We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just dreadful service.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Ranked #122 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just dreadful service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Checked in late evening. They only had a rather smelly smoking room left, even though I had booked a non smoking room. No apologies, just that it was tough. I eventually ended up on a non smoking disabled room. no issues with that orher than it was such a battle - in fact these rooms are often more spacious. Ordered some room service that took so long to come they eventually gave it to me for free. The club sandwich that I then ate gave me food poisoning so I ended up spending most of the early hours making use of the spacious bathroom! Give it a miss, they don't deserve your cash.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoplantpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    756
    232
    52
    33
See reviews for
215
620
67
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Pros:

Good location, close to Alexanderplatz and many amenities. Modern hotel and comfortable room.Very good sound insulation. Friendly staff. Good underground parking and check out time. Hotel from the same group next door offer a 24h bar with drinks and snacks.

Cons:

The room was clean, but not totally clean on the toilet floor. A lot of scratches on the wall of the room. Breakfast finishes at 10:30 and 1 minute later you cant even get a juice or a coffee (they remove and turn off everything). Very tight place for the breakfast. Bar does not open on Sunday and they cant serve late cocktails even if the bar is still open. Staff is friendly but a bit confused and they are not too flexible (except the one that did my check in, she was great asking me my preferences for the room). Parking is really expensive, 20 Euros.

Room Tip: Rooms have a good insulation, but prefer the ones on the higher floors, specially the ones facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonardoMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation at H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear LeonardoMG,
thank you for your feedback and your hints. Only this way we are able to improve our service.
Please be assured that we handle every feedback seriously and that we already forwarded it to the appropriate persons.
We hope you give us the chance to prove our service to you during your next stay with us.
Your Team of the RAMADA Hotel Berlin-Alexanderplatz // Jeannine Apel – Online Reputation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meise, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed two days at the Ramada in Berlin Alexanderplatz for a weekend trip.

The hotel is clean and has everything you need. Comfortable rooms, spa, gym, a nice breakfast buffet etc..
.
However there is nothing special about this hotel either. The staff do their job but nothing more, the rooms have little inspiration, ...

All in all it is OK but it doesn't get you exited.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel is straightforward, well managed, with a responsive desk staff (English and German at least) and very nice breakfast included. Rooms are not large, but perfectly clean and comfortable, HVAC works like it should & the windows open. Location is great for the museum island, other former East Zone attractions, and 150 meters from the last stop of the TXL bus line that runs directly to/from Tegel airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuho45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel looks great and what a fantastic location - just some of the reasons we chose it for our extremely quick stop in Berlin at the start of August. My partner and I were travelling separately around Europe and arranged to meet in Berlin. With only 13 hours together, we knew we would be short on time, so we picked a hotel that we knew was in a convenient location and close to the event that we were scheduled to attend that night.

Unfortunately, on arrival we were told that the hotel was overbooked and that we would have to be moved to another hotel. You can imagine my disappointment (admittedly fuelled by tiredness and an 8 hour longing for a nap!) when the other hotel staff along the desk continued to check in other customers. We had arrived just at the check in time and I couldn't understand why we were the ones chosen to move.

We didn't kick up a fuss though, mainly because the receptionist, observing my teary eyes (again, tired!) quickly defended the move and said that we'd get a much bigger room and better facilities at the new hotel. What's more - the other hotel was only 5 minutes away.

Well, after 15 minutes in a taxi we ended up on the other side of Berlin, checking into a different Ramada hotel. Our room was a complete box room - there is no way that this was any bigger than any other hotel room in the world! It was furnished to a very nice standard and of course came with all the comfort you should expect from a Ramada hotel.

The problem with the new locations, was that after our event that night we had to take 2 u bahn trains and a 6 euro taxi back to our hotel. As wise travellers, we knew where we needed to be. We knew exactly our time scale. And unfortunately our experience on this occasion was really ruined by this unexpected move.

On check out I was asked if I'd had any of the 'extras' in the room such as peanuts. I don't expect to have to pay for peanuts when they are left on a tray with no price list. Especially after moving hotels. It is this kind of thing which ruins these big chain hotel companies. I used to hold the Ramada chain in high esteem.

After traveling through Europe all summer and staying in various hotels, I have concluded that I will not stay in a Ramada again. To be herded around like that, with very little in the way of an apology or any sort of upgrade/discount is just not a pleasant experience. Of course, mistakes happen - we gave lots of allowance for this by being the quiet and patient customers...

Hotels need to realise a little more that moves like this can affect a customer's stay in a huge way. :(

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation at H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Sam C.,
first of all thank you for taking the time for your feedback.
We would like to apologize for the incident and the resulting inconveniences. On the one hand for the transfer itself and on the other hand, that your room preferences were not passed to the new hotel and therefore were not considered.
We have already discussed this matter with the staff and we will continue to sensitize them to avoid this kind of situation in the future.
We would like to apologize once again in due form and know that we are unfortunately not able to undo your experience.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to change your mind regarding our service and our house at your next stay in Berlin.
Your team of the RAMADA Hotel Berlin-Alexanderplatz / / Jeannine Apel - Online Reputation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Lovely hotel in the heart of Berlin near to all the main museums and tourist attractions,close to the u bahn , s bahn station and bus stops,DAY TRAVEL TICKET 10 euros for 5 people for unlimited travel great value.Rooms are spacious,showers are very good,staff are well trained speak exellent english and are very helpful and friendly,decided to eat out as the food in Berlin is very good

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TellMassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel, in good location. Could not fault the cleanliness.Reception very smart and welcoming reception and cleaning staff. Rooms very smart although on the small side.
On the down side catering staff were not that helpful and a couple were even rude in the dining area. Not enough staff in this area, tables not cleaned off, and some mornings difficult to find somewhere to sit.. Breakfast should have been until 10:30 but they start clearing the tables at 10.00am. This is the first hotel where I would rate the breakfast as poor. the only hotel I have visited where no bacon or tomatoes are available. Only 1 toaster for about 100 people. Also we booked a room with breakfast included and every morning of our 5 night stay we were told we had not booked in and they would have to check later. Seems to be no communication between staff and lists are incorrect. No refrigerator in room. Pillows very soft that they were almost non existent. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME IN OVER 30 YEARS TRAVELLING THAT I FEEL THE NEED TO RATE AN AVERAGE AND MAKE A LIST OF SO MANY THING THAT ARE WRONG.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorob1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation at H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear jorob1313,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We regret to hear that you could not enjoy your stay as expected and that you experienced our staff as rude. We are aware of the size of the breakfast room. So our staff will always be of your assistance to make your breakfast as comfortable as possible. In general you can always feel free to tell us about your special wishes. Our service and kitchen staff will try to fulfill them.
A minibar is available in our junior suites and suites. Chilled drinks can be purchased around the clock at our bar or in the adjoining hub. For your next reservation do not hesitate to contact us directly. We would be pleased to be of your assistance to find the matching room for you..
Nevertheless we hope that you could enjoy your stay in Berlin and that we may welcome you again to change your mind regarding our service.
Your team of the RAMADA Hotel Berlin-Alexanderplatz // Jeannine Apel – Online Reputation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
#174 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Property: H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 32, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Formerly RAMADA Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Berlin: We will spoil you with wonderful 4 star luxury and 337 comfortable bedrooms and suites right on Alexanderplatz square. Experience close up one of Berlin's most significant public spaces and discover all of the attractions on foot. The 1600 m2 conference area is the largest on Alexanderplatz. We have a fitness and wellness zone, an attractive restaurant in the hotel including a cozy lounge and a separate smoker's room, as well as the "Destille" hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing