We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Upper Room Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Upper Room Hotel
Ranked #489 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

It is the third time I stayed in this hotel and I will again when I am in Berlin. Fantastic location just few steps from Kudam- main shopping street in front of Gedachtniss Kirche. Nice rooms, good breakfast, helpful staff.The only minus is tht you have to carry suitcase to the lift and again from the lift to the level of hotel which is situated on the 3 rd , 4 th and 5 th floor of a nice old building.Price is really very good in relation to quality of their offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    157
    106
    52
    53
See reviews for
137
94
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

It was a bit tough for us to bring up heavy travel suitcase to the floor. But other services like comfort at room, breakfast are nice and acceptable. And hotel staffs are friendly supportive to guests.
If I have a chance to visit Berlin again, I would like to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank buchi-tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Such a good value for money! Central location, very close to the underground station, easy access to any part of Berlin.

Amazing breakfast. So much variety and such tasty food! You wouldn't expect to get smoked salmon in a 3-star hotel, would you? But here you do! What about champagne? Yes, even champagne!

The room was very clean, except the carpet that had a few stains and it did not look that good. Our towels were changed on a daily basis. Our beds were made by the room attendants every day. Very friendly and very helpful staff in general.

Good luck in finding the hotel. It might be a bit tricky! There's no big front sign or something like that. There's this building that seems to have lots of offices inside and the hotel is on the top floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smarthutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Upper Room is the perfect place if you want to see Berlin using public trains. you can walk to several stops as well as walk to the zoo, to many shopping locations, and of course people watch. You are on a main street in a big city, so everything you need is there. It can be a little noisy with your basic city traffic noses, but that is easy drowned out with a low playing tv or shut your windows. It seems to be a very nice and safe part of town. The breakfast included was very good and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianArtforAnimals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Long weekend holiday in the hotel and city brake ideal deal. Close to centre, metro, shops and with restaurants on the street below. Reasonably cheap as in this location you will not find such facilities - I couldn`t. Staff is doing what they should, breakfast nice and enough of choice. The only minus is lack of the lift to the top so this is a reason I have not given maximum. Generally, If you want quick Berlin go around base - I can recommend this one.

Room Tip: No lift to the top so rooms at reception level or lower better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irek1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We had a great price for our stay.
The room is very good, wifi is good, location is great.
The only problem is that you have to climb a lot of stairs to get there.
Its in the 4th floor, you climb one floor, get an elevator to the third floor, climb another floor and in the end a spiral stair.
Without your luggage its no problem, I lifted our two bags over there and honestly it wasnt that bad.
For me it was ok, specially for the price.
Breakfast was very nice by the way

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afagundes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

A group of friends and I, stayed at the upper room hotel for a long weekend in May 2013. The hotel is in a great location for exploring the city, it is in the Kurfürstendamm which is a great shopping district. There is easy access to Berlins public transport hub, to explore the rest of the city.

We had a triple room, which was an average size, with a clean bathroom, a nice TV and a handy fridge to keep the beers chilled. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty, the free wifi was fast, and the staff were helpful and friendly.

The hotel is located in the upper floors of a building, but there is a hand elevator. The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and bars, and only 10mins walk to the Zoo.
If I was staying in West Berlin again,

I would definatly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swoodhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Mercure Hotel Chateau
Mercure Hotel Chateau
#221 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Charlottenburg
Azimut Hotel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Europa City Hotel
#357 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#371 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berliner Hof Hotel
Berliner Hof Hotel
#160 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Pension Columbus
Hotel Pension Columbus
#244 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Room Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Room Hotel

Property: Upper Room Hotel
Address: Rankestr. 3, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #489 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Upper Room Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Upper Room Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing