We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel for transfers in Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #63 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hostel for transfers in Berlin”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We visited the hostel twice in December and it was a great choice. With 5 mins walk from the main station and compact but cozy rooms makes this hostel a perfect place if you dont want to travel around the city with a huge luggage. Only disadvantage (but of course the hostel can't be blamed form it) is the pavement on Lehrter street, not comfy at all for huge suitcases. Anyway, breakfast was satisfying, service was Ok, we could leave the luggage in the special room before the check in time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraSajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    159
    104
    40
    43
See reviews for
60
103
62
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at A&O for 2 nights to have a bed to sleep in before I went couch surfing for a couple weeks. I even decided to 'splash' out and pay for a hotel room instead of staying in one of their hostel rooms. Many reviews mentioned the young, loud groups of students coming through so I had this expectation going in. What I wasn't expecting was the loudest, and rudest people to be the staff. When check-out isn't until 10 am, why are rooms being cleaned loudly at 8:45 am? If you need to say something to a fellow staff member down the hall, please just go to them and do not yell down the hallway. This is common manners I would expect from anybody else at a hotel, let alone the staff. When I mentioned this to the hotel, that the staff shouldn't be banging on walls, having conversations and vacuuming before people have even woken up they barely even acknowledged it and said "they didn't understand"... and yet they were fully capable of understanding me when I wanted a late check-out, where the breakfast room was, where a convenience store was etc... the moment I seemed to have an issue with something, the staff all the sudden "didn't speak english". On top of that, if you want a hostel/hotel with this many rooms, have the appropriate number of staff to deal with it. Any time I needed something I had to wait in a queue, usually of a big group of students, and that's assuming a staff member was even there. If someone just wants to ask a simple question like, "do you sell adaptors?", they shouldn't have to wait in a line of 20 people wanting to check-in. If you are selling other amenities, have someone there to do it who doesn't also have to check in every person that walks in. They seem to be trying to fit in as many things as possible that will make this hostel/hotel look great on a website, "free breakfast, tons of rooms, wifi, hygiene products, ATM, bar, food..." and yet it is rare that any of these things is properly managed at all. So although the room I had was actually alright, I would have preferred to spend 50 euro at a hotel where my biggest annoyance was other guests, not the hotel staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisWolf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have been in A&O in Berlin and Wiena and I am sutisfied. All that hotels+hostels are built in the same style. It is huge and it takes a little time to get into your room :D Don't get lost! But equipment is really new, there is hairdryer in the bathroom and soap in the shower. Everything clean for a reasonable prices. But dont believe to hostels which say thea are near to stations :-D

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatkaVerbenikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

After travelling to Berlin for a charity event, we decided to stay at a hostel to rest for the night. We chose to stay at A&O. Despite the website displaying 12 Euro a night for an 8 person room subject to availability, after an inflated price and hidden charges we ended up paying nearly double the displayed price. When asked about it, the clerk at the desk claimed no knowledge of the advertisements, even though he was standing next to a rack of leaflets saying as much. As for availability, there was clearly almost no-one in the hostel the entire time we were there. The staff ranged from unhelpful to downright hostile. One of the beds in the room clearly had some sort of dried vomit on it. On the bright side, there was a television in the room and the shower was excellent.
Altogether, though, an awful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 747R2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Main disappointment was it's not as close to the station as I expected it to be- there's about a 10 minutes walk, which is not short when travelling with luggage...
Other than that the room was comfortable, the crowd is young and there's a rooftop bar!
I think i had trouble with the Internet connection in the room, but it was fine in the llobby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EllieS237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We, a family of 2 adults and 4 children, visited this hostel/hotel in september 2013.
To start with - the first impression is very much hostel-like, the entrance, the lobby etc. But if you can cope with that you will get very good value for money.
We had booked a family room for ourselves, and that contained of 1 doublebed for us parents, and 3 bunk beds. All in all beds for 8 persons. Very comfy beds and a lot of space! The room (nr 268) was spotless clean and had a tv. The view from the room was kind of boring but you can't get everything.

The hostel is just a 5-10 minute walk down to the main railwaystation, so it's very well situated. Another 5 minutes walk you're at Brandenburger Tor. Perfect! We arrived by car and there were never any problems finding a parkingspace at night during our 3 nights stay.

One downside was that there was really no places at all to have a coffe/snack/dinner/lunch just outside the hostel/hotel. A bit boring as those kind of places often creates a nice vibe. On the other hand - as I said, it's only a 5-10 minutes walk down to the station we're you will find everything you need.

All in all - great value for money! We paid approx 75 euros per night for our family room, and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Are you a big family? Try room 268. It's a familyroom containing 8 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anderssjolin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#84 of 634 in Berlin
940 reviews
Moabit
IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Property: A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Address: Lehrter Str. 12-15, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o Berlin Hauptbahnhof
a&o Berlin Hauptbahnhof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing