We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Ranked #16 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is an outstanding hotel. I have never experienced the quality of service the Adlon provided - everyone you encounter is friendly, engaged and wants to be there. Being greeted by name by the doorman was an amazing feat - how did they know? Food and beverage quality and service outstanding.

The Adlon by itself, let alone all that Berlin offers, is reason enough to return to Berlin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,502)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Adlon Kempinski
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 3,502 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We arrived December 30 late in the afternoon at the Adlon and found a party in full swing in the bar in the lobby. It was a very exciting start to our 3 day stay. This is a beautiful, historic, and vibrantly energetic hotel in a very good location, close to the Brandenburg Gate, the Reichstag and the Spray River. New Year's day we took a very nice walk along the Spray river to the museum island.
But back to the hotel: the service is the shining star here. Check in was warm, welcoming and professional. Although there was a lot going on in the lobby and it was packed with people, the woman checking us in was calm and poised. This was our experience generally with all of the staff.
There was a loaf of bread, baked in the shape of a pig, and a large cured meat waiting for us in our room, and New Year's Eve we were given a bottle of Moet and Chandon.
At breakfast we were always addressed by name which was very nice. The breakfast itself was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever encountered. A full honey comb dripping fresh honey was just one of the wonderful choices. Champagne, caviar, hot cooked breakfasts and several kinds of muesli, plus dozens of other items were available every day. Breakfast was included with our room rate, so I cannot speak to the cost. We were asked to identify ourselves occasionally when returning to the hotel, but it was always done politely, and it was understandable given the location of the hotel (surrounded by embassies), and the fact that it was New Year's. Our room was elegant and modern and very clean. The bed was very comfortable with crisp sheets. Our windows were large and actually opened right up so we could get fresh air into the room. The concierge directed us to the Aigner restaurant when we asked for a German restaurant for dinner on New Year's Day. We ordered boiled beef and it was a real treat. It was a very good recommendation. The Adlon made me feel as if I were living a little bit of the Great Gatsby. New Year's Eve they brought in a full sized solid ice bar to the lobby. The wait staff were dressed in tails. Guests were dressed in full length gowns and tuxedos. There was a little decadence in the air. The one thing that didn't work very well was the internet access. I eventually gave up trying because that was not how I wanted to spend my precious time in Berlin.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were upgraded as we booked through Expedia. We got a good deal through Expedia and paid around the same for this deal as a previous trip to Berlin in April where we stayed at the 4* NH Mitte.
The only slight flaw was that the carpet in our room was worn slightly. Other than that, the stay was excellent.

Room Tip: Try not to use the mini bar, 7.5 euros for a 200 cl soft drink.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It was our second time to Berlin but first time to stay at Adlon Kempinski last October, and we stayed there for four nights. Before my husband and I got to Berlin, I did some search as to which hotel to book during our stay in Berlin. Originally, we were afraid that the quality will not meet the pricy room rates, but we were happy to make the right decision, because the overall conditions and environment didn't fail our expectations. The hotel is at great location .It is just a few steps to take subway , and next to famous Brandenburg Gate. There had been holding Festival of Lights, and it was an amazing light show targeting at the Gate at night time. I would suggest reserving the hotel with breakfast included, not only because they offer a variety of choice, you can also dine in an elegant restaurant, or even pick a table where you can see the Brandenburg Gate from inside the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lin65430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Fantastic hotel in central Berlin. Foyer was totally manic so had to wait for 20 minutes to check in but were compensated by a free room upgrade. Breakfast whilst expensive was an experience not to be missed with the whole pantomime from a past era. Great view of the Brandenburg gate and Pariser Platz to watch the world pass by. Ideal for all tourist areas such as restaurants, bars,museums,etc in Mitte. Well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was our second pre- Christmas 5 days stay at Adlon since last year. As always its grand and luxury atmosphere, the Xmas decorations and the glass of champagne was indeed most welcome. Our Superior Deluxe Room overlooking the Under den Linden boulevard, was wonderful, and the exceptionally trained staff, were friendly and efficient. When we first arrived, Geronimo at the entrance made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts are sumptuous, with a lavish spread of all sorts of fruits, pastries, eggs, cereals, German breads, caviar, champagne, etc.
The Adlon as always richly deserves its 5 star reputation. We will most certainly stay here again; we can't think there is a better hotel in Berlin or indeed the rest of Germany.

Room Tip: Take a room with Under den Linden boulevard View!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoRo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel was lovely with its history. As a young couple in our early thirties who were staying a week paying £350+ a night I felt the service seemed more dedicated to older clientele. Was somewhat stuffy at times. Negatives were not being able to sit for afternoon tea or have a drink in the bar as they catered for outside customers as opposed to actual residents. Asked on several occasions to be seated in the lobby to be told they couldn't...disappointing. On check-in, well past 3pm, were told room wasn't ready...told to wait, no explanation. Saw that some guests were handed champagne/sparkling wine on arrival...not for us though...again felt we were discriminated against being younger. That aside, the room was lovely, very clean, great TV, modern and homely. Pet hate, 2 single mattresses instead of a double...but it is a typical european thing...bed was very hard. Nothing was too much trouble when we asked reception. It was almost like anything we asked was catered for immediately, no questions asked. Just a shame the lobby area doesn't hold these values. Breakfast was delicious, service was outstanding from a gentleman named (Vol...I do apologise for not remembering), but he is a credit to the hotel. Overall, wonderful place but unfortunately would not return. The hotel needs a bit of life, far too stuffy. I like to let my hair down without being loud or obvious, but felt that everyone was far too pretentious here...let go a bit now and again and the Adlon would be wonderful and don't forget about us young people!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ILikeToTwirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kosinlay, Manager at Hotel Adlon Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear esteemed reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review about your stay at the Hotel Adlon Kempinski here on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very meaningful to us as we strive to offer you a superb product and an outstanding service to any guests while staying with us. Please be ensured that we do not differentiate our guests by age nor cultural backgrounds. I am sorry to read that we were not able to convince you of our service this time. I would like to take the chance to express my sincere apologies.

I kindly ask you to contact me personally at franck.droin (at) kempinski.com as I would like to receive further feedback on your latest experience with the Hotel Adlon Kempinski.

I am looking forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to make you next stay a remarkable one.


Best regards,

Franck Droin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,586 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#12 of 635 in Berlin
1,255 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#22 of 635 in Berlin
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £175 - £679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing