We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum has confusing structure”

The Story of Berlin
Book In Advance
More Info
US$11.96*
and up
The Story of Berlin Entrance Ticket
Ranked #119 of 1,041 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: THE STORY OF BERLIN is the interactive museum of the capital. Spread over 6.000 square meters visitors can explore 800 years of Berlin history. In 23 theme rooms – each of them designed individually and equipped with modern multimedia technology – everyone can experience everyday life of the people of Berlin during different eras. One highlight of the exhibition is a guided tour through an original nuclear bomb shelter from the Cold War below the Kurfurstendamm which still can be used by 3.592 persons in case of an emergency. We offer a special search game called "Pinky & Fox". Carrying a pencil and the treasure map, kids go on a discovery tour through the museum. On request older children get our STORY-Quiz leaflet with some puzzle games and thrilling details about the Berlin history.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We visited our first day in Berlin, so it may be that we were a bit excited and tired, but the structure of the museum was fairly confusing. An attempt at a narrative of the history took us many different directions to get the timeline right, and as someone with a passing knowledge of Berlin history I wasn't quite able to fill in the gaps to really learn.
The bunker tour in english, however, was very good. The guide was informative and gave us plenty of time to look at the things she was describing, and was able to answer questions, albeit a bit slower because of the language barrier. She was a very good guide.

Thank CeiridwenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THE_STORY_OF_BERLIN, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Story of Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Ceiridwen F,
Thank you for your review. Our museum shows the history of Berlin chronological - from the foundation in the Middle Age to the Fall of the Berlin Wall. We have a new guidance system and all visitors get a map on the cashier desk an a short explanation how the museum works. Maybe you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bunker tour"
in 84 reviews
"nuclear bomb shelter"
in 16 reviews
"cold war"
in 57 reviews
"sound effects"
in 8 reviews
"interactive museum"
in 12 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 8 reviews
"middle ages"
in 7 reviews
"per adult"
in 6 reviews
"great museum"
in 15 reviews
"two hours"
in 12 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 21 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 8 reviews
"world war"
in 8 reviews
"english tour"
in 5 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 9 reviews
"rainy day"
in 5 reviews
"atomic"
in 19 reviews
Filter

60 - 64 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

There have been many additions since eighteen months ago, making this museum worth a visit to find out as much as possible about old and modern Berlin in one place. German school children come here too.
I was personally particularly interested in the tour of the nuclear bunker and there is an inclusive guide who takes you through this, with set meeting times for either English, French or german speaking groups throughout the day, and you are let back in to finish off the personal tour of the museum afterwards depending whether you had seen enough yet.
It is all interactive with staged "homes" for example, train carriages, rubble, books, and such things set out to give an impression of former East German life, the horrendous traumas of the wars and the pre war conflicts too.

Thank AliceDove2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THE_STORY_OF_BERLIN, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Story of Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Alice,

Thank you so much for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

This was the first museum we visited in Berlin. The museum itself had a lot of writing which was interesting and thorough at times but was not very interactive or entertaining. We had to edit and be selective with what we read so we could get around the place. The bunker tour however was very good though i would've liked some more general information about the cold ware prior as it's not something that I saw much of in the museum or had previously looked into. Our tour guide's English wasn't too good which made asking questions a bit awkward.

Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THE_STORY_OF_BERLIN, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Story of Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

this is a very informative and interesting exhibition.........think there are another 2 of similar things but I would say this is top notch.....it covers a wide range of the historical significance of the city as it developed and expanded over many years.........definitely worth a look.......

Thank sanmiguelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THE_STORY_OF_BERLIN, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Story of Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Well put together informative museum that has a wide variety of presentation styles that give the interesting history of Berlin across time

Thank Touringmuso8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THE_STORY_OF_BERLIN, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Story of Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Story of Berlin also viewed

 

Been to The Story of Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing