We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Ranked #17 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Fab hotel from beginning to end. Beautiful room, the bar is lovely in the evening with a pianist adding to the atmosphere. Breakfast spread was vast and delicious. Only downside was the ridiculous internet access as laid out in the previous review.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJL1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,353
    522
    174
    68
    50
See reviews for
445
1,362
177
696
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at the Adlon for 4 nights in November, and we were blown away by everything at the hotel, from the beginning to the end of our trip: the graciousness of the bellhops and front desk staff; the location (it's hard to overstate how pleasant it is to walk back home every night and be greeted by the grandeur of the Brandenburg Gate); the spaciousness and high-quality design of the Junior Suite; the fine toiletries. Some especially nice touches were the in-room steam bath and jacuzzi tub and the Schott wine glasses.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Adlon Hotel is a fantastic place to stay in a great location, with amazing history behind it. I personally read substantially about it and how it was ruined in the war and later had to be completly rebuilt, so I intentionally chose it when I booked a trip to Berlin. The stay at the hotel was great and to me it's a very close second to the Gleneagles Hotel in Scotland. The houskeeping and cleanliness is second none, they do the cleaning in the morning and then at night someone comes to turn down your bed and prepare bathrobes and towels, which is very nice. The lounge bar and the Quarre restaurants are both good and I am lead to believe that the other restaurant is even better, which is of course proved by the two-star rating it holds. The only small issue that I have is with the front-desk staff who could, in my humble opinion, improve on their hosting abilities - the girl that checked us in was one of the friendliest and no questions seemed too silly, but during our checking-out we got someone else that emitted the feeling that she could not see the back of us fast enough, which is a shame for such a lovely hotel.

I would definetly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This place has plenty of luxury on offer. But there are also a myriad of ways it falls short in customer service. High on that list is the extreme frustration in using the internet. As I sit here today I have a notepad with 4 different logon IDs and PINs for a stay of only 4 days. And I regularly have my connection and logon cancelled and have to restart it. Your standard Hilton or Marriott has an infinitely simpler internet connection system. And while breakfast is sumptuous, you have to wait a long time to receive a simple pot of coffee or refill. The waits is long, too, just for a pair of poached eggs. The eggs are presented luxuriously, which works as long as you have time to kill. On the good side, the two bartenders who prepared my martinis did an excellent job and they were always tasty. There are plenty of staff around ready to serve, but the "systems" aren't always set-up to enable them to serve you with efficiency.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John02122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kosinlay, Manager at Hotel Adlon Kempinski, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear esteemed reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion in this review. Your comments are highly appreciated as we strive to improve our daily operations. It is our utmost aim to provide you with a superior product and personal service far beyond expectations. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations while staying with us. Please accept my sincere apologies.
I kindly ask you to contact me at franck.droin (at) kempinski.com to give me some more thoughts on where we can improve our service.

Again, I thank you for this review and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski Berlin.

Kind regards,
Franck Droin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Only stayed one night but was a fantastic room. Surprised to get a steam room included as standard. The staff were all very friendly and helpful but not fake niceness. The bar prices are fairly high but this is a 5star hotel.

Would defiantly return when not working.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandHeide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have been in Berlin in November for work. Kempinski Hotel is Amazing maybe the best thing I have found in Berlin. the hotel is facing Unter den Linden and Brandenburger Tor, it is an amazing view. My room was very nice despite dust on the fram of the mirror in the bathroom. The staff was exellent, smiling and ready to give a hand at any time, but not so ready when I told them my bedspread was spotted with blood. They smiled all the time, not me, but I suppose is a rule of the kempinski.
I didn't visit all the four restaurants in the hotel but breakfast was excellent.by the way highly recomend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascona2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

As soon as we walked into the Adlon, I knew our stay would be memorable. I was awed by the gorgeous stained-glass ceiling and live music emanating from the central lobby. Instead of merely being checked in by a desk clerk, a comely young Frenchwoman quickly completed our paperwork, arranged for our luggage delivery, and escorted us to our room, providing us with a run-down of what we needed to know about our new environment. Our room was sumptuous. In fact, I wish we could redecorate our home to look like it. The bathroom, in particular, with its separate shower, dressing table, gilt ceiling, and marble walls, was enticing. I really appreciated the large flat-screen TV, heated towel racks, bathtub big enough for two, and oversized towels. The wake-up calls were punctual, and a newspaper in our language of choice arrived in a carrying case each morning. The concierge service was terrific, and I loved that as we left the hotel on a rainy morning, we were offered an umbrella for the day. A highlight for me, as a film person, was turning on the television and finding a feature-length movie by Percy Adlon, director of one of my favorite films (BAGDAD CAFE) and great-grandson of the hotel's founder, detailing the Adlon's history. Danke to the Adlon staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screenstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#3 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#13 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Property: Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#10 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing