We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel; second class service”
Review of Soho House Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soho House Berlin
Ranked #150 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Soho House is an amazing brand with incredible locations around the world. The Berlin outpost is beautiful and has the same feel as the other clubs in London, New York, Toronto, Los Angeles, etc., but the service and friendliness leaves a lot to be desired. Might be the way they have two front desks which gives you a sense of confusion upon arrival. (One is for the private club and one is for the front desk - but if you haven't been there before, you have no signs or personnel to guide you to the right desk). And the, uh, less than friendly looks from the staff behind the desks don't help. Easy to fix. Either redesign with one desk -- or have a friendly staff member present to guide guests to the proper desk. Rooms are beautiful with a vintage feel. But front door handles falling off and showers with doors that don't stay closed are typical of the minor annoyances we experienced. And speaking of annoying, the trendy light switches are beyond annoying. Hard to explain - you just have to experience the cute but ineffective knobs.

Aside from that the "everything is for sale feel of Soho House" is kinda cheesy (the shopping bag hanging in the closet? 5 Euro. One of the TEN (yes ten!!!) shower soap bottles can be yours for take away for 18 Euro.

And the whole "everyone is equal" feel at the other Soho House properties was nowhere in sight. One of the two elevators on our side of the building was commandeered frequently for George Clooney and his four man Secret Service style security team. Really?

And the spa? Well, having your masseuse show up a half hour late due to "traffic" is never a good start.

Overall I'd rate this a "near miss" in terms of Soho House quality. But if the annoying problems and stand-offish staff are tweaked, this could be a great place to stay in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

We loved soho house Berlin, we stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, staff is very friendly and so cool! The room was very big, we enjoyed the rainforest shower, the cowshed products, all the complementary stuff in a room! The Spa is very nice too! The feast on Sunday morning is a must do! The lounge on the 7 floor was very cool and trendy, the food was nice, and not overpriced!!!cherry on the top Mr Georges Clooney was there! Amazing week end! Soho House is definitely the place to go in Berlin!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This place is absolutely lovely I wish I could have stayed there one more night. Is it worth the money?100% yes. My room was super lovely the bed was so large I could have fitted 5 people in it. The furniture had this cool vintage feel with an old record player and a Roberts radio. The cow shed products in the bath room are great. The bar is really nice and cozy and in general the location is pretty good. The reception staff were a little laid back and too cool for school which was my only complaint.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redredrose666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I had a wonderful time here. We stayed here for 3 days and as I fell in love with Berlin I pretty much fell in love with the Hotel. The staff were very accommodating and helpful, rooms are fresh with just enough mix of trendy and comfy. Loved the bathroom and all the little products by Cowshed are excellent. I really don't have anyth. negative to say, it's great all around really. By the way for gym junkies I would have to say this is one of the best Hotel gyms I ever seen (I've seen many) Definitely visit Club Room for dinner or just a drink, the place is happening almost at any hour. And of course the Spa was amazing ending to a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I am a member of all houses so I had wanted to visit the SH new outposts for a while. First in the list outside the UK, SH Berlin. It did not disappoint. However, food needs to be improved and service a bit erratic. Overall though, rooms and environment lovely though our room looked out to the courtyard I did not mind but hubby did), fabulous gym and instructors (I had one to myself for an hour as noone else turned up); spa beyond great with some very beautiful people around and the NYE party excellent. We tried the studio apartment this time but might go for a hotel room next time, not sure that I have use for the kitchenette though vaguely thought of rustling up something at some point...too lazy to do anything about it as the 5th floor beckoned with food and drink! We also loved Berlin and we are returning soon!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure that youa sk for rooms looking out to the main road rather than the courtyard; in the summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikaHassiotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Soho house had bad service one year ago and it seems nothing has changed ... Staff seems to be stressed when you approach then and you do not feel very welcome. We had a problem with the heating which seemed to cause a fire alarm. So they rang us up at 8 Sunday morning. Annoying! Also, why must I speak English in a Berlin hotel? I was just wondering ... To say something good: the rooms are very nice and have high quality extras. And: the spa is really cosy and a good place to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We absolutely loved this place. We had wanted to go but we never had the opportunity so when we saw a great deal of booking.com we knew we had to get a room. The location is excellent, Right in between Mitte and Prenzlauer Berg districts. The amenities of the room are also excellent. I forgot all our toiletries at home So we were happy to see that really everything was there Provided for us. We also fully enjoyed the spa facilities. That's so much to do that actually you don't have to leave the hotel at all. We look forward to a repeated visit.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 634 in Berlin
1,698 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
557 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#13 of 634 in Berlin
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Zoo Berlin
Hotel Zoo Berlin
#132 of 634 in Berlin
502 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#170 of 634 in Berlin
183 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho House Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho House Berlin

Address: Torstr. 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#67 Business Hotel in Berlin
#108 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £188 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Soho House Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soho House Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho House Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing