We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough, but some things can be improved.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Ranked #39 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good enough, but some things can be improved.”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

For the price we paid, this was a really nice hotel, clean and modern, and in a nice part of town. We stayed for a week to do a city break seeing the sights in Berlin, and for this purpose it was fine. I did wonder, if the hotel is more geared-up to the needs of business people rather than tourists though.

A few things I do feel need to be improved:

1) The breakfast quality was lacking. The fruit juices are dire, and they were frequently running-out of things like croissants, rolls and bread. The hotel is very busy, and there were not enough seats for guests at breakfast time.

2) There is no milk in the room for making tea and coffee and there is no safe in the room.

3) The room had no drawers or cupboards for storage, which is more important if you are staying for several nights.

Apart from these things, there were lots of good points, the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The toiletries in the bathroom were nice, and the room was very well soundproofed. We did not hear the trains. The U-Bahn is very close by, which makes the hotel convenient for getting anywhere in Berlin.

Other tips for tourists:

1) Buy a 7 day travel ticket from one of the machines at the airport when you arrive. You can then use this for your transfer into the city centre, and also for unlimited travel on buses, U-Bahn, S Bahn and trams

2) Capones, and El Dorado are nice restaurants on the ku'damm just round the corner from the hotel.

3) Topography of Terror, and the Berlin Wall Memorial are free to see, and very informative. Checkpoint Charlie is a bit tacky, and the museum is expensive, and very hot! It is well worth a visit to the disused Tempelhof airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellercardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    909
    149
    25
    12
See reviews for
502
805
225
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

I have only good things to say about this hotel.

Location is great, close to Kurfürstendamm. Savignyplatz and Uhlandsstrasse stations are close by, so it is very easy to get to other parts of the city.

We stayed in a twin room facing the rail tracks. No problem though since the windows blocks out almost all noise. Room had everything we needed including a kettle and tea and coffee. Good size bathroom with a nice shower.

The included breakfast is very good. There is a lot to choose from, hot or cold.

Staff at reception are excellent and does a great job making you feel welcome.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Having stayed in this hotel in 2011 for 10+ nights, I gave this hotel "full score". Due to short-term changes in my traveling plans I revisited the Hampton Berlin for a short stay. What a pleasure! The staff still were as friendly, motivated and accommodating as I have encountered the year before. Some were still there, some were new. Amazingly the hotel did not show any signs of tiredness although it seems to be very frequented.
I am just glad having been back to this well managed hotel with its guest oriented staff. Again I felt at home there right away.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall U.K.
Level Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I've just had three nights at this hotel and I'm bound to say it ticks nearly all the boxes. Rooms are modern, with comfy beds, reasonably reliable free wifi, a state of the art t.v., air con that is effective but quiet, tea and coffee making facilities and a clock/radio that had the German version of Classic f.m. as one of the pre set channels. The bathroom was also excellent with a large shower that is nearly as good as the one back home. Lots of nice toiletries, too, but these were attached to the wall and were not therefore 'stealable'!
Breakfast is really good and for once the cooked options were not simply the token gesture one often finds in foreign hotels. The fruit juices were fairly ghastly, though (others have commented on this).
One major issue, however, is the noise from the S bahn tracks that run down one side of the hotel. Heavy sleepers won't find this a problem but it was for me. The hotel staff, who were helpful throughout, did move me to a much quieter room on my second day. I calculate that roughly half the rooms in this hotel would be subject to this noise, so if it's a possible issue for other potential guests a phone call to the hotel at the time of booking is advisable. It would certainly not prevent me returning to this hotel. The hotel is a five minute walk to Savignyplatz S bahn station (about four or five major lines go through this station). A taxi to the airport is about 35-40 euros whereas the S bahn is 3 euros. The latter is more tedious of course but only minutes slower if you get the right connections.
All in all it's hard to see how this hotel could be bettered.

Room Tip: I eventually had room 331 which was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian&Moira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was a great deal, €175 for 3 nights including good breakfast, 200 metres from the metro in a well to do area.
The hotel is modern and very clean, the room was more like I've seen in good 4* hotels.
Staff were very accomodating, I'd recommend renting a bike from the hotel and exploring the west side of Berlin, the Tiergarden and Zoo are nearby.
Only downside is location from city centre, give yourself at least 30 mins to reach Alexanderplatz by metro and 90 mins to reach Schonenfeld airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway line, they will accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treblecle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
342 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

7 storeys, 210 rooms, new, bright and modern hotel, right in the center of town,200m from trainstation (S-bahn) and underground (U-bahn), 200m from kurfurstendam. We booked a standard double room 3 nights for 92 euro/night, including breakfast at booking.com. Carparking = 15 euro per day, only 15 cars allowed … but other covered parkings nearby.
Our room was bright, clean and spacious enough (+-26m²) , good airco, no fridge, flatscreen TV. Free Wifi. Bathroom was also clean, only shower , all amenities, iron, coffeemaker, coffee and tea provided. Comfortable bed(not too soft, not stone hard), crispy sheets and pillows. Good breakfast buffet in modern restaurant. Friendly staff.
Concerning the train next to the hotel : don’t worry about the noise … our room 224 was just beside the tracks and we had no problem at all (but keep your window closed).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahus, Sweden
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Friendly straff, very good location and high quality rooms. Only thing was that the double beds were small and hard, bathrooms very nice and breakfast good but a bit "small".

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ecbj-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#37 of 634 in Berlin
1,772 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,592 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#20 of 634 in Berlin
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#53 of 634 in Berlin
4,271 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West

Property: Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Address: Uhlandstrasse 188-189, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Berlin
#38 Family Hotel in Berlin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Berlin City West Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing