We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Ranked #129 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is extremely well situated for exploring Berlin, by foot or public transport. The room was of a good size and the bed comfortable. The en-suite was also of a good size and had the added bonus of an almost separate toilet. Everything was extremely clean and there were also tea/coffee making facilities. The only downside is that it did not have a table in the room making it difficult to eat if room service is ordered. The room had enough space to accommodate a small table.

All the staff I came into contact with were extremely pleasant and helpful and had a very good command of the English language.

The thing that I found quite annoying was breakfast time: the breakfast room was extremely small for the number of guests the hotel accommodates and as such, and despite trying to have breakfast at different times, it was always difficult to get a table and then for every item one wanted to eat one had to queue.

On the same note the reception desks are also few and it was very difficult to find a time when there wasn't a queue - quite annoying if all you want is to ask for the wi-fi password!

The same goes for the size of the lounge area in the foyer. Again hugely inadequate for the size of the hotel and very difficult to find a space to seat in at any time. To add insult to injury, on my last day, I had to check out by 12 noon but as my flight was not till later in the afternoon. I had some time to kill and as I needed to do some work I hoped to be able to seat in the lounge area. Unfortunately the foyer was completely taken over by some sort of conference and delegates which meant none of the hotel guests could use it. I eventually found a seat round the back in a sort of corridor by the kitchen and restaurant with people incessantly coming through, not to mention the cooking smell from the kitchen! Not very acceptable for a 4* hotel in the centre of a modern city! For the breakfast room, reception and foyer problems I have awarded the 'average' mark. Otherwise it would have been very good or excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoBloggs771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Manager at H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us. We are delighted that rating the room facilities and services would have been very good or even excellent.
Of course, it is a shame that in the public areas you have felt so restricted that it affects your review this much.
We would be glad if the great location of the hotel, the sense of wellbeing in the rooms and the pleasant and helpful service of our staff outweigh, so that you would choose our hotel again.

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Berlin-Alexanderplatz //
Kessrin Heusel – Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

we loved this hotel. Very nice staff, nice big rooms, with great bed and bathroom. Music in the bathroom. location is very good, in the centrum and close to the s- and u- bahn. It was clean and the atmosphere was great. nice food in their restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Manager at H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Julia,
Thank you so much for evaluating us as fabulous. We are very glad that you loved staying at our hotel as well as in this convenient area.
We are looking forward to see you again very soon.

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Berlin-Alexanderplatz //
Kessrin Heusel – Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Nice central hotel with accomodating and friendly staff. Just a minute walk from the Hofbräuhaus and a few minutes walk from a few really tasty restaurants (Las Olas - delicious Spanish tapas and Der Alte Fritz - authentic German). We were on the 8th floor so we were impervious to any outside noise and on the same floor as the spa/fitness centre.

The room was a bit on the smaller side but it was nicely equipped with flatscreen tv, storage space, desk, chairs, and a safe. The bathroom was clean and very modern with a separate room and privacy door for the toilet which I like. Our room had a stand-up shower only, no tub.

The bed was a bit on the harder side and the pillows were shockingly on the soft feathery side. I'm used to a firmer pillow but after night one was able to adjust.

The breakfast is 15 Euro per person and offers just about everything you'd expect - cereals, breads, eggs, pancakes, sausages, yogurt, fresh and dried fruits, seeds, sliced meats, juices, coffee, tea. It can get really busy in the mornings for breakfast and can seem a bit frenetic but there's plenty of seating and whatever food offerings that dwindle are quickly replaced.

All-in-all a great stay in Berlin. I'd stay at this hotel again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccottino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel for a city trip.
The rooms are nice and clean.
There is a small fitness centre which is nice.
Breakfast is good too.
Staff is nice and helpful.
The hotel is located near Alexanderplatz.
Would stay In this again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maajaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

even though it's not an expensive hotel, it's quite fancy and absolutely deserved the 4 star it has.
the rooms are well decorated and clean, a bit small but enough for our needs.
the concierge was so helpful and nice, and we enjoyed come back to the hotel every evening after travelling the whole day. we were in the mid of the winter but the air conditioning was excellent - the optimal temperature.
the location is great because it's near alexanderplatz and you have a lot of lines of buses and train there so it's convenient, but in the evening we felt we didn't have much places to go by foot. the nearby places was very touristic and not felt german at all.
above all, i enjoy my stay and will consider to come back because the excellent price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed only one night at the Ramada in Berlin and we choose this hotel due to the lower price. I was a bit concerned when booking, but upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised. This hotel is really great. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. The rooms seemed very new and were large enough for two people with two large bags. The only thing I could fault was that the check-in process took far too long due to the amount of people waiting in line.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Lux 11
Lux 11
#211 of 635 in Berlin
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 32 | Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 32, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Formerly RAMADA Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £63 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Berlin: We will spoil you with wonderful 4 star luxury and 337 comfortable bedrooms and suites right on Alexanderplatz square in our H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz. Experience close up one of Berlin's most significant public spaces and discover all of the attractions on foot. The 1600 m2 conference area is the largest on Alexanderplatz. We have a fitness and wellness zone, an attractive restaurant in the hotel including a cozy lounge and a separate smoker's room, as well as the "Destille" hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing