We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Ranked #57 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We love this hotel! It's very central with a tube right across the street. Amazing breakfast. Awesome design and just in general very pleasant!

Oh and the duvet and linen is to die for!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinemeintjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COSMO_Hotel_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Christine Meintjes,
thank you for sharing !

Come back soon!

Sincerely,

The COSMO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    361
    70
    16
    6
See reviews for
75
441
50
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Cosmo Hotel in Berlin, along with my husband, 11 year old son and my mother.
Can thoroughly recommend this smart, contemporary and above all friendly hotel. The staff were always on hand to offer advise on restaurants or places to visit. Without exception, whether bar, reception, restaurant or domestic staff they were polite, knowledgeable and very friendly.
The breakfast were lovely..the hotel uses mostly organic, locally grown food, and the opening times were very accommodating, especially at the weekend. We only managed to have a snack late one evening, and didn't sample the restaurant itself...but the food that we did have was delicious.
The rooms were bright, modern and very clean, with all the amenities. Including dressing gowns and slippers...not the norm in such a reasonably priced hotel.
I would definitely return, and would highly recommend this little gem of a hotel.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

we stayed in Cosmo for 8 days last winter for Christmas and new year's eve. Everything was perfect! Staff is helpful and really friendly, the location is perfect, metro station is just across the street! Food is also really good, rooms are clean and comfortable.

Perfect for couples and friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank layoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed one night at Cosmo Hotel while visiting our son who was studying in Berlin. Our room was a lovely corner room with very large windows. Very comfortable bed. Lovely breakfast - large buffet plus eggs and other hot dishes to order.

The hotel is walking distance to Museum Island (Museuminsel). Check out the wonderful Neues Museum with its beautiful recent restoration and its wonderful Egyptian collection including the famous bust of Nefertiti and a wonderful collection of heads across two centuries.

We found the staff of Cosmo very friendly. We arrived early in the morning and they were apologetic that no room was yet available. They invited us to have breakfast in the restaurant and stored our luggage. The night staff happily printed out our boarding passes so we would have them for our early morning flight.

Room Tip: We loved our corner room with its big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorilander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stay at Cosmo a week ago for three nights.All in all I have mixed feelings about Cosmo. Upon arrival (@1100AM) we had a room ready for us, smooth check-in, we've had been upgraded to a deluxe/corner room with a nice view upon the boulevard. The room was really good! Large, full of light, quiet, very clean, the bed - very, very confortable and the bathroom / shower was really great. One of the most pleasing room I had in Berlin!
The location is good but not great (not much goes around, but many things are in easy reach). I would like to try the bar and the restaurant but they where dead empty most of the time, so we skipped them.
The staff is... hit and miss at best. Very efficient upon arrival, annoyingly useless after. The lack of wifi or a business center make it hard to avoid the contact with the stuff. Asking for a computer connected to a printer for the check-in I was handled a netbook running Windows in german, I do not know either of them. It took me 30 mins to finish it. Nobody was wiling to help. During the time I was siting there waiting for the printer (all this time it was just me at the reception, they weren't busy at all), maybe just to add insult to injury, they (the 3 stuff people hanging around reception) insisted greatly upon an passing by old american lady (who just wanted to know the check-out time) to do the online check-in for her, which she agreed reluctantly - all took 5' as it should. On other occasion, asking for a recommendation for lunch we where told to go to Gendarmenmarkt walk around and we will find something!? This - I do not consider valuable information.
So... great room, good location, poor services.
In a year this is my third stay in Berlin. I stayed at Arcotel John F and Radisson Blu. By no means Cosmo Hotel will be my first or my second choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COSMO_Hotel_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Surfer R,
We are happy to receive good feedback for your upgrade into one of our delxue rooms!

And thank you for the feedback for our staff. We offer free WiFi in the lobby area, where guests usually use their own devices to log in and send their boarding passes for printing to our reception desk.

If at that day there was no help available for you to assist you with the online check-in at our laptop, we can only apologize.

We are constantly giving our best efforts to offer a high level of service.

We therefore thank you for your feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you as our guest for your next Berlin visit!

Sincerely,

the COSMO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

NIce & relaxing atmosphere, lovely room and friendly staff. Really enjoyed our stay in the Cosmo hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveline_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

after booking the hotel via www.designhotels.com, I spent a night at Cosmo Hotel this saturday, after a week of Berlin Fashion Week madness. The hotel itself is very well located, just between everywhere you go in Berlin. The room was clean and comfortable, and that's about it. I only paid €135 for a luxury room (I had a king size bed and a small little side sitting area. A magnificent balcony with three enormous french doors. room 804). The hotel seems to have taken a building which was never designed to be a hotel. The lobby experience is poor, with a check in counter that reminds you more about an information desk at an airport. Staff is efficient, but not welcoming. The trip up to you room takes you from the lobby to a hall which looks like the real entrance of the building (probably built as the main entrance of an office building) and then into lifts which carry passengers and has menus on both walls, telling you what you can eat for breakfast... weird and tacky! Once you reach your room, you can see that the hotel was put together on the tightest budget. The "design" feeling is overwhelmingly cheap. everything is cheap, the towels, the products in the bathroom, the closets, the furniture. The bed is very comfortable and the pillows excellent.
Another big issue is that there isn't enough public parking space around the hotel. Beware! The hotel offered to park my car in their garage but the porter felt that my Audie Q5 was perhaps too tall for their underground car park, so I had to go around the block for about 20 minutes until I decided to park illegally somewhere nearby (it's a good thing that Berlin doesn't have a very enforceful parking police!).
Would I stay there again? Sure, for those weekends which I want to go to Berlin and not spend any money.... that's a good offer. But I wouldn't stay there on a biz trip... the staff and facilities are simply not prepared for biz travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 7th and 8th floor, with balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonicocanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COSMO_Hotel_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear tonicocanto,

thank you for sharing your impression of your stay at COSMO hotel!

You are correct; the COSMO Hotel was build with the intention of an office building and was only later on transformed into a hotel. Many of the elements from the former office were kept within the Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that to you impression the design and material used in the hotel are cheap.

We are aware of the parking situation, there is limited capacity in terms of parking spaces and size of the car in our garage. Therefore we offer parking tickets. Parking spaces are rare in Mitte, it really depends on the time of day when you are looking for a spot!

Again thank you for sharing your opinion!

Kind regards,

COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#71 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte

Property: COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Address: Spittelmarkt 13, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmo Hotel Berlin Mitte is a newly opened member of Design Hotels TM. It is the perfect urban retreat for travelers who appreciate individualized style, design and hospitality. It caters for business and leisure travelers alike.Located between Alexander Platz and Potsdamer Platz and Friedrichstrasse. The underground station U2 Spittelmarkt is in front of the hotel.At the Cosmo, the guest experience is all about comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing