We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hostel Berlin
Ranked #5 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The dorm room myself and my partner stayed in was very clean and quite spacious. All single beds so I didn't need to climb up and down another bunk bed! No elevator though, so after a long day walking round my advice is to have a slow beer in the bar before climbing the stairs. Some of the staff seemed quite friendly too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anOZabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    218
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
53
138
250
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Grand hostel Berlin is an incredible place, greeted with a drink from the bar upon arrival and talked through a map of whet everything is and how to get to them we couldn't have been welcomed in a friendlier manner. Our room was very spacious and beds very comfy. We has a room with a sink, and shared bathroom. The toilets and showers very clean, although some of the showers have limited privacy. It's an ideal location and would definitely stay here again of I am to visit Berlin.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Comfortable, charming, and clean hostel with a great location (two minutes from the mockenbrücke metro stop). We met some fun loving people while staying here, and had a great time. Candies on the pillow were a nice touch as well. ;)

The staff themselves were very accommodating - we booked the wrong night for our first night's stay and although Grand Hostel was fully booked, Mira called another hostel for us to ensure that we had no trouble finding a bed for the night. When we checked in the next day, we mentioned that a few more members of our party were arriving a few nights after of us (under a seperate booking) and asked if we could all be in the same room. Not expecting this to be possible given that GHB seemed to be fully booked every night, we were so pleased and grateful when they went out of their way to move around reservations in order for us all to be together!

AND, for any Americans who are still upset about crispy m&m's mysterious disappearance from the shelves ten years ago (as I am.. :)), GHB sold them in their candy
basket downstairs.

Overall a great experience; would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igsobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Within a few minutes of check-in, my friend and I (previously with little planned for our trip) had a map and a game-plan in hand for our days in Berlin. The staff was professional and incredibly helpful. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and pleasant. Worth noting: the hostel has great day passes available for the trains that can save you money! No elevator, so be ready to carry your luggage up the stairs, though I've found this to be pretty common in hostels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Staff were great from the moment we walked in. Got a free beer on arrival and a run down of the city. My partner and I had a private room and a friend stayed in a shared dorm. Rooms were fantastic. Service provided was much like a hotel however the common room still had the hostel vibe. Great fun!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moundridge, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have stayed at this hostel with two groups so far and have had positive experiences both times. The staff is very friendly and the desk is staffed 24/7. Languages include German and English, and I suspect others as well. The location is very central making it easy to navigate the U/S-Bahn system. The breakfast buffet next door at Grand Ma's has a huge selection and is very delicious, so book that with your stay as well. Some rooms have a shower/bath toilet included and others have access to those facilities on the hall. My students and I also appreciated the free wi-fi at the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hostel was wonderful - more of a hotel than a hostel, really. There are a few flaws however.
Pros: beautiful building, great staff, lovely communal areas, very nice rooms
Cons: no kitchen (not even a fridge or a microwave), no elevator (had to carry my 25kg suitcase up six flights of stairs), showers are tiny, no fans or air conditioning (it was absolutely BOILING when we were there).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#2 of 349 in Berlin
1,228 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#9 of 349 in Berlin
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#3 of 349 in Berlin
705 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#21 of 349 in Berlin
1,371 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Property: Grand Hostel Berlin
Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing