We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, wheelchair friendly with everything we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Grenzfall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grenzfall
Ranked #220 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good service, wheelchair friendly with everything we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The staff were really friendly here, and the hotel was situated in a quiet area, but still pretty close to everything. The Berlin Wall museum and Nordbahnhof (underground station at the S-bahn) were close by, and that made it very easy to get around to pretty much everything. The rooms were basic, not fancy, but they were clean, spacious and had everything that we needed. The hotel was wheelchair accessible, and we were able to get a shower chair in our spacious bathroom. The entrance door to the hotel room was a bit heavy, but the door that led into the restaurant had an electric door opener. The garden was very nice, and the restaurant was allright. One very good thing about the breakfast was that you could ask for cappucino, caffe latte, espresso etc., and it was included in the price. The breakfast buffet had different kinds of bread, buns, croissants, fruits, yoghurt, müsli, dried fruits, different kinds of cheese, ham, bell pepper, cucumber, tomato, juice, milk, tea and coffee. All in all, I enjoyed my stay here a lot, and would recommend it for others.

Room Tip: I stayed on 601, on the top floor, and it had a nice balcony (with a step, so the balcony was not wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunroadwheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    58
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
20
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

If you are looking for a small hotel in a quiet area that offers an excellent level of service from it's staff then this is the one for you. The rooms are modern with wet room style shower and toilet.
The only down side is the evening menu which is small and of course the lack of Tea and Coffee making facilities in the room (almost a must for us Brits.)
In fact for any tea lover going to Berlin we recommend you at least take Tea bags with you if you want a decent cup of Tea.
All the travel information for the Hotel says to use the Bernauer Strasse U Bahn for this hotel, don't! Use the Nordbahnhof S Banh as it is nearer quicker and a more pleasant walk. The M10 Metrotram also goes from the end of the road.

Room Tip: Select a room with a balcony and garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

This hotel appeared to be miles from anywhere when we arrived at night but really it is close to everything. We had no trouble getting around. The room itself was very basic but had everything we needed, it was in a quiet location and so close to a part of "the wall" that we found ourselves going back and back to read more. The wall memorial itself is just on the corner. There are plenty of gorgeous breakfast spots only about 10 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor facing the garden, it was quiet with a great view down into the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

The hotel is really nice, well situated, clean, brand new, quiet, with a berlin wall memorial just round the corner and very kind employees.
I was thoroughly disappointed by the fact that the only reason I booked the hotel was that they stated they had tempur beds in all their rooms and what I found was the cheapest mattress I've ever seen and a terrible back pain the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpalomag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We're just back from a few days at the Grenzfall. It was our first time to stay here - and we were very impressed: large, clean, comfortable rooms; friendly, competent staff; and a wonderful garden at the back. [We'd recommend you ask for a garden-view room.] Very good location too: a few stops on the U-bahn into town; a short walk along Ackerstr. towards Hackescher Markt; and a few stops on the 10 tram to Prenzlauer Berg. Also try renting bikes from the hotel [only €10 for the day].

Breakfast is extra, which was the only downside: it might be worth skipping this and having breakfast elsewhere. Otherwise, however, full marks to the Grenzfall: we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasmineD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The tourist info at the Berlin train station booked us here. Lovely large rooms with a clean modern design. Staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke English. Best feature was the stunning garden in the back of the hotel.....only downside was breakfast was extra.
The hotel is a "integrationshotel" which means they hire people with physical and mental disabilities. The hotel is also wheelchair accessible.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twintraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celle, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

This is a new hotel, located immediately next to where the Berlin Wall used to run. Rooms are well furnished, with a simple elegance. Beds are comfortable. The rooms overlook either a large garden or a small street without through traffic, and are very quiet. Reception staff is friendly, competent and multi-lingual. The hotel restaurant, which fronts on the garden -- some tables are available outside -- has a good selection of well-prepared meals at modest prices; service was friendly and quick. The breakfast buffet was ample and tasty, if a bit pricey at 11 €. A kiosk with coffee and snacks is just outside the hotel. Connections: a stop on the Metro Tram line 10 is just around the corner, and it is 10 minutes' walk to the S-Bahn station Nordbahnhof (2 minutes by tram).
is 10 minutes' .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank read_and_listen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Honigmond Garden Hotel
Honigmond Garden Hotel
#295 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#156 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
#177 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Graf Pueckler
#297 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
#312 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grenzfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grenzfall

Property: Hotel Grenzfall
Address: Ackerstr. 136 | 13355 Berlin, 13355 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grenzfall 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Grenzfall is located centrally, yet quiet in the centre of Berlin, close to the Berlin Wall documentation centre in Bernauer street. Nearby, you will find the tram station "Gedenkstaette Berliner Mauer", the main station is only 2 km away from the hotel. In Hotel Grenzfall, people with and without disabilities work alongside each other in order to make you stay as pleasant as possible. The Hotel has 37 guest rooms, a Restaurant, a Bistro, conference rooms as well as a large garden that invites you to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. During the summer, we suggest you have breakfast on our big terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grenzfall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing