We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Ranked #16 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed at the Adlon for a conference in June 2012, so the rates were competitive.
Seamless check-in from the door staff through to the room. Good size room with a garden view. Only annoyance from us (and others) was that there are no tea and coffee facilities in the room and the prospect of paying €11.50 for a pot a tea in the room was too much to bear.
Helpful concierge and staff seemed ever present and able to help.
Extremely slow service of some drinks in the lobby area was immediately apologised for and no charge. They recognised that service has fallen short and dealt with it.
Breakfast has it all, from all types of fresh fruit to a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,502)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Adlon Kempinski
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,588 - 1,594 of 3,502 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

The hotel is old but renovated, rooms are beautiful and clean but it was a huge crowd at checking out and they didn't have enough people at the front desk. but what was really surprising for me was the fact that when we had to leave to the airport we discovered after checking out that the city center was blocked by an event and there were no taxi available. so we asked the concierge to order a taxi for us and he answered that he cannot order a taxi for us, we have to go outside and try to find one. we almost lost our flight trying to find a taxi. I don't think that this is normal for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Meda_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kosinlay, Manager at Hotel Adlon Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear esteemed customer,

Thank you for posting this review. Your reflected opinion is very valuable for us, as it helps us to improve our product and service. We try to offer you a great product and an outstanding service throughout your stay and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please take my sincere apologies for the mentioned issue.

You may contacts me personally at franck.droin (at) kempinski.com to give me more details about your experience with us.

I am looking forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back at the Hotel Adlon Kempinski.

Kind regards,
Franck Droin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Chose to go here, it is without doubt the finest hotel in Berlin (maybe Germany). I stay here every time I visit Berlin with work. Service level is fantastic, rooms are always fantastic, has a little problem with tourists coming off the street to gawp at it and take photographs of everything and everyone as the hotel is something of a landmark - but if you can get past that, it's fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarethBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I'm a very tough customer when it comes to hotels, but I can honestly say that everything at this one was of the highest level. The rooms and bathrooms are beautifully appointed. The staff could not have been more helpful or efficient, and the breakfasts were really delicious. The lobby reeks of old fashioned glamour and the location of the hotel is ideall. I was truly a satisfied customer.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite over looking the Unter der Linden.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masticate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

We booked 5 rooms 3 months in advance. Two couples needed to be downgraded from a delux to a standard room as the staff booked only a single room. My room was fabulous with a great view. The door is not soundproofed. You can hear everything from the floor. On my second day i wanted to take a short nap from 2 til 4 pm. The room was not cleaned yet, so i told the housekeeper to come again at 5. I did put the please dont disturb light on but the staff kept ringing the bell as they thought that i have to move to another room. I had to explain to 3 different members of staff that they are mistaken. And this every half an hour. So i coulnt sleep at all. When i came back at 2am i found a fruit basked, pralines and an apologyletter on my desk. But they didnt clean the room. And if you wish a turndown service like in every 5star house you must call the reception to let them know. They even forgott to book our sight seeing thrip.. Well. Well.. I would say less trainees and stagaires and more skilled staff could bring that fabulous hotel back on track..

I wont go there anymore and csnt recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissChris26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kosinlay, Manager at Hotel Adlon Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear esteemed customer,

Thank you for taking the time in composing this review on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your comments as they are very valuable for our daily operations. We try to provide you with an outstanding service and a wonderful product on every day of the year to make your stay remarkable and pleasant. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and did not anticipate your needs. Please take my sincere apologies for the occured inconveniences and be assured that your experince is not our standard.

I am going to talk to the respective departments to investigate further on what went wrong.

In order to do so, I kindly ask you to contact me personally at franck.droin (at) kempinski.com to give me some more insight on the above mentioned issues.

I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Franck Droin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We simply did not like this hotel. It is very big and is also some kind of a tourist attraction, so it gets very crowded everywhere. The staff is friendly, but many are not properly trained. In the Quarre restaurant they totally messed up a simple lunch order for two, wine glasses were poured full. When the senior satff discovered what happened, the took it extremely seriously, but to have amateur staff in a place like this is unbelievable. In the main lounge it took ages to get a half-cold double espresso at 7 euros!
We decided to have our dinner in the in-house "Japanese" / fusion restaurant. It was a terrible experience from beginning to end.
The junior suite we had booked was very nice, especiially the bathroom with jaccuzi and steam shower. But the room was not serviced while we were out for dinner (even if we switched on the green light).
Breakfast in restaurant Quarre is expensive, but worth it.
Compared to other Kempinski hotels this was a huge disappointment!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDtraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kosinlay, Manager at Hotel Adlon Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear esteemed customer,

Thank you for taking your precious time in writing this review. I very much appreciate your comments as they are useful to improve our service. We take pride in offering you an outstanding product on every day of the year. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to completely satisfy your needs upon your stay at the Hotel Adlon Kempinski. Please take my sincere apologies for the mentioned inconveniences.

I will get in touch with the respective departments to find out how we can train ourselves in order to improve our services.

In the meantime, you may contact me at franck.droin (at) kempinski.com to portray your experiences at the Hotel Adlon Kempinski in detail.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Adlon Kempinski.

With best regards,
Franck Droin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I was fortunate enough to stay at this hotel and though it is not my 'normal' style of hotel, I was thoroughly impressed. Upon arrival, a horde of associates are ready to help check you in. I arrived in a group and the hotel staff made the check in quick, easy and friendly. Although the hotel itself is associated with a 'upscale' crowd, the staff was not snobbish at all. We were not the typical five star guest and were nonetheless treated as if we were. The staff was friendly, classy, and extremely attentive. The rooms were insanely nice, spotless, and the whole hotel was run with a sense of pride. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,586 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#12 of 635 in Berlin
1,255 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#22 of 635 in Berlin
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £175 - £679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing