We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you're used to high-quality entertainment”

Wintergarten Variete
Ranked #18 of 118 Concerts & Shows in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wintergarten Berlin: Music, Variety, Show – entertaining, charming and diversified. Meret Becker or the Tiger Lillies, Max Raabe or Eckart von Hirschhausen, newcomers or international stars of the variety scene: this is where the world meets in a unique atmosphere of mirrors, wood, dark red velvet and the legendary starry sky.“Europe’s most beautiful Variety”, a “Jewel among varieties”, “Berlin’s probably most beautiful theatre” – these are the superlatives used by the press to talk about the beauty of the Wintergarten.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Reviewed 8 October 2013

However, do go if you're a fan of (apparent) amateurs trying their best and having a go. Remember, though, that you will pay 50 Euros for the pleasure. In my mind, this venue is very much aiming for the tourist market.

1  Thank ricky_rumour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

21 - 25 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

We saw Forever Young on March 30th and enjoyed the performance! It seemed like the performers enjoyed it as well and interacted with the audience. A theatre with tradition.

Thank tetajela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We went to the magic show here in January on the recommendation of the concierge of our hotel. What a mistake. What a ripoff. The tables are tiny and people were trying to eat while the show was on. We weren't sitting together (opposite sides of a small table with four other people eating around us: two empty seats meant that we weren't sitting on top of each other). The place is smelly and the toilets are disgusting. If you have £60 to throw away then you might enjoy the show as it was unbelievably awful and amateur.

1  Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintergarten, Geschäftsführer at Wintergarten Variete, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Wintergarten visitor,
thank you for your feedback to our show on 1-28-2013. We hope for your understanding with regard to our late answer.
We are deeply sorry that you didn´t enjoy your visit at Wintergarten.
Basically, it is one of the unique features of variety shows and theatres that it is possible to eat and drink during the whole show. In fact, this is why most of our visitors choose to watch a show at Wintergarten.
We are also very sorry that you were not satisfied with your seats in our theatre. The Wintergarten is authorized to offer seats even for 600 guests at 6 tables per row and 9 seats per table officially. Perhaps you have not noticed it, but we have only 8 seats instead of 9 per table and only 5 tables per row, this providing a more comfortable situation for our guests than you would find in most other variety theatres. Our tables are amongst the largest in our business.
We regretfully agree with you that in January we had some bad problem with our sanitary system, and unfortunately it took us some days to identify the source of it – a broken pipe inside one of the building walls. This has been fixed in the meantime.
As for the show, we had more than 30.000 visitors in 12 weeks, and none of them evaluated it as being “awful” or “amateur” – on the contrary, most people explicitly liked the show very much just as it was.
However, we have to acknowledge the fact that you were not satisfied with your visit here, and we will thoroughly discuss your remarks and suggestions internally in order to improve our performance.
As we do not want you to have lasting bad impressions of the Wintergarten, we would like to ask you to get in contact with us personally to invite you for another visit to the Wintergarten on the occasion of one of your future stays in Berlin.
Please contact us under 030 588 43 40 or info@wintergarten-berlin.de
Thank you very much and kind regards from your
Wintergarten Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

A great show and variete. Extremely good artist and a great show. A charming place with good ambience, good food and all in all a good experience. Beware that food not included in price and that one ought to be there (1900) 1 hour before show starts at 2000, if You are going to take dinner also.

2  Thank MonsterDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We saw the show “Made in Berlin” and liked it very much. Talented artists and great choreography. We bought the show tickets, didn’t try the dinner menu. They also have a discount for Welcome Card holders. You don’t need to think twice, it was awesome.

Thank Demeter_Izm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wintergarten Variete also viewed


Been to Wintergarten Variete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing