We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #240 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a hostel.”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I went to Meininger Berlin on a trip, being told it was a hostel, I didn't expect much at all. Although, it was much more of a hotel. The whole 'hostel' is very student-y which is good if you're a student yourself. At night at the bar in the hotel, it gets quite busy so you socialise with loads of different people around the world. A negative to the bar is that it takes forever to get a drink, more-or-less waiting half an hour for a drink is ridiculous because they ran out of glasses every night.
I wasn't expecting much of the hotel room itself, it was quite small and the TV didn't work, although we were only there to sleep. The bathroom was very modern and clean, which I wasn't expecting.
Breakfast was a bit of a low too, only having ham and cheese rolls, and cereal with sour milk. Not nice!
Being next to the train station was very convenient, they have restaurants, fast food shops and a supermarket and pharmacy type of shop. (I recommend going to Vipiano and Currywurst.) Just outside the hotel is a pizza shop which sell the tastiest pizzas, which are absolutely humongous!
It is in a nice area, 10 minute walk to Brandonburg Gate, 15 minute train ride to Berlin Wall. It is good for different types or architecture, when you look past all the horrible concrete flats!
I definitely recommend going up Fernsehturm Berlin, to look all over the city, it really is amazing and at €12.50, I thought that was really cheap. The Berlin Zoo was pretty good, with loads of animals, it did look a bit run down, although I don't think the horrible weather helped.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Longy1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Public Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear guest
thank you very much for good feedback :)
It is important to us to keep improving the quality of our product. The guests' satisfaction is our
main aim!
Regarding the breakfast MEININGER offer a healthy varied All-you-can-Buffet every day including beverage - you can always turn to our service staff if you have any wishes.
We are looking forward to welcome you again :)
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    632
    360
    123
    123
See reviews for
269
274
204
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have just returned from a midweek stay, 60 students and 5 staff. We were all very impressed with the friendly staff and the clean and warm rooms were excellent quality, especially for a hostel. The reception and bar area was lively and sociable and ideal for our students and great for our regular meetings. The location is perfect for walking to many of the attractions or for using the transport system. We were expecting some noise during the evenings but found it to be fairly quiet in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Public Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you very much for your great feedback !
Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay that much :)

Try MEININGER in Europe´s vibrant cities :) see you again!
All the best - your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The location is great. It's right in the middle with the tram/bus station and underground station right outside
Friendliest bunch of receptionist to have encountered. They were very helpful and insightful, enabling us to easily arrange our daily tours/trips and get around the city.
The luggage room was very helpful in storing the luggage either until check-in time or check-out time and your arrival/departure.
As a family of four (mother and 3 children) we booked a family room. However, we ended up in a quadruple room with two bunk-beds and four lockers for storage. Which was not all that helpful.
The breakfast buffet was average. Not a major variety but a very reasonable price rate and yummylicious homemade jam.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zucker_Frei400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Public Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your time to rate us :)
Regarding your room - all of our 4-bed room are provide with two bunk beds -
you can also have family rooms at other MEININGER Hotels in Berlin.
We look forward to hearing from you and hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards, your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks last year sharing a double room with my sister.
The hotel looks more like a hostel (most of the guests were quite young and the decoration was pretty informal).
The price of the room was quite surprising as well way cheaper than expected which is awesome, and the staff were very friendly.

What most pleased me about the hotel was its location, right across the Hauptbanhof station! Also if you arrive at the Tegel airport you can get a coach to the station and the other way around.

What bothered me a little about the hotel was the cleaning service, my sister and I felt like our room was not well cleaned, only the sheets and towels were exchanged daily but we could clearly tell the room lacked proper cleaning (I am NOT picky about cleaning). The pillow was also VERY uncomfortable but we managed to deal with it.

The room internet signal was quite low, even though the internet was free it was hard to get good signal. To be fair I barely needed to use the internet and I am sure the hotel lobby had better signal since it was usually packed with people so.

Overall I had a pleasant experience and I would definitely stay there again!
The positive things make up for the drawbacks so if you are looking for a decent hotel at an affordable price rate this hotel is perfect for you :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiemileal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Public Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hello!
Thanks for your feedback.
We are sorry about the WIFI connection, it´s busy and slowly just when the hotel is fully booked.
We are going to improve the signal power soon.
If you had a positive experience, take a look in our home page and for your next travel to Europe you can enjoy one of our Hostels.

Kind regards

The Meininger team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Meininger Hotel Hauptbahnhof over new years 2013-14 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We were booked into stay in a 4 bed dorm, however were upgraded to a private room on arrival (not exactly sure why, but hey!)
The atmosphere in lobby bar, dining area and kitchen was fantastic and the hostel was clean throughout and in the perfect location (30 second walk from Haptbanhnhof Station and 10 min walk from Brandenburg Gate)

The only problem was the internet reception in the rooms, not a major problem though as there is reception down stairs and we weren't there to hang around in the room!

We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran_Oby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Public Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi!
Thanks for your fantastic feedback!
We gave you a double room for the same price because we had not 4bedrooms availables. That´s why ;-)
We hope you enjoyed the room and your holidays in Germany.
See you soon

Kind regards

The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Although this has all of the conveniences you would expect from a good hostel, as well as hostel prices, it feels like a hotel. I stayed in a small dorm room which was clean, comfortable and had a TV and a decent bathroom. There is free wifi everywhere in the hotel. I particularly liked the communal area on the ground floor which included a guest kitchen. I didn't bother with breakfast though as it was €5.90 and I could get just about anything from the supermarket and the Hauptbahnhof for less.

Possibly the best thing about this hotel is its location - literally right next to Berlin Hauptbahnhof (main station) from where you can get to anywhere. The Reichstag and Brandenburg Gate are also within walking distance.

I have only a couple of minor criticisms; firstly, the wifi in the lobby was slow and secondly, the floor of my room seemed a bit dirty. A fitting in the bathroom also broke, but was promptly fixed.

Overall I was very happy with this hostel/hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher level floors have less noise from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Public Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi! Thanks a lot we like your feedback.
It´s clear, direct and your little criticism can help us to improove.
We hope to see you soon here or in another Meininger around Europe:

Kind regards

The Meininger team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Pros
* Very very close to Berlin hauptbahnof (its almost the next building)
* Economical
* Spacious rooms
* Ample facilities (Kitchen, luggage storage rooms, late check out)
* Nice view from roof top 9th floor
* Clean and neat rooms
* Surprisingly the rooms had A/C

Cons
* Its more of a hostel than a hotel (gotta pay for any additional thing that you desire)
* Bed quality was average
* Horrible free Wi-Fi
* Staffs are not very friendly to deal with
* When windows are open, its a bit noisy due to the trains nearby

Room Tip: * Rooms in top floor have good view * Rooms facing the river 'Spree' has awesome view but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbeshwaran89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hallo!
Thanks for your feedback.
We are booth actually: Hostel and Hotel incorporated.
We are sorry about the WIFI connection, the Hostel was fully booked and the connection really busy. We are going to fix it soon, improoving our signal power.
We hope you had an enjoyable holiday in the city.

Kind regards

The Meininger team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#123 of 634 in Berlin
715 reviews
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Property: MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Address: Ella-Trebe-Str. 9, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There couldn't be a more central location than by the main railway station. Eight bus lines, subways and city trains and countless regional and long-distance railways meet here. The hotel is thus ideally positioned for exploring the whole city. The panorama roof terrace affords spectacular views of Berlin. Our international guests benefit from free WiFi and meet up in the lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and the gaming area in a relaxed atmosphere. What more do you want? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing