We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but not overwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Bristol
Ranked #159 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but not overwhelming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

You expect more for your 4 star rating, it has everything you need and most importantly is clean, but staff seemed disinterested and overall it lacked the wow factor. Right next to train track and is on a the famous ku'dam do pręty miody by night but we found The location great as everything you need is on the doorstep

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosa_erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    602
    274
    103
    60
See reviews for
215
616
116
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tean
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is in a great location for 'first time' visitors to Berlin - right on the circular tour bus route and with an underground station very close by. The staff are charming and the service is very good. We enjoyed our breakfasts (part of the package) and also one evening meal in the bistro but there are plenty of other bars and restaurants close by. Our standard room faced the side street and it was very quiet. I would guess that the location is approximate to Regent Street/Oxford Street with excellent shopping but much calmer and more relaxed than London. I would be very happy to stay here again! Although the circular bus tour is a bit expensive (15 euros 12 seniors) it offers great views of the city with an excellent commentary & you can hop on and off for for further sightseeing &
eating and drinking.

Room Tip: Probably better value when booked as part of a package
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackbird1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent an excellent 3 nights in this hotel. It was close to the transport hub at The Zoo which helped our sight seeing immensely. The staff were efficient, friendly and very helpful, particularly the bar staff. The room was perfect for the price. We didn't eat in as it seemed a little pricey, but there was plenty going on in the neighbourhood so we didn't go hungry. This is a top-class hotel with some history. We stayed on a deal and were therefore more than pleased with our good fortune. We plan to return.

Room Tip: If they gave us cheapskates a good room, then they are probably all very acceptable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Kempinski hotel is very comfortable, has a great location and great staff. The hotel is located about 40 minutes from Berlin-Schönefeld airport by the express train, which costs €3.20 for a one way trip. The taxi fare is about €38.

The desk, door and bell staff are very courteous and helpful. I had a standard room which was quite large and comfortable on the fourth floor. The bed is large and comfortable, with a desk and comfortable chair. The room has a large TV with quite a few channels, but only a handful of channels in English, including BBC World Service, CNN and SKY News. The bathroom is also large with a shower over the bath tub - its quite a climb into the bathtub, could be a problem for guests with a disability. The bathroom amenities are also good.

So what are down sides to the room - nothing significant really, but there were a few minor things. While the shower was OK, the pressure was a little low.The carpet in the room was a bit tired and could do with a face lift. The room could also do with a kettle and some coffee/tea facilities. There was only a single power socket in the room, located under the desk - it could really do with a couple more sockets. Guests only get 15 minutes of free wifi at any one time. You can get the free wifi as many times as you need, but you have to re-register, which is a bit of a pain. I don't know why they don't just give free access for the duration of the stay. Finally, the room temperature was way too high, with no apparent way to turn it down.

Breakfast in the hotel was very good with a large selection in the buffet. You can also order specials at the table. While there seemed to be lots of table staff, the service was not very good, I had to wait ages to get my pot of tea and ended up having to order it twice. The breakfast room was nicely decorated, with large windows which let in the morning sun.

The hotel bar is also very good. The barmen are great, very friendly and entertaining. One of them does great card tricks! While there are only two beers on tap (which is surprising in Berlin) the bar has a great selection of whiskey. There is also a room where you can smoke - great to enjoy a cigar after dinner with a whiskey!

Would I stay at this hotel again, yes I would.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is well located on one of berlins finest streets staff were helpful the property is clearly in need of some investment but the main problem we experienced was the quality of the room service which was poor and I believe caused a problem for my husband compared to the two other kempinskis in Frankfurt and Munich which were excellent the Bristol needs to pick up its game

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilledsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at Kempinski Kurfurstendam on a business trip to Berlin and invited a friend to come along with me who vacationed. This hotel is older and traditional in decor but has every modern amenity. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms well appointed although I prefer to have a shower instead of a bath tub. The only issue I had was the room smelt of cigarette smoke and does the hallways. The occupants of the room next smoked and the scent came into our room, it would seem that the connecting doors do not have a seal around them to prevent this.
The front desk staff are very friendly and efficient and seemed always willing to assist, there are personnel in the lobby who always gave a warm greeting when you enter and were available to assist with any question, they spoke English very well as did most staff at the hotel.
We used the restaurant for buffet breakfast every day as it was convenient and the food was very good with a full variety menu including Champaign and espresso coffee if desired. The wait staff were excellent and very attentive and the ambiance perfect.
The location of the Kempinsski on Kurfurstendam presents an easy access to great shopping and for myself getting around on business was trouble free.
In general I was very pleased with the hotel but a serious draw back was the exorbitant cost for in-room internet service, there is an option to get 15 minutes free but the speed is frustrating slow you must purchase access to make any sense. This is the only single thing that would prevent me from returning to this hotel as high speed WiFi is now usually a free amenity in most business hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAW186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Hotel Zoo Berlin
Hotel Zoo Berlin
#134 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#72 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Swissotel Berlin
Swissotel Berlin
#34 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#35 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Charlottenburg
Steigenberger Hotel Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Bristol

Property: Kempinski Hotel Bristol
Address: Kurfuerstendamm 27, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#89 Family Hotel in Berlin
#112 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#133 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#153 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Bristol 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the famous shopping boulevard Kurfürstendamm and within walking distance to Berlin's sights and attractions like the green heart of the city: Tiergarten park, Berlin Zoo, KaDeWe shopping center and Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church. The 246 elegant rooms and 55 luxurious suites are designed with great attention to detail and welcome guests from all over the world. Different culinary options are available to guests, at the "Reinhard's at Kurfürstendamm", the gourmet restaurant "Kempinski Grill", the "Gobelin Halle" and the "Bristol Bar", one of the ten most elegant bars in the city. For relaxation, guests can enjoy the generous sp area which offers a 18-metre-pool, sauna, steam bath, mini-gym and a pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing