We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable beds ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #112 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is a great, luxury hotel in the heart of Berlin. The location is fantastic and all the main sites are within walking distance.
The rooms are large and very comfortable, the beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept in! The bathroom is a good size and was very clean as was the rest of the room.
The pool is great and they have a bar by the pool in case you want to relax with a drink as well. There is also a nice jacuzzi.
We had back massages which were also very good and the spa facilities are excellent although as would be expected in a hotel like this they are not cheap.
The staff were all great and very friendly and made this a very enjoyable vacation.

Room Tip: We had what is called a deluxe room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamsin8782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you so much indeed for your kind words; we are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay so much. The beds are the Westin Heavenly Beds and the most of our guests enjoy it very much. With our best wishes for 2012 The Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,504 of 2,864 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed in the Grand for three days after Xmas. We have stayed there before, in 1998, and it still has the splendor its name suggests. As you walk into the reception you see the grandest of staircases coming down from the 1st floor. We had a room on the 4th floor, it was fine, a little warm, but hey that is better than being too cold!

It is, literally, 20 meters from the U-Bahn station, a five minute walk from the G'markt and closer to Unter den Linden, 5 mins from the Brandenburger Gate. It is a short bus ride, three stops to Alexanderplatz, which is the heart of Old Berlin and a 10 minute bus ride round the sites, (Bus No 100 from Unter den Linden) from the Berlin Zoo and the West End shops on the Ku'damm.

Would I go again-Yes.

Room Tip: If you arrive by car the Parking place is across the road, it costs €0 per day, pay at the desk befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_townYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear guest, thank you for being with us and thank you for your evaluation. We really hope you will come back in the not too distant future. We would like to convince you once more. Have a great year 2012! Andrea W. in the name of the Westin Grand Berlin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We have just returned from a lovely 3 nights' stay at this great hotel.

At the reception a friendly lady looked at our reservation and told us that she could give us a slightly bigger room if we were happy with two separate beds instead of a Queen-sized one; furthermore we would then be on the top floor (6th), and facing Friedrichstrasse with a side-view of Unter den Linden as well. This turned out to be a good choice and we applaud the service!

The room was big enough for the limited purpose a hotel room has when you are visiting a city, and the room was in perfect order as well as spotless clean.
Apparently we were not in one of the recently renovated rooms (as far as I understand from other reviews, we had room 641) but at no time did we have a feeling that renewal was necessary: on the contrary, really: The Westin Grand gave us our first hotel room with a totally quiet Minibar fridge!

Breakfast was just fantastic, we couldn't wish for more choice, and during our last breakfast we even took a glass of champagne just "to have done it"! :-)

Location is excellent, check it out on Google Maps.

Downsides ... yes there is one downside, I saw it on Tripadvisor when I checked other reviews and couldn't believe this would actually be an issue: the pillows are really, really, ... not to our liking; too soft, too little "hold" for our heads, just - not right?

Would we go there again: in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room 641: top floor, close to lobby hall: worked for us! (and no piano playing to be heard!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meikdahogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Great location for shopping, accessing Brandenberg and other central Berlin sights. Hotel is very up to date, tastefully done. Great outside bar on the sidewalk for people watching. I would rate this my #2 hotel in Berlin. Concierge service I would rate as excellent

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the main street/strasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your evaluation on that page. Should your travel plans bring you back in the upcoming spring (as last year) or later - you are welcome at any time! Your Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I was guest in the Westin Grand Berlin together with my wife and my 4 month old son. We had mentioned that we are going to arrive with a toddler when making the reservation and had requested a baby bed. After checkin we found our room - very small for the price we paid and without a bed. We called reception and were told they would bring it immediately. After having to call back twice, the baby bed was finally brought but it was too big to fit into the little room! After talking to the staff at reception we were promised a free upgrade to a bigger room, however, when gathering our belongings in the small room, service staff arrived with a smaller baby bed telling us that we could not get the upgrade now. I had to go down to the front desk again, explaining that with the smaller baby bed the room was still too small to fit all of our belongings. I just could not fit our luggage and the stroller. I was offered an upgrade at a reduced cost of 30 Euros a night which I had to accept.
The bigger room we received was very good, it was spacious, had noise blocking windows and the trademark heavenly beds of the Westin. Except for the very rude staff at the spa, the rest of our stay was just great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank el_jocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We are coming to this property since 10 years for Christmas. We had another great stay.
Service is outstanding and the Theme-Suites are lovely, providing great space and good amenities. The buffet breakfast is very nice, with good fresh products. Many of the staff are here since many years, as such it feels like coming home.
With its location in Berlin-Mitte, its in walking distance to many key sights as well as Top End shopping. Close to public transport to get around.
We will definitely be back in 2012.

Room Tip: Room 535 is the Sanssouci Suite, with very traditional furniture and lovely views over Friedrichstra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEPDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you so much for being our guest for such a long time. And it is really great for us that you still savor your sojourns after all the years. That is really a wonderful message - thank you for your patronage! Your Westin Grand berlin Team, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Just returned from a week in Berlin, staying at the Westin Grand. Its location can't be beat -- with the subway, the G'markt, the Brandenberg Gate and the Gallerie des Lafayette retail complex all within easy walking distance. In fact, use the Gallerie wine bar instead of the hotel's bar -- it serves taller drinks at shorter prices!

Rooms were fine -- smallish, but clean and quiet. Buffet breakfast was the best and the waitstaff couldn't do enough for you, whether that meant clearing the table or effortlessly switching languages.

Best of all were the spectacular Christmas decorations!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YankeeTraveler01985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#65 of 634 in Berlin
4,644 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#11 of 634 in Berlin
1,294 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
3,553 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#85 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £117 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing