We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
Ranked #174 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Holon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The hotel is located right next to Mauerpark, so on Sundays it's a very short walk to the flea market.
Furthermore, there's a tram station within 50 meters of the hotel, that takes you either to the nearby U-bahn station (U Bernauer) or Eberswalder str, which is filled with pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0shiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    116
    35
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
58
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Me and my family stayed in this hotel on April 5-8, 2012. I chose this hostel over those more expensive hotels because of the good review. This is the first time I stayed on a budget hotel but I must say, I was not disapointed. The room was very clean, modern, has a bath tub (which my son enjoyed a lot). The room in a short description is -- simple but nice. I've read reviews saying the room is too small... But in our case It was spaceous. The bed was a bit hard but I thought It's fine as most of the day we are out exploring Berlin. If you're planning to stay most of your time in the hotel, then this place is NOT for you.

There is a free wifi on the lobby. It is a short walk from Bernauer Strasse and so It is very accessible to U-bahn and S-bahn. It is approximately 5-6 minutes walk to Berlin wall. If you don't want to eat at the hotel, you just need to go out and there are numerous restaurants and pubs to eat within the area. The area is also safe even late night.

There is sunday market just across the street which is awesome. Over all, we are happy with our stay in this place and will definitely stay here again :)

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Keziahloris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

The place is well-located in the historical district with an easy access to the u-tube, tram and s-bahn; great choice of affordable pubs, clubs and restaurants nearby lets you feel the city's buzzling. Rooms offer limited space for your luggage so travel light. Hotel, as many previously have mentioned, is very, very clean and fresh with spotless bedsheets and facilities. Book your room high to admire the beautiful horizon over the area. One of the main disadvantages is lack of proper bar/pub inside, the other is lack of hair drayers or TV/radios in the rooms. Instead you are offered the 24-hour free connection to the internet in the common room which becomes problematic when other guests are having there party on the spur of the moment. The lobby is just too small to cater for everybody.

Room Tip: Choose your room high on the 5th floor or 6th, far from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agata H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I stayed for 3 nights in December on a cheap flight+hotel deal. The room was modern and very clean. As mentioned by others, it seems to be aimed at younger travellers so there are not really any frills (TV/kettle/etc), though towels are provided. I think it compares very favourably with budget hotels I have been to in terms of cleanliness and fittings. The beds are a little hard but I found them comfortable. There is internet available in the lobby and you can pay for wifi in your room. Staff were very helpful and spoke good English. Didn't try the breakfast but it looked decent. There is not much in terms of restaurants in the immediate area but the hotel is located on the tram line, a few minutes walk from the U-bahn station and is within ~15 mins walk of what you could consider to be 'central' Berlin. The area seemed pretty safe after dark. Overall, I would say this is a very good option for a place to stay in Berlin on a budget, for someone who wants to spend their time exploring the city and then come back in the evening to sleep in a pleasant, comfortable room. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Hotel 4 Youth am Mauerpark is good alternative if you look for a cheap but good hotel. The atmosphere is relaxed, and you get what you need - a room, bathrom and breakfast (5 euro extra). The hotel building is new, and it's clean and nice. This hotel have to problemes - one big and one small: The small one first: It's a litle bit noicy when you have your breakfast. My biggest concern was the beds - they were just to hard and uncomfortable. If they just could fix the beds, I wouldn't have any problem recommending Hotel 4 Youth am Mauerpark.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sualk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Ok,

So i have only stayed in two places in berlin, so I can't really write that much of a comparative review - but let me say that the other place was indeed a Hostel, not a 'Hotel', and there is a big difference between the two - unless you stay at this hotel right here.

On the plus side, the location for sightseeing Prenzlaurberg, its amazing sunday market, the stadium or the north of Mitte is superb. It really is right on the doorstep of the zone, in an area surprisingly lacking in places to stay.

BUT

It's simply not a hotel. The rooms, while spotless and new, provide the bare minimum, with no TV, kettle, or even cups. Added to this, there are are certain rooms that have doors between them and the next for larger parties, which would be fine if it weren't for the noise from the next room which, assuming it's not a friend of yours, is hugely annoying.

AND MOST INFURIATINGLY

The staff. I'm sorry, but contrary to other reviewers, we found them to be grumpy, unwilling to acknowledge us at the desk and incapable of fulfilling even the most basic requests. Often they seemed put out to be asked for anything.

Maybe it was a bad time for them - but when i asked for a taxi to be booked, they said they would do it, but did not. At night (11pm), i went to ask for two cups of tea to take to our room, and the young man behind the counter said he didn't really want to make us them as he was drinking his own! I jokingly said "oh sorry, don't worry", to which he sighed, shrugged his shoulders and proceeded to make the tea (pouring hot water into a cup) like a grumpy teenager. It's not me being tetchy either - the bar/cafe is advertised as 24 hour service, so that's what i expected.

And most infuriatingly, we were accused of having breakfast when we did not, and the staff clearly didn't believe us. Now, perhaps some other guest had pretended to be from our room - cheeky - but there was no chance that the staff believed us. They practically demanded we pay 40 Euros (it's 20 per person, steep?) and it was only when we stood our ground that they backed down.

Now, all of this might seem like tittle tattle, but the air of the place (at this time) was one of indifference to visitors, and we weren't so much welcomed as 'processed. They didn't say hello, goodbye or even ask how the trip was.

This would be fine at the most basic hostel - although i might be doing those a disservice - but not somewhere that charges what are to be fair hotel rates. And calls itself one to boot.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room high up, for great views - but without a door between you and the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likeanoilwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Basic hotel for people that only need a place to crush in after a day of exloring a very interesting city, namely Berlin. Fresh, clean, excellent location right on the spot where the Wall once stood. Recommended !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreiBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Kastanienhof
Hotel Kastanienhof
#142 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#240 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#398 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#287 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
1A Apartment Guesthouse and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth

Property: H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
Address: Bernauer Str. 45-46, 13507 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in to Berlin's exciting story... The Hotel4Youth am Mauerpark, Berlin Mitte in the hip Berlin city district is located on the former border stripe of the Berlin Wall, right in the opposite of the legendary and famous Mauerpark. Built and opened in August 2010 our hotel offers fresh and modern comfort for your stay. Get close to exciting history and check in to Europe's TOP TEN Hostel* for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing