We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would come back any time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Bristol
Ranked #160 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Would come back any time”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We spent a week at the Kempinski Bristol Hotel. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, all staff friendly and helpful. Excellent service. It is in one of the best locations of the city with good transport from Kurfuerstendamm to all places of interest. Alternatives to the buffet breakfast are offered in the 'Kaffeehaus' with 'a la carte' breakfast choices, small cafes nearby offer a reasonable breakfast and the 6th floor of the department store 'Karstadt' became our favourite start of each day. There is a direct bus connection from the stop near the hotel to airport Tegel at minimal cost. We had a splendid week in Berlin, with plenty to see and do, which did not deplete the bank account, and we will come again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellers088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    606
    277
    106
    60
See reviews for
217
624
118
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I stayed here with a friend for a weekend in Berlin. Our experience started positively as the foyer was nice. After getting to the room we realised we had been duped as they do have modern rooms but we certainly weren't provided one. It smelt very musty and stale, we complained and a lady arrived and poured strong bleach in all the plug holes - this made the room smell even worse. We changed rooms to another shabbily decorated stale room. This room had no air conditioning and was very hot! We complained again to be told if we paid more money we would get an air con room! This not a good hotel as they refused to upgrade despite having air con rooms free!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simian03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Spending the last 5 days in Berlin at Kempinski leaves me with a mixed feeling about the hotel...! I booked this hotel mainly due to the location and the pool as we had our 2 years old son with us. The location is fine, - however the pool and wellness area was closed for renovation. No information was given, at the time of booking, no information was given at the time of check in, and there were no information in the room about the closure. So it was a little hard for me to explain it to my son when we stood in our "speedos" infront of a closed pool.
It was really poor service from the hotels side, and I was really surprised over the lack of information. I travel alot around the world with my job, and I have never been mis-informed in that way in even a 3 star hotel.
When I asked in the reception about the lack of information, the guy at the desk just started looking at the internet and tried to see if there were any information on the webside, - which is still today not the case!!! then he called the sales dept. to find out why it was not there. Then he claimed that it was on my booking confirmation, which again was not the case. Only after this bla bla bla... he offered us to go to the pool at another hotel, 15 min. away. Well, it was an fine offer but just not what you are after with a small child, and absolutely not what I had booked and expected.
The room - a superiour - was of a good size, but the smell in the bathroom was unbelievable. It smelled like there was a direct connection to the sewer, and only after complaining 2 days in a row, they managed to do anything about it. So the smell changed from sewer to an Over dose of mouth wash.
The Breakfast buffet at the price of 25 Euro was OK, but not more than that, compared to the service and food offerings you can get at other 4 and 5 stars hotels arond the world. And 25 Euro is absolutely in the high end.
So in conclusion - will I go back to Kempinski in Berlin? Most likely not
Its a good hotel, but with the lack of information, the smell in the rooms and the price level, it must be possible to find a better hotel in Berlin.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OleJust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Not a lot of noise in the rooms, good beds and decent minibar. The rooms are nice and clean, but the interior seems a bit old, but well taken care of. They do have som newly decotrated rooms, but add around 50 euros per night. The swimmingpool and sauna is nice. The hotel lies on Kürfurstendam, nice shopping street, but the citizens there seems a to be an older generation, wealthy area. Try the Skybar/club, amazing views by night, it is located close to the Commerz Bank. If you are looking for a young and energetic part of town, Alexander Platz is the place, moved there after three days at Kempinski.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amaze79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Lovely hotel and rooms. The staff was fluent in several languages and very helpful.
They had good tour recommendations and know the area. Breakfast was good but over priced and serivce was slow. Opt for a near by cafe. Starbucks is on the corner!
Public transportation is across the street. and the shopping is everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDDots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We were six friends who stayed at this hotel when visiting a wedding in Berlin, Midsummer 2011. When we arrived we were upgraded to suites on top floor which were fantastic.
The service was so much high class and the poolarea so relaxing. They have a nice steamsauna with eucaluptus.
And the best of all ... the breakfastbuffé with their own Kempinskichampagne.
We will definitly come back to this hotel, and can´t even think of a nother one in Berlin.
There were only one think we had in minds and that it was no free internet in such luxury hotel. Strange. Otherwise all was perfect.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

A nice hotel, very central and convenient location for bus and underground transport. Good breakfasts, clean and comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff, would stay there again when visiting Berlin.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyrkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Hotel Zoo Berlin
Hotel Zoo Berlin
#125 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#76 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Swissotel Berlin
Swissotel Berlin
#36 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Charlottenburg
Steigenberger Hotel Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Bristol

Property: Kempinski Hotel Bristol
Address: Kurfuerstendamm 27, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#89 Family Hotel in Berlin
#111 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#133 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#153 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Bristol 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the famous shopping boulevard Kurfürstendamm and within walking distance to Berlin's sights and attractions like the green heart of the city: Tiergarten park, Berlin Zoo, KaDeWe shopping center and Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church. The 246 elegant rooms and 55 luxurious suites are designed with great attention to detail and welcome guests from all over the world. Different culinary options are available to guests, at the "Reinhard's at Kurfürstendamm", the gourmet restaurant "Kempinski Grill", the "Gobelin Halle" and the "Bristol Bar", one of the ten most elegant bars in the city. For relaxation, guests can enjoy the generous sp area which offers a 18-metre-pool, sauna, steam bath, mini-gym and a pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing