We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Ranked #77 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is very clean and modern. Good value for money.
It is at the great location, near train stations, but walking distance to alot of the tourist areas.
The Service was good. All my questions were answered.
Did not have air conditioning.
I will be back to stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review about Hotel Gat Point Charlie.

We hope to see you again at our hotel in the near future!

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    822
    148
    40
    14
See reviews for
188
881
124
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel was my base for a hectic 2.5 day (3 nights) first-time city break in Berlin and was an excellent choice and good value for money. Everything I wanted to see or do was walkable or accessible using Berlin's superb and cheap transport system starting from the Stadtmitte U-Bahn station a couple of minutes' walk away. I had a double room for single use overlooking the street which was, as expected, basic but more than adequate for a few nights. The bed was comfortable, the shower was excellent and the free wifi worked well - what more could I ask for? Yes, aircon would have been nice given the temperature, and it was a little nosy with the window open, but the curtain lining cut out all external light so I slept very well. I didn't try the €14 breakfast - which seemed a little expensive to me - instead settling for coffee and a muffin or croissant at one of the many cafés in the vicinity (there are 2 right by the entrance to the U-Bahn), but I did have a nightcap in the pleasant bar and was surprised to see that it also had a small snacks and cakes menu and did coffee to go - this in addition to the (cold) vending machine on my floor. The staff were young, friendly and helpful and I would certainly stay here again if (when?) I return to Berlin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property,
your comments are very much valued.

We really appreciate your feedback and we look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, once again, thank you for the positive comments!

Best Regards

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I can go on and on to say good things about the hotel but mainly

a) Good location - near all the tourist areas and the train stations to connect you with every part of Berlin

b) Great Breakfast - simple spread BUT well thought out and homemade baked goods always score distinction

c) service is good - not overly friendly but your question get answered!

d) Room - Cleanliness - very good - yes please note that it does not have air conditioning which is the case with a lot of building in Berlin , so be fair to them, if you book knowing it, no complain warranted - and they do provide a strong fan

Overall a very good experience - will stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiensw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review!

We are really happy to hear about your nice stay at Gat Point Charlie.

Would be lovely to be able to host you again in the future!

Best regards,
Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel was neat and modern, close to Check Point Charlie as promised. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby. The U-Baun is less than 5 minutes away; the train station 10-15 minutes. Lots of attractions within walking distance. The rooms were clean and comfortable at this hotel. There is a lot of noise that carries up to the rooms that are on interior court of the hotel from people in the lobby to vehicles with their engines idling. I would definitely ask for a room on the backside for more quiet. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face inside toward the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comment. Your feedback is very important to us!

I am glad to read you had a great experience staying with us in this wonderful city.

We would be honored to host you again in the future. Please do not hesitate contacting me in your next visit.

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Checked in for 2 nights, photos looked good, arty and funky, the style I like. First impressions were good, great lobby area, fabulous and welcome staff.

For the price, the rooms meet your requirements, but it's nothing overly flash, it's a budget hotel that has been flashed up Finishes etc aren't there (reminded me of idea) BUT it's Berlin! If you are spending time in your room, there is something wrong!

Good convenient location, good wifi, comfortable bed, good size bathroom and good shower pressure. No air con, but lovely big windows (just be mindful to close the curtains if you are on an inside room).

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment.

We hope to be able to host you once again in a near future.

Do not hesitate contacting me in your next visit.

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great location, near metro station with easy access to almost everything. Clean rooms. Very polite staff. Rich breakfast buffee. Extra tip which I loved: Greek bathroom luxury from KORRES cosmetics! :-) Definitely will visit again. Love Berlin!!! <3

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maragiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive comments, it means a lot to us.

I am glad you noticed that we offer the wonderful Greek brand Korres for bath amenities!

We would be delighted to welcome you again in Gat Point Charlie. Please do not hesitate contacting me in your next visit.

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Situated at one of the tourist points which was nice. Not far to walk to the main areas where things like the free walking tours start from. Hotel staff were ok but only recommended main tourist places to go. They had an app you could download which gave some more tourist information but I didn't think that as very helpful I got more info from a taxi driver. Room was basic but nice. No air con so glad it wasn't hot. Breakfast was very good for 10 Euros I think.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#78 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Point Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Point Charlie

Property: Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Address: Mauerstr. 81 - 82, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Point Charlie 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the central Mitte vicinity. Mitte is one entertaining neighborhood with an important history load and many mysteries awaiting.The hotel's typical berlin industrial structure was home to the STASI. In just 10 minutes you can reach Brandenburger Gate, the Museum Island and the Holocaust Memorial. And if that wasn't enough, the famous Check Point Charlie from the Berlin Wall is a stone's throw away from us. What is also literally round the corner is the well-known Friedrichstrasse; the perfect place for shopping, you will definitely love it.Gat Point Charlie stands for friendship. Designed from start to finish to achieve out of your stay something beyond enjoyable. The Room Room is a good spot to have a cocktail with friends, and when it gets to getting some rest, the beds available in all 140 rooms, will make you quickly surrender to Morpheus arms.A healthy and balanced breakfast will be waiting for you in the morning, the perfect way to reload the energies you will need to conquer the Berlin streets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gat Point Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing