We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Ranked #15 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Situated right next to the Brandenburg Gate the location of this hotel is excellent. Walking distance to many of Berlin's attractions including Check Point Charlie, the Reichstag building and Hitlers bunker. The hotel is first class with excellent service levels from the staff. Rooms are good in size and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scottys_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 3,544 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

A gem of a hotel in a superb location,
The staff were first class, breakfast plentiful and tasty and access to local attractions was excellent.
A wonderful place to start a European holiday.
The only negative albeit small was that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed at the Adlon for two nights. The hotel is a tourist attraction in itself and is therefore always busy in the lobby area. Despite this, our check-in was swift and welcoming. Our room was spacious and included very thoughtful and user friendly touches (eg. all light switches were in the bedside tables and clearly identified). The staff were knowledgeable (concierge), polite and attentive often displaying many thoughtful touches which went over and above simply doing their job. The location of the hotel couldn't have been better for exploring both East and West Berlin.

As you would expect for a hotel of this category, the cost of staying there did not come cheaply. It is worth paying for a bed and breakfast stay as, while the breakfast buffet is excellent, it is expensive to pay for it separately from the room. Likewise the Sunday brunch (€80pp). There are, however, alternative restaurants within walking distance of the hotel which serve a good lunch at a fraction of the price.

Overall, we couldn't fault our stay. If we were to be hyper-critical, the pillows could have been better and the mattress a little more forgiving but neither detracted from a very comfortable night and stay.

Room Tip: You can ask for a view of the Brandenburg Gate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I spent two non consecutive nights here. Each time the service, cleanliness, amenities were outstanding. This has to be one of the best hotels ever. The downside? Where your room is... Make sure there your room is not close to the elevators or close to an intersection in the building: there are areas where the floor is not carpeted and this leads to very loud noise every time someone passes by - especially high heels and luggage. I had to sleep with ear plugs, which is never a good thing at a hotel. Food is also outstanding. These people would walk on hands for you.

Room Tip: Stay away from non carpeted floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vajulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

First off. Ridiculous previous review from the American one review poster. The spa staff on the two days that we used it were excellent in replacing towels and the fruit and water on offer. They were a credit to the hotel. There were both male and female staff and the gym and spa although small were first class.
OK so now the hotel.
The plusses
Location
Wow factor of seeing the Bradenburger Tor on our arrival at midnight
The rooms - our Executive room was one of the best we have ever stayed in. Quiet and with everything that you could need and large as well.
The minuses
Breakfast cost at €47 ph and they still make you queue at the reception desk. We ate at the Kaffer at the Reichstag which was far more of an occasion.
Lack of precision and service from the staff. Let me elaborate. We arrived at midnight and had to go through the ordeal of asking for tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The question of do have these to the reception man was met with "No". Having learn from previous TA posters you have to persevere. Can you provide these? A very reluctant yes from reception, followed by "at no cost?" from me. A reluctant agreement from reception and a further indifferent attitude when we wanted the facilities there and then. This is a stupid game that is embarrassing for both sides and they should just agree without a murmur.
Now the execution. The porter after about 15 minutes brings up a kettle and several types of sugar. No coffee tea or milk. A further 15 minutes elapses when he reappears with a large silver jug full of cold milk, very impressive but no tea or coffee. A further 15 minutes and these arrive (full new jar of Nescafé no less) with a room service charge for €23 to be signed. I refused.
Twice over the next two days I checked with reception that the €23 charge had been removed and I paid my bill on the evening before our 5.00am departure. Lo and behold at 5.00am the €23 was raised again. Staff clearly couldn't be bothered to deal with matter effectively and just did the minimum. Also strange that with all the door staff that never once did we have the door opened for us.
Hotel presented a nice birthday cake in the room, a room upgrade request was politely refused.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank araf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Best location. Friendly and efficient staff with one glaring exception. Spa staff was arrogant and insulting. Totally Valley Girl pretentious. Absolutely ridiculous. Two encounters, four different young ladies, all had the same repulsive attitude. The bed was not particularly comfortable. Housekeeping and room service were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I do agree with the other guests' reviews: we spent there 3 nights - staff is friendly and caring, location is superb, rooms are very well equipped and comfortable.
Overall an excellent hotel at the best place in town for a tourist or to approach the Authorities.
Only the Sunday's brunch could be enhanced. Limited choice of hot foods, no real difference with the daily breakfast, reason why I put a 4 stars only.
Definitely an hotel to recommend.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Trouilhat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,603 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#11 of 635 in Berlin
1,283 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#20 of 635 in Berlin
3,090 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#66 of 635 in Berlin
4,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £189 - £621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing