We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prime Location and Great Rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #103 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Prime Location and Great Rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This hotel is perfectly located for touring in Berlin. This was my second stay and I didn't even bother looking for somewhere new on this visit due to the location and comfortable room. Our room literally looked over the corner of Friedrichstrasse & Unter den Linden, so you can easily walk to many of the tourist highlights and are also just down from some convenient shopping.

Our room was updated and clean and the service was helpful. The rate is amazing given the sleep and bath quality and location for other comparable rooms in a European city center. I will continue to ding Starwood for the ridiculous practice of charging for WiFI, however. This needs to change worldwide!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirklandkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,016
    286
    97
    47
See reviews for
358
1,042
213
693
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We booked this hotel online after consulting tripadvisor. It's a Westin, so you'd expect something upmarket. And so it is. We were upsold a 'better' room that overlooked the garden. Probably unnecessary - we only used it to crash each day after twelve hours of sightseeing. Pluses - couldn't be better positioned (Freidrichstrasse/Unter den Linden) for shops and touristy things, great staff and a luxurious gym/spa/indoor pool (really warm water). Minuses - breakfast too expensive for us and wifi charged. No matter, just round the corner is a friendly muesli, scone and coffee place with free wifi internet access. Must be good because at breakfast time it's always full with tourists and their netbooks. Always room for you, though.

Recommended if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Unless you have to eat in, don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear guest, The Westin Grand Berlin is a good place to stay and we are happy that you were satisfied with your choose. Unfortunately the breakfast seems to be too expensive but please consider that we are offering a really wide variety of foods. However if you would like to enjoy the rest of the hotel only be welcome! Yours Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Didn't think it was five star luxury. Heating wasn't working in room, asked to be moved, heating wasn't working in that one either so was given oil filled radiator. Drapes weren't fitting well and not even blackouts. Decor in room was tired not like some of the renovated rooms even though I thought they had finished it. Had to ask for extra pillows as only two on the bed, not what I expect in five star. Had to ask for extra towels. Twin beds were more like single ones than double size as in other five star hotels, or even four star. Health club lovely water abit cold though. Everything very expensive. Have to pay for everything extra. Had to ask for kettle in room does not come as standard and given little cups rather than mugs. No iron in room have to ask. Internet isn't free and expensive. In good location for travelling and safe part of town, equiv to say Cheadle, Wilmslow area in UK for shops. Other shops two underground stops away for general shopping like H&M. Rooms overlooking garden is quietest. When we stayed roadworks were in the side street, and rooms at front of hotel some don't have a bath as well as a shower and are noisy if you want the window open. Reception is very grand with the staircase, but unless you get one of the renovated rooms with the updated decor you might not be as impressed for a five star. Stayed in upper floor as it helps with the noise of traffic. Didn't notice any children activities but then didn't look either.

Room Tip: Quietest overlooking the garden as on the inside of hotel. Ones on front at main road very noisy fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear guest, at this point we only can apologize for all the inconveniences you have had and would like to assure you that you did not experienced our normally service. If guests are not satisfied we try to solve the problems straight away. Of course not always can be found a solution and we really regret that you obviously have had a terribly stay. SHould we get a second chance we would be please to convince you with our normally and high service standard upon your next visit here. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Just come back from a great long weekend in Berlin, stayed at the Westin Grand Berlin, great location down the road from the wall and checkpoint charlie and on top of the shops!

But I was disappointed that you had to pay for WIFI on top of your stay which was already expensive. We also were upset that when we went down for a drink on a Saturday evening it took 30 minutes for a waiter to acknowledge that we were there to actually come over and gives us a menu which we thought wasnt nice considering we were guests of the hotel and not stopping in for a drink.

Apart from that we had a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear guest, we thank you for your comment and are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Also thank you for your recommendation. We would be pleased welcoming you again in the future. Yours Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Great location right on friedrichstrasse and very central to all major tourist spots, museums and few mins walking from La Gallerie Lafayette. The concierge service is by far the best i have experienced to date; very knowledgeable, honest, speak excellent english, obliging, courteous and gracious. I was travelling as a single female and they were very kind and concerned about me.
Excellent breakfast; huge selection of breakfast foods and their bircher museli is fabulous!!
Only downside; no free wi-fi. But excellent hotel, nice big rooms and quiet. Maid service comes early in the morning, so place your "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on the door:)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfriqueSoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

My wife and I have been in Berlin several times and since we wanted a short stay close to shopping and the museum island we chose Westin. The hotel is good, clean and we enjoyed the stay. Will though recommend that Westin offer Wifi without a cost - currently we have to pay 20 euro per day for a service that is as common as electricity.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenOlesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Great location near the u-Bahn! very friendly stuff, very clean and beautiful rooms. Everything you can expect from Westin!! Next time will stay there!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#53 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#50 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#77 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing