We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, luxurious but didn't quite deliver 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Ranked #15 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Traditional, luxurious but didn't quite deliver 5 stars”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a very traditional and a luxurious hotel in a great location without a doubt but... A glass of prosecco to greet you on arrival helped sooth the irritation at our 2 rooms not being ready. A further irritation that we had an e-mail which said that breakfast was included but this was not on our record and even after showing the e-mail, it was suggested that we wait until Monday (this was Sat) to discuss with the sender. In the end, we got our breakfast for each day although never did figure out what/where to go for the special Sunday brunch which was also included.

We had 2 rooms, a basic one which was fine and looking out to the side-street and the other a larger room with a walk-in dressing room and a view of the Holocaust museum. We couldn't understand how the lighting worked - there's no point having fancy light controls if you don't explain to your customers how they work. The rooms were very comfortable, warm (this was December) and the use of an I-pad was a nice touch although the wi-fi signal was pretty poor.

The staff were neither friendly nor unfriendly but service could be pretty slow. My husband gashed his leg and on return to the hotel we asked if someone could bring us some antiseptic and a plaster - they did but it took nearly 45 minutes. Similarly, when my parents called the concierge, they were told someone would call them back and again,it took a long time. However, they arranged tickets for us to go to the Reichstag at no cost which was helpful.

Breakfast was varied and champagne was available - and beer. The quality though was nothing special - a small thing but in a 5 star hotel, I assumed the blinis would be freshly made not sitting out cold; the fruit was ok; being able to squeeze your own orange juice was another nice touch but no instructions left you struggling a little; we had cooked dishes a couple of times which were fine but inconsistent eg eggs over-cooked on second day. We had dinner in the Thai restaurant which was mixed - starters were very tasty, main courses a bit less exciting.

The location was superb, especially for a first visit to Berlin - all the sites you want to see and Museum Island are all within walking distance.

This was a special birthday celebration - we wouldn't generally stay somewhere quite as upmarket and expensive so I was expecting a bit more and I don't think it quite delivered that extra special quality. Nor did they acknowledge the birthday which surprised me as most places run to fruit basket, chocolates or a bottle of bubbly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,560
    554
    189
    72
    53
See reviews for
480
1,490
183
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We came for the WE and it was great as we enter the hotel the place look like the time did not move, great service, we were upgrade to a suite room as we are part of the Omni GHA the room was great with a garden view
We had diner in the 2 restaurants of the hotel and the food was excellent in both case.
On the last day we also visit the SPA, great place very clean and nice, they know how to threat their guest
Of course one of the high light of the hotel is the location you cannot find better place to stay in Berlin ,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I've been lucky enough to stay in some great hotels over the years, but this rates as one of the best. The room and hotel facilities all look new and in great condition, but it is the staff that make this hotel special. From the moment you are treated to a glass of fizz when you check in, the service from the staff was just superb.

The breakfast is a little pricey, but worth it - just make sure you arrive hungry. Again the service at breakfast is superb, and the quality of what's on offer is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is part of the Kempinski Group so one cannot find that many areas that can be improved.

My rating is excellent since the hotel is excellent, just not for families with young kids.
Kempinski Aldon is all about the location. There is simply no better location in Berlin. Let then 50 meters and overlooking the Brandenburg Gate. Even the Reichstag location is not that prime.

Service here as in all Kempnski properties is exceptional. No comment. Simply perfect.

The building has reach history (shame on me for not knowing what exactly) and one can easily see that in the interior design. Grand Lobby, the main restaurant looks like a 19 century palace, live piano music, etc. And exactly this history/style makes it not-suitable for families with kids. Hotel guests are primarily elderly couples dressed to impress even at breakfast (suits & ties, long dresses)

Rooms are small (perfect for couple but yet small) with small but modern bathrooms.
The spa is small and unimpressionable.
Also somewhat costly - you are paying for the location not the room or amenities.

Bottom line and the overall idea of this review - A must see location, perfect for luxurious weekend with your spouse (not so much for young couples) but do not bring the kids.
P.S. Bring your "dress-to-kill" clothes ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rado_Sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Nice quality in an old school kind of way. The room itself had a few gadgets with lights switches in drawers by the bed etc. It also had a printer - seemed to have been designed for business. That being said I know there are other rooms that were in many different styles.

Movie selection on TV was so so. Food in the hotel well overpriced as it would should be I suppose. Indoor pool was very very small - really not something you can swim laps in. Gym also quite small. This is what i mean by old fashioned.

The service to clean shoes was a nice touch. Staff across the board very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYReliable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure to stay at the Adlon,on a family trip with my parents and kids. We were kindly upgraded to two beautiful junior suites, even though with my GHA black membership I am entitled to only one upgrade. The hotel is beautiful, and the staff is very friendly and efficient, and proficient in several languages. Our rooms were very spatious, comfortable and nicely appointed, although they did not havemuch of a view. The only hiccup was that our rooms were not ready when we arrived, even though I had provided my arrival details, and I was entitled with the black membership, this was compensated by providing a late check out on both rooms. We had previously stayed at the Kempinski Bristol, and there is no campariason,I think they are 1-2 categories apart. I would highly recommend the Adlon, and hope to come back many times!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pepe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Quite simply... style, location and a restaurant difficult to match. The rooms are unmatched; sophistication is an overused work but is perfectly suited to the Adlon. Spa quite pleasant but not why you should visit, it is the atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,564 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#9 of 634 in Berlin
1,225 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#12 of 634 in Berlin
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Property: Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing