked, and didn't have too many expectations.
When we got there we realized we probably got a much better deal...
the hotel is new, clean, specious and well located.
Even in a realy rainy weather, you can use the passage that connects the nearby street and the Ko'Dam, which is a great plus.
You have many goo restaurants nearby, if you don't feel like going far for a meal.
The breakfast is generous and very good.
The rooms are clean really nice and big
To make things short - if you go to Berlin - this is a great value for money , and your stay will surely be pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganit_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour in Sept, 2009, so can't tell you price specifics. It is new, gorgeous, with modern chic decor including chandelier in your good sized room, flat panel TV, etc. Location is excellent - within 3 blocks of a main subway line. Staff was very courteous and knowledgeable to use for concierge tasks such as getting tickets. For being in a central city, it was reasonably quiet. Breakfast buffet is good - but it was included in our tour, so I don't know its price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#9 of 634 in Berlin
1,296 reviews
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#39 of 634 in Berlin
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#40 of 634 in Berlin
1,956 reviews
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#16 of 634 in Berlin
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abba Berlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Berlin Hotel

Address: Lietzenburger Str. 89, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £51 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Berlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First of all, a smile and a hearty welcome await you at the Abba. The Abba Hotel is a 4-star hotel featuring modern design with 214 bright, spacious rooms in various categories, adhering to the highest standards in comfort. A varied and top-quality breakfast buffet, free WiFi, satellite TV, not to mention a fitness studio and wellness area with sauna and hot tub are all on hand for our guests. Furthermore we offer parking spaces in the underground garage as well as rental bikes. Look forward to the facilities of the excellent abba mia restaurant as well as those of the stylish lounge bar. Staying with us you will find yourself in the thick of things: the world-famous Ku’damm boulevard, the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, the KaDeWe department store, Berlin Zoo, Theater des Westens (theatre for musicals and operettas) and the iconic Europacenter mall are practically on our doorstep. There are also excellent connections to the autobahn, Berlin’s airports, all main-line railway stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Abba Berlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing