We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Location (Mitte), Ok for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #111 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed here in late July 12 with my husband, 3 kids (ages 7, 5, 2) and my parents. The rooms are small and we were surprised at first until we learned this hotel was originally a premier East German hotel. So the small rooms were forgiven and we got into the interesting history of the hotel. The location is great, close to but not directly on Unter den Linden. Staff are basically friendly, we had a minor issue with a woman at breakfast who was upset we added a 7th chair to a 6 person table. Everyone was nice to our kids but there wasn't much for them to do at the hotel. The "Kids' Club" was a cute small teddy bear, but that was it. No activities, events, books, markers, games or anything. This is different than other hotels that have advertised "kids activities." Breakfast was buffet, very comprehensive, no one lacked for anything to eat. Coffee was hot, of course they served Berliners. The lobby is really quite lovely and we enjoyed afternoon snacks and dinner there on separate days. The workout room is bright but the two stationery bikes had problems. Treadmills worked fine. The pool was large, a bit long of a walk for my older parents and the tile floor got very slippery so be careful. Room service was prompt and the food decent, not crazy exceptional. The concierge and door porters were really helpful and got us a great driver for a day trip to Potsdam. The guy's name was Johann, ask for him by name if you have a large group with kids. After my husband's morning runs there were towels, water and apples waiting. There is a rooftop garden that is very accessible -but- one of the unique thing about this hotel is the bees they keep and the special honey they make. Our kids wanted to spend more time in the garden but were freaked out by the number of bees nearby. Nobody got stung or anything, my kids are just scared of bees.
Basically all the hotel staff speaks English but it never hurts to practice your German.
The doors to the rooms don't always close securely so double-check your door before you walk away.
Honestly, a great location within easy walking distance of excellent shopping, Brandenburg Gate, great food, Gendarmemarkt, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 2,863 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

The lobby of this hotel is nice and the Grand Staircase is really Grand....see it in the Bourne movie! The room was small but clean and comfortable. Some days we got our free bottle of water, some days we didn't! We stayed five nights and found it to be very well located. It is right on Friedrichstrasse and close to Unter den Linden, so really easy to walk to all the main sights from this hotel. I think that is its saving grace...walk to the Brandenburg Gate, the Museum Island, Potsdamer Platz, Checkpoint Charlie...and of course all the grand shopping locations too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAMCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A classic old hotel, conveniently located on Friedrichstrasse. Stayed here for two nights and took a couple of drinks at the bar that was connected to the lobby. The service was very slow and the staff looked tired. The rooms were quite small with a view of Friedrichstrasse and renovations going on on the street outside. We used the jacuzzi and pool located in the hotel which was pretty nice. The standard could have been higher. I would not stay here again, there is better places than this one in Berlin.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is a really beautiful hotel, centraly located in the main shopping center of Berlin, walking distance to all major sights -Checkpoint Charlie, Museum Island, parks etc... Our room was clean , spacious and very comfortable. The staff very friendly & helpfull..In the hotel restaurant we had one of the best breakfast ever - buffet style the best variety of all kinds of European delicacies! this is a place we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robokrugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you very much, it is always phantastic to get positive feedback as the most just inform about negative experiences. Especially our breakfast team was very pleasded in regards to your comments - thank you so much! We are looking forward to your next visit. Your Westin Grand Berlin-Team, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at the Westin for three nights the week of July 23d, 2012. We had three rooms. Two were Starwood Preferred Guest rooms, the other wasn't. Basically, this is a nice hotel and it is very well located. There's nothing objectionable. The hotel staff was fine; the rooms are comfortable; the pool is small but fun with kids; the gym is small but ok. The location on Friedrichstrasse is very nice if you want to be right downtown to walk around. Only drawbacks: price (too high for the value) and food (pretty lousy except for breakfast). We had dinner at the restaurant one night and it was pretty awful. Otherwise, nothing to write home about either up or down -- a relatively nice Westin.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear guest, unfortuantely we could not not inspire you - that is really a pity! Thank you so much for sharing with us your impressions as we are always interested in our guest's feedback for improving our service and offer. The Westin Grand Berlin Team,Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The Westin Grand Berlin is a beautiful hotel right in the main shopping district in Berlin. The hotel is centrally located just a few blocks from Checkpoint Charlie, Museum Island, and the Brandenburg Gate/Reichstag area. The hotel was beautiful, the food was excellent. The pool area very clean and relaxing. The halls near our room had a musty smell, but our room was very clean. The beds were soft and we slept great. In all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammykevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear guest, we are really happy to see our guests happy. Thank you very much for being our guest and thank you for your evaluation. Most of our guests appreciate the Westin Heavenly bed, it is one of the great Westins innovations. We hope it will bring you back to us! Your Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. The staff (all staff) are very friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located for most of the major sights in Berlin and a stones throw from the underground. The breakfast is amazing in a lovely dining room with staff willing to help you all the time. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: There is a lot of construction going on at the moment but that is not the fault of the hotel. A gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#63 of 635 in Berlin
4,637 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#11 of 635 in Berlin
1,288 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 635 in Berlin
3,551 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 635 in Berlin
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#84 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £117 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing