We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best choice!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #228 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“best choice!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed in a triple room and for 12 euro/person I think this hotel is the best choice for berlin!! Placed in a perfect spot. The train and the metro station is right next to the hotel, so you can moove very easily! for me was the best choice since I was looking a place just to sleep and visit easily the most places I could in Berlin!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Nena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for rating us - glad to hear that you enjoy your stay.
We are looking forward welcoming you again at MEININGER
- in Europe vibrant cities :)

Take care, kind regards,
your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    624
    351
    121
    115
See reviews for
262
270
200
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed there for 5 nights, because I had to. For one night maybe ok, but more - no way! Breakfast is very low quality, every day the same - no warm food. Worst experience is the staff. Compared to the 'not very welcoming' Prussian average still a lot below expectations. If you need Internet, don't go there - wifi works very bad, line connection only in the lobby - also very slow. Only plus is the room - clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Middle of the corridor, far from the elevator and from the doors on the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drakeszi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest
thank you for rating us,
with your honest feedback you help us to improve our product.
Regarding the WiFi, we are fixing it to have a more better connection.
We also offer web terminals which can be used 24/7.

We hope we can assuer you on a forward stay at MEININGER with our
friendly staff and a great atmosphere.

Kind regards,
your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic short stay place. Cheap, nice bar staff don't piss them off if u get too drunk at the bar, they will just send you out on your way. They will laugh in the morning though. Great location. Rooms are good. Great for a stag do. The train station is next to the hotel, lots of shops and Burger King for your hangover.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear guests,

thank you for your feedback :)
Glad to read that you all enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel!

Hope we will see you again :)
All the best,
your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

fast, not too expensive, good for quick trips to Berlin
wi-fi is very slow during the night, but in the daytime it's OK
crowded with people, so be quick with breakfast

recommended for quick business trips

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertHupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest

thank you for rating us,
see you soon,
take care & kind regards,

your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
290 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for a stag weekend and for the price and location you cant beat it - bar open 24hrs, rooms adequate, decent size bathrooms. Beds are singles but that is fine. Right next to the train station and taxis outside to get everywhere. I didn't eat breakfast, a few others did and said its not worth it. There is a café round the corner, or if you go into the train station there is loads of options.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guests,

thank you for rating us; glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Hope we can assure you with our various healthy all-you-can-eat breakfast
on your next stay :)

All the best,
your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport,UK
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed here with a group of 17-18 year olds on school study trip.
Rooms were small but clean and the facilities are what you would expect for what is an upmarket youth hostel. Location is fantastic.
Breakfast was adequate but we opted for half board. This was a big mistake. I have been taking school trips to Berlin for the last 12 years and I have often used the Meininger chain.This was the first time at the Hauptbahnhof and I can honestly say this was the worst food I've experienced in that time. Our students are not fussy eaters but the menu did not resemble anything near the online sample menus.Watery frozen vegetables, tinned fruit, overcooked pasta, processed sauce, reconstituted meat. Jamie Oliver would have had a field day, worse than a 1990s British school meals! We did mention this to staff but they seemed surprised at our complaint. All we ask for is fresh, decent food. A shame really, because the rest of the stay was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear group leader,

thank very much for your feedback and being a trusty guest for MEININGER.
Your honest feedback gives us the possibility to identify things which we have to improve. We really appreciate it.

We would like to welcome you again and assure you with our new dinner offer next time!
All the best,
your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

First things first this hostel is not for the faint-hearted because it is riddled with teenagers. It's a hostel that mainly accommodates large school parties. So this means that it can get quite loud and boisterous, the lobby is constantly crowded and the queue for the lift is a mile long.
The rooms were actually quite clean and our sheets were changed regularly which surprised us because of its hostel status. The room was a bit too narrow for my liking and certainly only had the bare essentials, many complaints were made because of the lack of a hairdryer. So if staying here it is an absolute must that you bring a towel or else you face the prospect of a very wet holiday because we weren't given as much as a hand towel. Also the pillows were an unclassified shape and my bunk was adorned with the occasional piece of year old chewing gum!

The worst thing by far in this hostel however was the food. They provide both breakfast and dinner but I suggest that you skip the latter. We were promised a buffet and a buffet is what we got, however it was a buffet of bread. Bread rolls, sliced bread (toast), yoghurt and some unidentifiable cold cuts with some cornflakes. Its certainly not the Ritz but it is tolerable enough for a few days. Also I would pick the margarine because although it was entertaining watching my friend take ten minutes to spread frozen butter it was undeniably frustrating.

In terms of dinner it gave me a distinct feeling of deja vu. Bread rolls, sliced bread, unidentifiable cold cuts but with the addition of one entree, with a lack of vegetarian option. It reminded me an awful lot of my school dinners back home so I would recommend that you grab your dinner from the train station just a few minutes away.

The major redeeming quality of this hotel is its location. It is literally a minute's walk away from the largest train station in Berlin. And its also withing walking distance of many attractions such as the Reichstag (parliament building). The location was phenomenal.

So overall I would say that this hostel's not bad. It's fairly cheap, I didn't have anything nicked and I managed to get two decent nights sleep. However upon returning to London I couldn't look at a bread roll the same way again.

Room Tip: Take the latest breakfast slot possible - schools tend to go between 7am and 9am If you can get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEPWOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your honest feedback,
gives us the possibility to identify things which we have to improve. We really appreciate it.
Yes, you are right. We do have a great variety of guests here at MEININGER
- this is our concept. We aim at providing central and modern accommodation which offers our guests exactly that what they are looking for.
Regarding the food, I am sorry for it was not to your satisfaction - I am going to talk about this to our caterer.
We always have the possiblity to clarify things like that during you stay at our 24h reception,
For us at MEININGER it is one of the most important aims to ensure the guests' well-being.

All the best and kind regards,
your MEININGER Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#119 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Property: MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Address: Ella-Trebe-Str. 9, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There couldn't be a more central location than by the main railway station. Eight bus lines, subways and city trains and countless regional and long-distance railways meet here. The hotel is thus ideally positioned for exploring the whole city. The panorama roof terrace affords spectacular views of Berlin. Our international guests benefit from free WiFi and meet up in the lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and the gaming area in a relaxed atmosphere. What more do you want? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing