We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Berlin(Berlin)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,710)
Filter reviews
1,710 results
Traveller rating
343
700
390
135
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
700
390
135
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationguest kitchenyoung peopleschool groupsreichstag and brandenburg gateluggage roomschool tripstag doroof terracebudget hoteltriple roomfree wifiexcellent locationsmall kitchenwashing machinethe ground floorshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 1,710 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Perfect for a one night stay on a stag do. Just needed a bed and shower in the morning, ticked both boxes. €35 for one night, slap bang next to the central train station. Fantastic location with most attractions either a short walk or metro ride away. They could make more use of the roof terrace, couple of hot tubs and a beach bar!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelguru123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel in January during a business trip. Berlin is a beautiful city, despite the low temperatures.! I stayed with 3 other colleagues. The rooms were small, but because of the low price this was to be expected. However, it was very clean and had everything we needed. The reception area was very nice and the food was above average

A negative experience I encountered on my stay was the fire alarm pulled during the middle of the night. Staying on the 4th floor, I found that if there had of been a fire, the queues on the stairs would have made exiting the building hazardous.

Overall a good hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is one of three hotels easily seen and extremely close to the Berlin Hauptbahnhof (main train station). On a recent trip I stayed at two of the three for one night each. I would recommend the other one over this one.

The hotel is a budget property, which seemed to cater to a younger backpacking or student crowd. There is free wifi which worked well, and an inexpensive breakfast (8 Euros) that can be added or included in the room rate. Although the train tracks can be seen, no noise can be heard in the soundproofed rooms—as long as you keep the window closed.

The “continental” breakfast—no hot food, simply cereal, yogurt, canned fruit, meats, cheese, breads, coffee, teas—was so crowded and looked so unpalatable, that we elected to eat elsewhere and pay more for better variety, quality and environment.

The room was the smallest we experienced on our two week, (5 or 6 hotels) trip. Our room, booked as a two bed double room, had a futon “couch” in the room which appeared to be able to be made into one or two further “beds”. If these had been opened there would be literally no floor space in the room.

It was tricky to even open our small suitcases and find space for our pack packs in the cramped room. Once opened, there was no drawer space, just a few pegs in the walls. Larger suitcases would have to be stored under the bed. The “desk’ is actually a stool that slides under the small single bedside table.

The towels and sheets were or poor quality overall—thread bare and dingy grey in appearance, though clean. The duvet was warm enough but the pillows were very lumpy microfiber. The shiny brown curtain on the window looked poorly made and shabby. There were blinds on the exterior of the window operated by a switch in the room, which could be closed to keep out the light (more than if just using the curtain). The wood floor was gritty underfoot.

The two beds (each with separate mattress and duvet were pushed up next to one another to economize on space. Most annoying with the platform style beds were the two large metal supports that were inconveniently positioned right where one might like to sit on the bed.

A small (perhaps 16” or 40 cm) wall mounted TV offered about 30 channels of programming, including a few English news channels.

The shower was small, but the water force was strong. There was a hairdryer in the room which worked well and the European fashion of having a wall mounted one dispenser for a shower gel-hand soap-shampoo. The toilet paper holder was awkwardly placed at behind the toilet in a position that it may press into the flesh of larger people.

There was one bright lime green wall in the room which made the room look unclean—there were chips out of the paint revealing white plaster underneath and it seemed as if fluids of some kind—cleaning agents or other liquids (hopefully not bodily fluids) had been splashed up on the wall in various places.

We used this hotel as a quick and easy to reach place to stay in between train changes. We got a got rate and it worked well for this purpose, although I would not recommend it for longer stays.

There was a roof top bar which was closed, but a trip to the roof was nice for taking pictures towards the plaza in front of the train station and looking towards the Reichstag in the early morning or at night.

An oddity in my experience was a self service luggage closet. Guests would be given a key to open the room, deposit their bags before returning the key. It made me a bit nervous that multiple people would have access, but we used the closets twice without incident.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Primascopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Good value & excellent location next to hauptbahnhof for this hostel style accomodation. Great to have access to washing machine. Good for short stay. Breakfast was good value. However, as it is a hostel there were a lot of young teenagers who were noisy in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This "hotel" is indeed a youth hostel with great location.
It is located within walking distance from the Berlin HBF, walkable to the Parliament House, also the Hop-on-hop-off bus stops are right outside this hotel.

As it is a hostel, the lobby is always a bit chaotic.
Room is clean and ok standard.
There are vending machine for snacks and beverage on lobby and on room floor.
They can store your luggage for you in a big store room.

I took the single room by paying a bit premium.

I came for touristing and benefited a lot by the hotel convenient location.

Wifi is free at the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minion326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews