We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Ranked #17 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

With this hotel, you are staying at the very spot that every other visitor to the city is trying to get to. The streetside cafe looks directly at the Brandenburg Gate, the rooms wrap around the British Embassy on three sides, you are in the heart of everything.

The hotel is an architectural gem, with superior finishes in every public and private space. The corridors are long but with interesting courtyards and public rooms scattered around, it is part of the trip to see them. Take a swim in the basement pool to see another enjoyable piece of architectural folly.

I found the concierge busy but friendly and helpful and yes, the bellmen were overworked, taking 30 minutes to deliver the bag and I had to slow him down to show me what the room features were--never heard about that free morning coffee!

The breakfast price is indeed oppressive, very good room service a la carte is (barely) cheaper, which is odd. Cheap carry out breakfast is one block east on Wilhelmstrasse and southwest one block near the Jewish Monument along the former Wall.

The rooms are good value for the money spent, the perfect splurge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenlyon2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,353
    522
    174
    68
    50
See reviews for
445
1,362
177
696
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Couldnt ask for a better location that right next to the Brandenburg Gate and in the heart of Berlin. The hotel is very luxurious in the public areas. The staff are generally attentive but the concept of a Bellboy has been lost on them. I wasn't asked if i needed help with my bags at any point. A general service expected in any 5 star establishment.
The Deluxe rooms are ok but not comparable to the rest of the hotel. The Junior Suites are great and have everything you would need but on the small side for a Junior Suite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with views of the Brandenburg Gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you want something extra the next time you visit Berlin, try Adlon Kempinski which lies next to Branderburger Tor.
Everything is perfect with this hotel; service, food, room, bath, main areas, etc.
They arrange whatever you may ask for, and treat you like a very valuable guest.
There isn't any 'stiff upper lip'-attitude at this hotel, everyone just tries to make your day something special.
It is pricey, but you get good value for your money.
If you really want something extra, try its Michelin guide 2 star Restaurant (Lorenz Adlon), maybe the best 2 star yet visited by us.
And a subway is next to the entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Had a room facing one of the Atriums and it was quiet. No view to Brandenburger Tor from the room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Adlon is a great hotel. Great breakfast, excellent service and very attentive staff at a fantastic location. My stay at Adlon was only tainted by one incident, where a front desk person informed me wife and I at the time of check in that the "Virtuoso credit" of 80Euro that was part of our package would be applicable to the room rate at the time of check out. Every piece of information given to me by the travel agent until this point said otherwise, namely, that this Virtuoso credit could only be used for anything other than the room rate. Both my wife and I double checked with the front desk person to make sure that we understood what he was saying. Sadly, on check-out, it was another person at the front desk who refused to honour the 80Eur towards the room rate. It seems that there is a communication issue between staff at the hotel. I received an email almost an entire month later from an apologetic manager, who found it necessary to remind me of the terms of the Virtuoso credit. Not very helpful, it would be nice if this hotel educated their staff better on special packages.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whythehell2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
439 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a lovely experience staying at the Adlon in Berlin. It was the complete package with everything perfectly in sync, including the airport transfer, the check-in, the lovely meal at the restaurant, the room prepared to perfection and the elaborate breakfast before the departure. The Adlon team did an outstanding job and I can only offer praise and hope that I will soon have a chance for an extended stay. It is was simply superb!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location! So close to the Brandenburg Gate and Tiergarten, we enjoyed our early morning walks through this large park. Great lobby to have drinks/coffee in, although there was a sign that said 'No photo' right in front of the lobby, which I found a bit strange but perhaps it's because of some famous guests? The room and bathroom was cozy and clean, we had a great room that was in front of the courtyard so it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable although the pillows were way too soft.

I am surprised at the other reviewers that were disappointed in the service, perhaps the hotel was busier then but I was very impressed with the service when we stayed. Check in was efficient, and the concierge staff was outstanding. They were very friendly and patiently answered any questions we threw at them, from directions to places, to booking train tickets, dinner reservations, and printing documents. I was even impressed with the form letter they gave us to remind us the details of our dinner reservations. I have never experienced this level of efficiency at concierges around the world. Also our concierge recommended us to try this restaurant, Volt, (since we could not get a reservation at the well known Michelin starred restaurants on our list) which was so amazing and needs a separate review. The breakfast buffet was impressive with their extensive choices and I was surprised they even had a token Asian corner with fried rice, noodles, and chicken satay (top tip: don't try the Asian breakfast in a German hotel).

There were only two downsides during our stay, 1) there was a lot of black mould in the crevices of the glass doors of the shower stall. I understand mould is not something that grows extensively in a dry European climate so it's not something cleaning staff look out for but it's the first thing I noticed when I took a shower (I hate mould), I mentioned it to the rooms staff before we left though so hopefully they fixed it. 2) There was a large World Cup fan park set up right behind Brandenburg Gate and so during match times the traffic was bad and lots of people walking to the park and they blocked off the entrance to the hotel so taxis could not park right in front. A bit inconvenient but a small price to pay for the fun World Cup atmosphere.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junebug75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for three nights and had two rooms for our family of five. The staff here is amazing! We had great experiences at the lobby bar and in the breakfast restaurants. First, you call for your morning wake up call and they offer complimentary tea or coffee. Your call comes in and then your coffee comes like five minutes later. Loved this! Then, you go downstairs and you are greeted by a hostess to let you know which restaurant can better accommodate you for breakfast. The breakfast which was included with our rooms was excellent, I agree with some of the reviews that the front desk experience was not as great and we sometimes had to stand in a line. Maybe additional staff in this area is needed with all the traffic in the hotel lobby.

The hotel does have an excellent location in the city. We visited during the USA versus Germany World Cup game and Berlin was an exciting place. We enjoyed all the energy here at the Adlon and truly hope to return one day. We stayed last summer at the Hotel George V in Paris and thought it had excellent service, but I think the Hotel Adlon is the best!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#3 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#13 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Property: Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#10 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing