We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel in Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Ranked #57 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel in Berlin”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

NIce & relaxing atmosphere, lovely room and friendly staff. Really enjoyed our stay in the Cosmo hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveline_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    366
    73
    18
    6
See reviews for
76
454
51
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

after booking the hotel via www.designhotels.com, I spent a night at Cosmo Hotel this saturday, after a week of Berlin Fashion Week madness. The hotel itself is very well located, just between everywhere you go in Berlin. The room was clean and comfortable, and that's about it. I only paid €135 for a luxury room (I had a king size bed and a small little side sitting area. A magnificent balcony with three enormous french doors. room 804). The hotel seems to have taken a building which was never designed to be a hotel. The lobby experience is poor, with a check in counter that reminds you more about an information desk at an airport. Staff is efficient, but not welcoming. The trip up to you room takes you from the lobby to a hall which looks like the real entrance of the building (probably built as the main entrance of an office building) and then into lifts which carry passengers and has menus on both walls, telling you what you can eat for breakfast... weird and tacky! Once you reach your room, you can see that the hotel was put together on the tightest budget. The "design" feeling is overwhelmingly cheap. everything is cheap, the towels, the products in the bathroom, the closets, the furniture. The bed is very comfortable and the pillows excellent.
Another big issue is that there isn't enough public parking space around the hotel. Beware! The hotel offered to park my car in their garage but the porter felt that my Audie Q5 was perhaps too tall for their underground car park, so I had to go around the block for about 20 minutes until I decided to park illegally somewhere nearby (it's a good thing that Berlin doesn't have a very enforceful parking police!).
Would I stay there again? Sure, for those weekends which I want to go to Berlin and not spend any money.... that's a good offer. But I wouldn't stay there on a biz trip... the staff and facilities are simply not prepared for biz travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 7th and 8th floor, with balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonicocanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COSMO_Hotel_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear tonicocanto,

thank you for sharing your impression of your stay at COSMO hotel!

You are correct; the COSMO Hotel was build with the intention of an office building and was only later on transformed into a hotel. Many of the elements from the former office were kept within the Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that to you impression the design and material used in the hotel are cheap.

We are aware of the parking situation, there is limited capacity in terms of parking spaces and size of the car in our garage. Therefore we offer parking tickets. Parking spaces are rare in Mitte, it really depends on the time of day when you are looking for a spot!

Again thank you for sharing your opinion!

Kind regards,

COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I have stayed 4 nights, excellent hotel, excellent location to visit Berlin subway station in front hotel and everything can be done walking distance
Room very modern and very well isolated from noise bed really confortable some of the best nights I had in hotel
Good bathroom size with shower bathrobe slippers
good gym
wifi free in lobby and restaurant
I had a package with breakfast
I have tried restaurant good food
If you get a good price it really worth it do not hesitate

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte for several reasons: confortable, friendly, well decorated, big room and bathroom, central but quite... Greetings to Mozambique!!! We just felt the breakfast was too expensive!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NunoLampreiaSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Within one month on business in Berlin, I was upgraded to a suite, as my favourite corner room 08, was unavailable.
The suite overlooking a little park was beautiful, very smartly layed out, comfortable, spacious , just great.
Service at reception, bar and restaurant are very consistently friendly, efficient and helpful.
Particularly impressive is the quality of the breakfast service. Orders for hot items arrive fast, fresh and hot. The service staff is very nice. At moderate prices, the hotel is excellent value for money.
Cosmo remains by far my favourite in Berlin

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hongkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We loved our stay in this hotel. it is very stylish and comfortable. Our bathroom was so large, I suspected we had got a room adapted for wheelchairs. The decor is so nice everywhere. What we enjoyed most was the nice atmosphere at breakfast. They served hot egg dishes at your table and the cold stuff from a buffeé. It is good that the hotel is not so large, so you don't get the hurried feeling you can get in other larger hotels. It was very quiet everywhere and well-insulated from noise.
The bar is rather small, but also nicely done out and the only negative thing was that when we came back from town around midnight, the bar was always closed. it would have been nice to have a last drink sitting in the lovely sofas.
It is easy to go places with the subway and the taxis are relatively cheap. Didn't think there was a whole lot in the immediate area, though. Still, infinitely nicer to stay here than in some of the bar hot-spots.
Hotels in Berlin in general are very reasonably priced and so was this one, especially compared to what you get. Would be so expensive elsewhere in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deselbyswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Cosmo has just the right amount of cool quotient without being self conciously 'designer'. The superior room which we stayed in was bright and spacious. It was a corner room with 2 floor to ceiling glass walls to watch the traffic go by! No noise though, because of the double glazing. Bathrooms were streamlined and chic with luxurios c.o. Bigelow toiletries. All good and comfortable except we found the bed too soft. The complimentary breakfast is a great spread with fresh baked breads, a variety of fruit, salads, meats, cereals, yoghurts, cheese, dried fruits, seeds, nuts...mmm - all deliciously fresh and wholesome...... And eggs made to order. In fact, the food at the restaurant was excellent. We had one meal there, great presentation and everything tasted fresh and original. Staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Our safe had a problem and got stuck but they were quick to solve the problem.
It's in a quiet and not a very touristy a part of town, ( the immediate neighbourhood is dull) but within easy walking distance to potsdamer platz, gendarmarkt, friedrichstrasse, museum island and many of Berlin's attractions in Mitte. The Spitalmarkt U bahn stop is right across to make it easy to get to anywhere in Berlin.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good value design hotel.
What they could improve: the wireless internet in the room had a very weak signal. Also, instead of charging 6.50 euro, which is not a whole lot when the room rate is 140 Euro, should just make it free! Or build it into the cost of the room.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, or one facing the park at the pack
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalimata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#79 of 634 in Berlin
1,407 reviews
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#15 of 634 in Berlin
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,745 reviews
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#82 of 634 in Berlin
2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte

Property: COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Address: Spittelmarkt 13, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmo Hotel Berlin Mitte is a newly opened member of Design Hotels TM. It is the perfect urban retreat for travelers who appreciate individualized style, design and hospitality. It caters for business and leisure travelers alike.Located between Alexander Platz and Potsdamer Platz and Friedrichstrasse. The underground station U2 Spittelmarkt is in front of the hotel.At the Cosmo, the guest experience is all about comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing