We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holtel for bike or foot walkers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #60 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Siauliai, Lithuania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Holtel for bike or foot walkers”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The hotel is at the perfect place form the city center and especially form the main train station, only 5 min to it, to the gates of Brandeburg about 10 it depends on your speed. Though it is close to the station it is not loud and busy place, next to the prison park which is on the way interesting as well. Stuff is very polite and helpful. p.s. upon your arrival you will get a welcome drink in the hotel's bar on the roof with the nice panorama to the city.

Room Tip: As far as I understood the hotel is surrounded with quite streets, so there is no big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egle_Lithuania_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    159
    103
    39
    43
See reviews for
60
103
61
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I was there as part of the Berlinale Talent Campus, they chose this hostel (A&O Hauptbahnhof Berlin) for all participants, so I thought it should have minimum standards since it's a Berlinale Partner apparently. I had a single room and changed twice. The rooms are very dirty, spider webs in corners of ceiling and had to kill two spiders that crawled onto the bed!!!!! It's VERY LOUD and walls seem to be extremely thin, if someone is snoring in the next room you can hear it. It happened to me and I couldn't sleep 3 nights in a row because of that since they were a pain about changing the room!!! The staff is very unfriendly, and if you want to do a late check out you pay an additional 5 Euros. Not only that, I called to tell them I want a late check out and they said I had to come down immediately to pay. I said I can pay as I check out, it's not like I'll be running away, but they were rude and insisted!!!! It was the worst stay ever in Berlin in terms of hotel, and I'm actually still writing this while I'm in the room. And I never wrote a review in my life, but that's HOW MUCH I'M ANNOYED of A&O Hotel Hauptbahnhof Berlin. Please do the effort and stay somewhere else if you want to enjoy your Berlin stay and have quiet nights to sleep if you're on a business trip. Oh and one last thing, it's a very bad location, you always have to walk to the main rail way station to get to the next public transport and in the awfully cold winter of Berlin walking 15 minutes is not so amusing, especially at night.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally bad!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

It is located 5 minutes away on foot from Berlin Central Station. Hotel is cheapest in Berlin central area but services and atmosphier are excellent. A&O combines hotel and hostel. Most guest are young people. I did not hear any noise from my suite. I think it depend on who stay next to your room and same floor. Breakfast buffet is great selection and tasty.
Stay hotel with plesant feeling.

Room Tip: It is popular among young tourist. Please make reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunwoo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Arrived at Berlin Hauptbahnhof (Central train station) and walked less than 10 minutes to the hotel which was easy to find (bus 123 stops outside the hotel from the station if you are struggling with large luggage or awkward infants).

The Hotel itself was always busy at reception and a little chaotic but in a fun way (everyone seemed to be in a cheerful mood) many large groups of students/school parties/tour groups were checking in and out all the time of all nationalities which created a nice atmosphere. The rooms were very basic but comfortable with central heating and lovely hot water for showers.

Personal belongings can be stored in the safe at reception and luggage can be stored in the locker room also at reception.

The hotel has two bars, one in reception and the main bar on the roof (open from 17:00 onwards to ?

I have no problems with this hotel/hostel and enjoyed my stay.
If you enjoy the company of young people then you will enjoy this refreshing youthful ambient dwelling.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt-on-walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof is a 10 minutes walk from the Grand Central Station and this sure is the key plus point for this property.

I stayed there for 3 nights - 1 night and 2 nights separately - and it was worth every euro. The rooms are very much hostel type, and while not decorated or furnished, they were decent in size. I opted for the room with private baths, and the shower and the toilet had separate door. The room also had a TV with international news channels (BBC, CNN) and other local channels in Deutsche language.

One drawback was that they didn't have Wi-Fi available in the rooms, and while you could buy the Wi-Fi vouchers cheaply (Euro 5 for a day pass I guess) they would work only in the general lobby area which was mostly crowded.

The hotel had large group of students and teens who would check-in simultaneously, so I assume that this property was for popular amongst backpackers travelling in group. On my second stay (with a gap of 8 days) there was a popular art festival in town, and the hotel was loaded with people from this faculty. The lobby was packed with like minded people and the conversations to which I was mostly alien to, were great. The lobby is a great place to make new friends, and you can never get bored.

The staff were friendly and knew English well. They even guided us to places of interest better than my earlier stay at Grand Hyatt and they were well versed.

Anyone who wishes to do a quick city trip, and wants a hotel just to park their luggage and rest their bodies after a long day out can be assured that this is the place for them!

There are no health club or spa facilities in this property, hence be sure that while you will pay cheap, you will get a a clean, neat no-frills rooms and nothing beyond! Any concern that given the lower price tag would mean compromise on cleanliness would be unfounded: all the way from the room in general to the linen on bed to the toilet area to the common areas and walk-path within the hotel: everything is surprisingly clean!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazimKirmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We had a great stay here! We have 2 adults and 1 child but our room had two twin beds together and 2 sets of bunk beds. Room was sparsely decorated/furnished but huge and clean. We had a private bath in room. The shower and the toilet had seperate doors inside the room. Couldn't hear anything through walls between rooms but could hear through our door. We put one of the extra comforters on the floor at the bottom of the door and that muffled some of the noise. The only night it was a little loud was Saturday but the lounge/bar was packed with people/tour groups so it was to be expected. Sunday morning the breakfast room (4 euros for adults/2 euros for kids) was packed. Weekdays it was close to empty. They gave each guest a coupon for a welcome drink (beer, champagne, shot or OJ) on arrival and there is a bar in the reception area and on the 5th floor. The drinks (I had a Pitu-rinha/5 euros) were great! The had pizza, ice cream and other snacks available for cheap at the reception area bar. The people at the counter were extremely helpful with figuring out public transportation and other questions. They had some parking (7.50 euros/day), not much, but if we were able to get a parking spot on a Sat night I think other times it would be fine. It was about a 10 min walk or less from the main train station. I'd definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a cheap, no frills place to stay in Berlin. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxnomeatxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed for 7 days at this hostel/ hotel and found it to be pretty good. Bathroom was good size and rooms were clean with comfy beds! Breakfast was great with a large choice- I didn't need lunch after stocking up there! The location is very good, about 5 minutes walk from the new Hauptbahnhof in Berlin. You can reach all the major sites within 15 minutes and there is a fantasticly cheap Italian restaurant just down the road! The bar in the hotel was great and staff were really friendly. I'd definitely go back when I return to Berlin- it has everything you need for a short or longer break in the city.

Room Tip: away from the hostel section which can have school groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#83 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Friedrichshain
A&O Berlin Friedrichshain
A&O Berlin Friedrichshain
#239 of 347 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Moabit
Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Property: A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Address: Lehrter Str. 12-15, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o Berlin Hauptbahnhof
a&o Berlin Hauptbahnhof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing