We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we loved it: minor complaints, but they would not keep us from staying again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Ranked #76 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“we loved it: minor complaints, but they would not keep us from staying again”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

gorgeous minimal/hip design; great location, easy walking to everything in berlin; attentive and knowledgeable staff. 2 minutes to U2 station.
we arrived late, all double rooms taken, they automatically upgraded us to a junior suite w a lovely balcony, separate sitting area with another tv, mini fridge. free WiFi, free use of computers in lobby. this was a wonderful stay!!

the (minor) complaints:
the presence of summer mosquitoes made us shut our windows; there is NO air conditioning, so we were trapped inside....thank goodness for the fan in every room!
if you want breakfast it is FIFTEEN EUROS...not consistent with the reasonable value of the room, and certainly not worth it when many breakfast options nearby. same for dinner, they seem to promote the 30 Euro Pris Fixe menu. We would have tried both if there were more reasonable options than 'all in'.
the website and in-room information promote laundry service: that is not true, there is none.
these are minor complaints, we really had a great time and would definitely choose Hotel Gat Point Charlie when we return to Berlin!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldmetalhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    822
    148
    40
    14
See reviews for
188
881
124
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel during our trip to Germany. We chose it because of its privileged location, next to the Check Point Charlie. The nearest U-bahn is Stadmitte.
We booked the room through the hotel´s web site, and got a good price thanks to the early booking (30 days in advance).
Our room was big enough, very clean and stylish. It faced the interior courtyard.
The bathroom was nice, the only problem is that it had no shower tub, so that the floor gets a little bit flooded.
There´s a computer in the lobby you can use.
Loved the design of the hotel :)
If you don´t want to pay for the buffet breakfast you don´t need to worry, because there are plenty of cheap places to have breakfast in Friedrichstrasse!
Perfect place if it´s your first time to Berlin and are planning to visit the main attractions. If you´re more into visiting the northern quartiers like Prenzlauer Berg it may be a little bit far away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Queens
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Like all of Berlin, this place is just cool. Minimalistic decor, very clean rooms and friendly staff. Conveniently located. One word of warning though: there is no air conditioning and the windows will not stay open. I had to rig the windows to stay open with my shoes and some cords...other than that, I recommend this place.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-O1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We did not know what to expect of Berlin and its location. We picked this hotel from the internet as it looked very modern and trendy. I can say we were not let down. The rooms were 'fab' if that is the latest expression. The breakfast was great and the service excellent. The bar was convenient for a late night cap. The location turned up great. Not far form its namesake 'Checkpoint Charlie' and from here you get the hop on / hop off bus and see the rest of the city. Berlin is deep in history and sorry we did not spend alot of time there. looking forward to going back and will stay at the same hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieGreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Modern and clean hotel with good service.
Good design ideas and decoration details make the most of the small spaces and give a friendly human touch to the hotel
The location is nice, very near the tourist-attracting checkpoint charlie, close to stylish shopping gallerias and a minute away from a metro station that connects the two central lines crossing the city.
Good beds, nice bathroom with a big shower. Free wi-fi that just works.
Very good breakfast. The hotel also has a restaurant (spanish-inspired menu) which is actually very good and not very expensive.

Room Tip: Some rooms are apparently quite small but we booked a
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
audrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed a week in a junior suite in this hotel. The minus points were lack of air-con and very flakey wifi. The good points were excellent staff, very clean rooms, bed linen changed daily, good shower plenty of room in the bathroom and very quiet at night. The location of this hotel is excellent, with very good transportation links. We did not avail of the breakfast option as at 15.00 euro I considered it to be expensive, Starbucks around the corner supplied ours, also free wifi which was excellent. The Italian restaurant to the right of the hotel had very good food at a reasonable cost. All in all a memorable trip and I would use this hotel chain again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audreytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is a smallish designer hotel, on a side street. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms are small and efficient, but comfortable. I didn't have the troubles that some other reviewers found, for example they had the sense to put a soap tray in the shower which not everyone does.
TV channels are a bit limited. Wireless is free if flaky. The in-house tapas restaurant looks good. I had breakfast once, which was good, if pricey.
No air conditioning, so it can get stuffy but not that often a problem in Berlin.

Room Tip: If it's hot and you want to leave the windows open, the front can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inner_city_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#78 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Point Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Point Charlie

Property: Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Address: Mauerstr. 81 - 82, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Point Charlie 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the central Mitte vicinity. Mitte is one entertaining neighborhood with an important history load and many mysteries awaiting.The hotel's typical berlin industrial structure was home to the STASI. In just 10 minutes you can reach Brandenburger Gate, the Museum Island and the Holocaust Memorial. And if that wasn't enough, the famous Check Point Charlie from the Berlin Wall is a stone's throw away from us. What is also literally round the corner is the well-known Friedrichstrasse; the perfect place for shopping, you will definitely love it.Gat Point Charlie stands for friendship. Designed from start to finish to achieve out of your stay something beyond enjoyable. The Room Room is a good spot to have a cocktail with friends, and when it gets to getting some rest, the beds available in all 140 rooms, will make you quickly surrender to Morpheus arms.A healthy and balanced breakfast will be waiting for you in the morning, the perfect way to reload the energies you will need to conquer the Berlin streets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gat Point Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing