We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a perfect location!”
Review of Sir Savigny Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Savigny Hotel
Ranked #96 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a perfect location!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from Zoologischer Garten S Bahnof, which is ideal if you are getting the airport express train from Schoenefeld airport (only 3 euros). It is also only 5 minutes walk from the Kursurstendamm.
It is in a lovely area, surrounded by restaurants and there is a newsagent and a bank opposite.
We booked a standard room, which although smaller than their more expensive rooms, still has large beds. The rooms are contemporary and have a luxury feel. You also have one free use of the minibar (soft drinks only), which we found to be a nice touch! We had maid service daily.
The hotel wowed us as soon as we walked into the reception. The hotel staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
The Sir thanks you so much for your positive comment and is happy to had you as a guest and he could make your stay to an amazing one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    261
    92
    35
    23
See reviews for
74
381
42
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monnickendam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights recently, had the best time ever in Berlin. Very modern and comfortabele rooms, very good beds and pillows! Rooms are a bit small but on the other hand they got everything you need. Very nice hotelbar and lobby, great showers as well overall a great hotel to stay when visiting Berlin. You will see me next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefand22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
The Sir Team is really grateful that you thought on us and ceommented you stay at our Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed you stay here and a lot happier that we will see you again! Thanks a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We got a really good deal on this hotel; if I was paying full price it may have got a lower rating. We had to move rooms as the shower in our first room flooded. The move was quick and hassle free and the staff moved our luggage etc. while we were out, which was good. Beds were comfortable, showers good, TV channel choice good and nice to have a minibar in the room (though only stocked with non-alcoholic drinks). Would have been nice if nespresso pods had been automatically filled up. Free wifi is a bonus.

Agree with other reviewers about the customer service - "reception" seemed to be rarely staffed and there seemed to be a very clear hierarchy of staff with those at the top unenthusiastic about working. Those staff who did help were very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin32_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thanks for you review about your stay at Sir, reviews like that are very valuable to us and we will analyse them. We are sorry that you had those feelings about the staff and will work on that too, because actually there isn't any hierarchy. We hope you will join us again to convince you that we improved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Poor customer service, horrible hotel management! Booked a 3 night stay in December and only survived one night. Don’t let the well maintained lobby fool you. This place was a hole in the wall. The room floor had a very noticeable odor in the hallway and in the room. The heater in our room stopped working shortly after arrival. We attempted to contact guest services, but did not reach anyone. We headed to lobby to try to find someone, at which point we were notified by the bartender that the hotel does not staff an attendant or maintenance at night. He attempted to contact the hotel manager (who could not be reached of course), as he did not know what to do and was about to get off work. Needless to say we froze in a room with no heat on a winter night Germany. Next day tried to talk with the hotel manager about our issue and was told by him; he does not work 24 hrs a day, and what did we what him to do about it? I asked for a partial refund for that nights stay and even after failing to successfully fix the heater himself, he was not willing to discount or refund our prepaid stay. After, several hours of bickering with the manager we finally checked out of the hotel and into another establishment. We were treated very poorly and will never return to this hotel. Do your self a favor and book somewhere else as the low rate is not worth the hassle.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Packed-light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
The Sir is really sorry for the inconvenience you had at our hotel. We hope you accept our biggest apology and pass by again to see that we improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Went to Berlin for sylvester celebration and found an OK deal at Sir F.K. Savigny; a small and cozy boutique hotel situated a 10 minutes walk from the Zoo S-bahn stop. Great location near Kurfürstendamm shopping street. Small rooms, but yet with space enough for two persons. Radio with iPhone docking and a Nespresso machine was included in the rooms. Minibar with free beer, soda and water. Cozy reseption area with a small restaurant in it. Great sleeping comfort.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brasoygard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung! Ihre Worte leigen uns am Herzen und freuen uns über jedes positives Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We just got back from Germany where we spent 4 nights at Sir F.K Savigny. I found a very good deal online and we decided to book two rooms for us and our friends. The hotel is stylish but cozy. It looks and feels very four stars. However, the service was a bit of a let down. As there is no reception desk, it was always difficult to find anyone around. With the exception of one of the bar blokes, the rest of the staff were not too bothered to help. I told them twice about a couple of problems in our bathroom but nothing was done about it. The soap basket was hanging off the wall and the shower head would not stay up, which is really inconvenient when showering. Unfortunately, nothing was done about it.
You get a full mini bar included in the price but the coffee capsules were not being replenished. The bed is really comfortable and soft but the room was on the small side.
When we checked in, we were told to go up to our rooms. Our friends' room was still being made and it took them a long time to get it done.
The place looks lovely and the area is trendy and convenient. However, the service was not four stars by any means. We did not book the breakfast with the room as the charge 18 euros a head. There is a fantastic restaurant round the corner where we had plentiful breakfasts for up to 16 euros a head, including coffees and juices. The heating is centrally controlled so there is no thermostat in the rooms. The rooms were so hot at times that we could not sleep well. The hotel really needs to tweak a few details to be real value for money.

Room Tip: Room 42 was small but 41 was quite big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeloygut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thanks for your review. Your critics mean a lot to us. We will hardly analyse it and we are sure we will improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen/scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights over the new year.it was a pleasant enough hotel and the room was average with little storage so it was out of the suitcase and back in when finished with. Did not see much of the staff as we were out most of the day but the ones we did come across were pleasant enough.We also ate out for breakfast as it was rather expensive and the cafes round about offered a better option.It is a nice area with buses and trains to take you to all the sites and good eating and drinking places so overall we enjoyed our new year sojourn

Room Tip: We used the Cross bistro a lot beside the train station the staff were all very good and friendly an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billmo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thanks very much for your review. We hope you will come back and be our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
H'Otello K'80
H'Otello K'80
#134 of 634 in Berlin
262 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Zoo Berlin
Hotel Zoo Berlin
#129 of 634 in Berlin
448 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#12 of 634 in Berlin
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Max Brown Hotel Ku'damm
#203 of 634 in Berlin
612 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 634 in Berlin
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Savigny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Savigny Hotel

Property: Sir Savigny Hotel
Address: Kantstr. 144, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Berlin
#60 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#64 Family Hotel in Berlin
#74 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Savigny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Savigny, an entitled member of the SIR hotels family, breathes a creative spirit into the hip heart of the old West. His luxury boutique hotel is a gateway to Berlin's upscale Charlottenburg area, situated directly on the famous Savignyplatz in the City West's vibrant Art Nouveau district, with-in walking distance from the legendary Kurfurstendamm, Berlin's shopping oasis. Sir Savigny himself is a cultivated yet witty cosmopolitan culinary host for lifestyle travellers, locals and neighbours. He created the most welcoming environment with his stylish-yet-entirely-casual approach to design. Sir Savigny welcomes you in his kitchen where you can discuss the aesthetics of Fassbinder at his kitchen table, while sipping a Manhattan and enjoying a bloody delicious burger from his in-house kitchen, The Butcher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sir Savigny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir f.k. Savigny Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing