We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Gay Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gay Hostel
Ranked #123 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I have visited the hostel with my boyfriend. It was the second time there. The place is really nice although it could have been cleaner. Some guests could have been cleaner too. It's not perfect when you see all their persnal belongings scattered in the common room but that's maybe the specifics of this kind of place. Generally we would recommend that. It also has a perfect location - if you are interested in gay venues. The beds are too small if you plan to sleep with your partner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

The worst place i have ever been,arrogant people and lousy service

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fall2climb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This was my first time staying at a hostel and traveling to Berlin. I had my concerns about staying in a hostel but this place put my concerns to ease. Every morning the hostel was cleaned, floors swept, trash removed, and bathrooms cleaned. The location is prime! Its in the heart of the gay district close to about 7 bars, great cafes, and a club. There is a subway stop about 3 minutes away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check out the delicious chinese restaurant below. Great food with great prices.

I highly recommend the hostel especially if you are traveling by yourself. I was fortunate during my stay to have the hostel filled with fun, friendly travelers like myself and they just made my trip even better!

I will be back to party in Berlin and I will stay at this hostel again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank onthego619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This is probably the best hostel i've ever stayed in, it is incredibly reasonable - more like a communal apartment than a hostel!

Everyone is really friendly and made our stay well worth the trip to Berlin. Although it's near the bars and clubs there wasnt that much noise, though we didnt have the window open so i'm sure that it'd have been different if we had.

All in all a great location, cheap, clean and well organised.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

The owners and staff of the hostel were friendly and accommodating. It was a small hostel, but that meant that everyone knew each other and we had a good time. The hostel is located at the gay area that is meant more for fetish clubs and bear clubs and bars. But getting a taxi to other areas is not expensive. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and new.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elipses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PauloGuida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Tom's Hotel
Tom's Hotel
#357 of 634 in Berlin
130 reviews
Schoneberg
Axel Hotel Berlin
Axel Hotel Berlin
#189 of 634 in Berlin
1,721 reviews
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Schoneberg
No photo provided
My Gay Hostel
#178 of 358 in Berlin
9 reviews
Schoneberg
Bananas Berlin Gay Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gay Hostel

Address: Motzstr. 28, 10777 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £18 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gay Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gay Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing