We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014 3 nite stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Ranked #73 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
staten island, new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“June 2014 3 nite stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for three nites in early june 2014. Location is great...walking distance to Museum Island, Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag, and Unter de Linden. Rooms were a bit small but was expected as most European rooms are. Front desk staff were extremely helpful in every way and all spoke English. Price for rooms were quite reasonable. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Berlin who hasnt been here before!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    825
    151
    40
    14
See reviews for
190
892
126
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Well located trendy designer hotel Arrived at around 11pm guy on the front desk friendly and efficient, check in no problem.
Room small, but comfortable bed, good tv, safe, nice shower and toiletries in the bathroom. No coffee in room.
Wifi in the room terrible, (105) reported it immediately, was told it was probably the router, technician would look and reset it in the morning. It never got any better, nobody came back to me.. it would barely hold connection, and was unusable. Worked fine in the reception and bar area, even stood outside..! so i had to work in reception on Saturday morning.
Breakfast was nice, good quality, varied, with healthy choices.
Bar staff also friendly and nice.. most appeared to be Spanish along with the majority of guests. Check out was ok.. wasn't asked how my stay was.
In summary, internet issues aside.. trendy, well located, friendly, basic, average.
would i stay here again? unlikely, i am sure there are better value options with reliable wi-fi.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuribob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to write a comment about your recent stay with us.

I am very sorry to know you experienced problems with the internet in your room.
It is not a common problem for us, I apologize for all the inconveniences caused.

We look forward into welcoming you again and please do not hesitate contacting me personally if we are lucky to host you again soon.

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a really good hotel the room was well appointed and clean and very easy to find.

This is a hotel perfectly placed if you haven't been to Berlin before and want to see all the sights including things in the centre and west. Having been before and wishing to enjoy more of things the east has to offer it was a little bit of a schlep and we got to know the the U2 line of the U-bahn very well.

There was no air-conditionig and so we did find the room a little hot and were given a fan that although looked the business did in fact become my nemesis for the rest of the trip as is was very loud and not particularly cooling.

The shower was amazing as was the breakfast which although a little expensive for what you can get outside did the trick.

All in all a good place and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember012320171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at Hotel Gat Point Charlie.

I am sorry for the inconvenience of the lack of A/A during the recent heat wave, we are trying to sort out this problem and hopefully for next year this issue will be solved.

We look forward into welcoming you again soon, please do not hesitate contacting me in your next visit!

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights mid June. The hotel is in a really good location, close to shops, restaurants and tourist attractions.

The hotel is very funky with a lime green theme throughout the hotel. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Our only issue was the room was hot and muggy. It wasnt really hot the days we were there either, maybe a max of 22 degrees. It gets better once the windows open for a while, however they ask you to close the window if you are leaving the room, and if you do so, once you return to the room its like walking into a sauna. The positive out of this is the reception staff will provide you with a portable fan which helps a lot.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and overall we had a really good stay at this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndySarahV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your experience at Gat Point Charlie.

I am happy to hear you were impressed by the staff and rooms, but sorry that you experienced inconveniences due to the lack of air conditioning during the heat wave we experienced recently.

I can share that we are looking into a solution so that heat won't be a problem next year.
Feedbacks like yours help us in the planning process for upcoming improvements, so I appreciate you taking the time writing your insight.

We look forward into welcoming you again at Gat Point Charlie. Please do not hesitate contacting me when you do!

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. We had a junior sweet which was really nice and very modern. It's in a really central location but still pretty quiet on an evening and staff were really friendly. Berlin is an AMAZING city an I Would recommend Gat point Charlie to anyone. May even stay there again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

We really appreciate all your comments .They motivate all of us to continue this way,
we really appreciate it. Please do not hesitate to contact me in your next visit.

Thank you again!

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We got it for 90usd per night, it's a good, clean, modern hotel, probably designed by an interior decorator, they had heating but no cooling, wasn't a problem in mid June, the staff are very friendly and help you out in anything you need, especially the guy at reception at night, they have a nice quiet bar with a friendly bartender, hotel is centrally located.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shamsher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review about Hotel Gat Point Charlie.

We've invested a great deal of time and resources into the product that you see today.

We hope to see you again at our hotel in the near future! Please don't hesitate contacting me.

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were very pleased we had booked this hotel. It is on a quiet street very close to Checkpoint Charlie, and to public transport. Very simple to get here from either the airport or Berlin train station, and walking distance to a lot of attractions. It's new and modern (we had a lime green bathroom!) but very clean, and very comfortable. There are several very nice restaurants all within very close walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't choose the breakfast option at the hotel, but each morning the breakfast room looked to be quite full. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaydreamerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, we always appreciate the positive comments left by our guests.

We are delighted that you had a good experience staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
810 reviews
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#74 of 634 in Berlin
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Point Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Point Charlie

Property: Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Address: Mauerstr. 81 - 82, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Point Charlie 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the central Mitte vicinity. Mitte is one entertaining neighborhood with an important history load and many mysteries awaiting.The hotel's typical berlin industrial structure was home to the STASI. In just 10 minutes you can reach Brandenburger Gate, the Museum Island and the Holocaust Memorial. And if that wasn't enough, the famous Check Point Charlie from the Berlin Wall is a stone's throw away from us. What is also literally round the corner is the well-known Friedrichstrasse; the perfect place for shopping, you will definitely love it.Gat Point Charlie stands for friendship. Designed from start to finish to achieve out of your stay something beyond enjoyable. The Room Room is a good spot to have a cocktail with friends, and when it gets to getting some rest, the beds available in all 140 rooms, will make you quickly surrender to Morpheus arms.A healthy and balanced breakfast will be waiting for you in the morning, the perfect way to reload the energies you will need to conquer the Berlin streets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gat Point Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing