We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #104 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Weekend escape”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Me and my partner stayed here from the 2nd of december to the 4th december for a weekend break. The hotel is Fantastic the most beautiful lobby with friendly hotel staff. The room was a fantastic size and overlooked the main street and we could see brandenberg gate from our room fantastic at night. Its in a perfect location all shops,restaurants,bars, sights all in perfect reach. Would definately recommend this hotel and Berlin such a fabulous city !!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,262
    1,049
    299
    103
    50
See reviews for
374
1,088
216
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My firend and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Westin it is a great hotel and in a very central location close to shops, trains and buses. The reception and entrance area is beautiful especially at this time of year with the Christmas trees. We chose this hotel as we stayed at the Westin in Dubai earlier on this year and this hotel came up to our expectations. The rooms were spotless, clean sheets and beds (heavenly !! is the right name) clean towels every day. The breakfast also has a great choice in the mornings. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. When arriving at Tegel Airport the bus station is right outside, you need to catch the TXL bus which takes you right outside the hotel at a cost of 2.60 euros which is great. I would definately recommend this and hotel and if going to Berlin again would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendymckie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you very much and please come back - with pleasure we will be your host again!
Andrea W., Westin Grand Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel after reading many good reviews on here! The value of the room was excellent, the room was immaculate, the staff were friendly, my only let down was not having any tea/coffee facilities in the room as need a brew to get me going in the morning! The room service is expensive also! The gym/spa was excellent we were provided with robes, slippers etc, it was so clean and the staff give you a little tour of the facilities first so you know where you are going and what you might like to do. The pool is not designed for laps though for all you keen swimmers!!
The Westin Grand is in a excellent location for seeing Berlin, and although there is a highly effective tube network we decided to go it on foot! The hotel is just off the Unter den Linden so a short walk to the left down the Unter den Linden is the Brandenburg gate and then up to the right is Museum Island, Berliner Dom and up to Alexanderplatz. There is lots of info and leaflets in the beautiful lobby at the hotel and the reception staff are helpful to recommend things and places to do and see.
Very easy to get too also from Schoenfeld Airport, by just getting on the red double decker train straight into central Berlin to the stop after Alexanderplatz and you can walk up and across unter den linden and see the Weston Grand or if your luggage is particulary heavy tube stop is literally outside the hotel if you swap at the main station.
All in all an excellent hotel (minus the tea and coffee facilities!! ;)

Room Tip: Its a city centre location so don't expect to be able to hear a pin drop at night but we were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggy583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 767 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The Westin is beautiful hotel in a great location.

A bus from the airport lets you off across the street. Attractions, shops and good restaurants are walkable in every direction,

The lobby is quite beautiful upon entry. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our first room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Unfortunately, there was a pervasive odor (sewage?) that we just could not stand. Our complaint to the front desk had us immediately transferred and upgraded to a truly outstanding room. I guess it's not the mistakes you make in life, it's how you recover from them that matter and we felt duly compensated for our inconvenience.

We loved our "heavenly bed" and rainshower. Everything was top notch.

Breakfast was quite expensive and it was disappointing that they did not offer a "cold buffet" (cereal, fruit, toast, etc.) option for a lesser fee.

Our only complaint was that they do not offer free internet, even in the lobby as so many hotels do in this day and age. We could pay a few euros for a coffee in a cafe down the street and get internet for free but we cannot get it in the hotel that we are paying a considerable rate for. Guests are relegated to walking the city in search of a Starbucks instead of taking care of staying connected in the comfort of their hotel. That is quite objectionable in our view and sours the impression a bit of what is a lovely hotel .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast, vielen Dank für Ihre Einschätzung und Ihre Hinweise. Gästekommentare sind uns eine unschätzbare Hilfe bei der Verbesserung unseres Services und so haben wir auch Ihren Kommentar ausgewertet. Es freut uns, dass Sie sich bei uns wohlgefühlt haben und wir werden alles dafür tun, dass es bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch wieder so ist! MIt besten Grüßen aus dem Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

this is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Westin Grand Berlin due to the price for its star rating. The location is just off Unter den linden and is close to everything, including the metro. The rooms are spacious (although we might be getting free upgrades due to our status, not sure) and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is expensive and therefore we haven't ordered it. we did have drinks in the lobby bar one night before dinner, also quite expensive but a nice area to sit in. Would recommend for the location and price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We recently completed another trip to our favorite European destination, Berlin. We have stayed at the Westin Grand Berlin in the past and the property is now better than ever. It is an extensively renovated building in the former Eastern section that is now one of the most desirable locations in the city. The hotel has an amazing atrium and foyer area that few newer buildings can match. There was a trapeze artist performing in the atrium for an event while we were there. Actually, there always seems to be an event going on because of the hotel's design and location.

The staff is extremely professional and friendly. Americans will find that they receive the kind of service typically found only in the most expensive US based hotels.

The rooms are beautiful and clean. The beds are very comfortable. The hotel is quiet although there is often the sound of a piano playing coming from the lobby bar until late at night.

The location is the best in the city, located on Friedrichstrasse and Under De Linden. You are steps away from the best shopping, restaurants, bars and nightclubs.

I don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else when in Berlin. It is certainly the best value.

Room Tip: The theme suites and spa suties are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear guest, the best comment we could get - Thank you so much for your recommendation.
We are pleased to have you here again one day as our appreciated guest. Take care - Your Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel is definitely perfect for business & tourists thanks to its central location. Despite its location the rooms are quiet. The only disadvantage, however typical for big hotels, is very anonymous way of service. You feel to be one of thousands other people staying there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pupazzzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#56 of 634 in Berlin
4,443 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,209 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#53 of 634 in Berlin
1,917 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#79 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing