We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, comfortable but …. expensive add ons.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #101 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable but …. expensive add ons.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a good hotel for visiting Berlin. We obtained the room at a reasonable price for 4 nights (our first visit to the city). The room was very clean. The location was central and an easy walk (10-15 minutes) to most sights. Taxi from train station is around 10 euro; taxi to Tegel airport $18 euro. The hotel's reception was friendly and efficient. The house keeping staff were particularly helpful - in-room service was great, timely and friendly. The order was nicely presented!! It was also nice to enjoy the indoor pool and spa, both of which were very well maintained. Again the reception in the pool area was very friendly. Overall a good hotel. That said, there is a downside if you are on a budget and need internet more than one hour. The wifi is expensive - 15 euros for 24 hours. Prices for drinks, coffee and so on are high. There are several great "pubs and restaurants" nearby for meals/drinks at a fraction of the price. Overall a good place to stay at a reasonable price for room only.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrHam101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you for booking our hotel. It is a pleasure to see that you were satisfied with your choice. Not all of our service offers are includes automatically; for instance we offer a good high speed internet service and over more you are able to downoad a lot of papers free of charge when you use internet. But we thank you for sharing with us your opionion and we of course will consider it. Have a great restive season; we would be pleased you will come back in the future. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,014
    285
    96
    46
See reviews for
357
1,041
213
692
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

One of my favourite films the Bourne supremacy the second in the series had parts of the movie filmed in this hotel so when i was heading to Berlin i booked in at the Westin Grand.
The stair case as soon as you walk in is stunning as is the glass dome if you look up.
Very nice cocktails from the bar great staff happy to help and give information about anything you want to know about.
Rooms are nice with a minibar and i had a nice view of a rooftop garden area which was coverd in snow at the time.
Great that door card/key can be used at the bar to buy drinks and just gets added to your room bill at the end.
Did not get round to having a meal in the hotel the dinning area looked stunning the Breakfast was around 26 euros which maybe worth it but i never tested it out with so many eating options available in Berlin you will never go hungry
5 star service all the way from this great hotel :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRENTF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
127 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Location:
In city center near U-bahn station.

Getting to Hotel from Airport:
Taxi took 30 minutes in early morning, cost 21 euros.

Check-In:
Allocated garden view room was not available early in the morning.
Took street view room which was available.

Room:
442.
Non-smoking.
Smelled very clean.
Large room.
Short distance from elevators.
Comfortable furnishings.

Internet in Room:
Wireless.
Good speed.

Safe:
Yes. Holds laptop.

Room Service:
Yes.
Good quality food delivered within time promised every time.
Pricing on high side as expected at high-end hotels.
Café near hotel for light takeaway meals.

Elevators:
Fast.

Desk:
Large.
Desk lamp.
Power sockets at desk height.

Desk Chair:
Adjustable and comfortable.

Iron:
Yes (after request)

Trouser Press:
No.

Robe:
Yes.

Slippers:
Yes.

Umbrella:
No.

Tea and Coffee in room:
No complimentary coffee and tea.

Complimentary Drinking Water:
One bottle daily.

Fridge:
No.

Turn Down Service:
Available.

Room Lighting:
Good.
Floor lamp.
Bedside lamps.

Closet, Drawer and Cabinet Space:
2 drawers.
Medium sized closet.

Phones:
Phone on desk.
Phone bedside.
Maid checked and reported one of the phones as not working due to lose cable and got it fixed.

Couch:
Lounge chair.

TV:
Medium-sized LCD on stand.
BBC, CNN and some business channels in English.

Windows:
Large sized window.
Curtains very effective at blocking sunlight.

Balcony:
No.

View from Room:
Office building across the street.

Bathroom:
Small but not too crowded.
Combined shower and bathtub.
No bidet.
Magnifying mirror.
Good lighting.
Basic amenities.
Water pressure strong.
Hot water always available.
No heated mirror.
European shaver outlet.
Bathroom floor possibly heated.
Some signs of age, e.g. stained toilet.

Morning Newspaper at Door:
No. USA today available near reception early in the morning.

Gym:
Yes – did not use.

Pool:
Very clean pool area
Circular pool can be used for short laps but most people seemed to prefer swimming in slow circles.
Water comfortably lukewarm.
Clean hot tub in pool area.

Steam Room:
Did not see one.

Sauna:
Yes – but did not use.

Noise Level in Room:
Due to construction no traffic noise from outside but occasional construction noise during the day.
Very quiet at night.

Bed:
Two single beds.
Firm mattress.
Bedside lamps.
Very comfortable.
Very clean.

Room Cleanliness:
Very clean.

Air Conditioning/Heating:
Very effective heating.

Alarm Clock and Wakeup:
Wake up calls always on time.

Laundry Service:
Did not use.

Microwave Oven:
No.

Breakfast:
Picked up cheaper breakfast from nearby cafe.

Restaurant:
Did not use.

Parking:
Did not use.

Staff:
Very polite. Very efficient.

Check Out:
Fast and efficient.

Getting from Hotel to Airport:
Pre-booked credit card taxi took 25 minutes, 18 euros.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ymff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I'm a harsh critic, 5 stars today is what I'd have expected of 4star years ago but it is what it is, this looks 5 star and I'd say yes it is worthy of that.
The lobby is beautiful. Rooms spacious, so very clean throughout, bathroom adequate, not luxury but almost. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard and done early so no waiting for the maid to finish before escaping back to the room after a long day out.
We were in a room at the front of the hotel, there is major building work to the side of the hotel..major! A new subway is being dug so it was very noisy after 7.30am so if you want a lie in ask for a room at the front as that was audible and woke us but not half as bad as at the back or the side.
Excellent location for tourists, only 500m from the Brandenburg Gate and probably a mile at the most from checkpoint Charlie. Very central. I'd choose the Mitte area over all the others having now been to them all on this trip. Only half hour taxi ride (€20) from Tegal airport too.
We didnt eat in the hotel as it is expensive, breakfast was €36 for example but there are cafes and other eating places nearby. We found a lidl supermarket about a 15 min walk away to stock up on water and snacks. There's not much nightlife, a little dull for a major city where we were, but after a long day sightseeing you just want a bar and somewhere to rest your feet.
The spa in the hotel was as expected very expensive as they all seem to be (€133 for 90mins massage) the pool is small as is the jacuzzi ...not really big enough for the 400 rooms it serves but very pretty. There is a sauna but we were told its tiny so you have to check with reception if you have it included in your room rate or else it's extra and you have to book!
The toilettries in the room were ok, it makes me cross now that the trend is to withhold everything unless you ask for it..the hotel says its part of a green initiative not putting out things people don't use but we all know its to save running costs which are not passed onto the guest! Why only 1 robe and 1 pair of slippers for a double room though? Little bit annoying. And the European trend of no coffee making facilities in the room...luckily there's a "subway" close by.. Quick , easy and cheapest coffee to go!
Tv in the room was useless as only a couple of news channels in English. No free wifi which for a 5 star place I found disappointing.
Staff we met were just lovely, concierge helpful but not a lot of information on what to do, basically it's the hop on hop off tour (€22 for two days..good idea) on offer only.
On the whole, if I went back to Berlin and was not on a budget I'd stay here again, the beds were called "heavenly beds" and were like fluffy clouds (very soft though), room was lovely, all immaculately clean,good location...a special place to stay, quite impressive.

Room Tip: Lots of building to the side and rear...a new subway being dug! Noisy so ask for a room at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We went here for my friends stag weekend in June 2012. It is a great hotel. Our twin room for me and a mate was very nice, the bathroom was excellent, a spacious bedroom, sofa and decent TV. We didn't spend a lot of time in it as we were out doing the sights, drinking, eating, watching football and doing Segway tours! Brilliant city, highly recommended for a city break, also do the Segway tour with City Segway Tours, brilliant fun and informative in equal measure. The spa was really nice, a lovely pool, relaxing steam room, spa bath and sauna. Most relaxing after a heavy nights drinking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Other than having to deal with construction of the new U-Bahn line on two sides of the hotel, we had a near perfect 4 nights at the Grand. It's on the same block as the Komische Oper, and 5 mins walk to the Brandenburg gate, the Tiergarten, the Reichstag and and three u-Bahn stations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGMGNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prague
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed one night only. Efficient checkin. The location is perfect - central, you can walk to all the museums, Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie…The metro stop is maybe 20 steps away from the hotel entrance, bus lines just round the corner. We went to see a concert and returned to the hotel around midnight (two girls) and felt completely safe in the area. The room was clean, with comfortable bed, nice bathroom and the hotel has a nice spa area (gym as such is tiny but the pool and jacuzzi are very nice!). The negatives: price of breakfast EUR 30 - really???? it is a Michelin star breakfast buffet or what? Ridiculous price but in walking distance you have a wide choice of cafes and restaurants so easy to solve. Also in this type of hotel I would expect at least some basic free internet connection. Parking is also very expensive (I believe EUR 27, we parked one block away 24 h parking for 5 EUR).

Room Tip: room facing the garden - absolutely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PragueMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you for being with us and thank you for sharing with us your impressions. Nice to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the main. For breakfast you have the choice to enjoy our really extensive breakfast buffet with Super foods or just a continental breakfast or to order something from our á la carte menu. For our valued guests we offer valet parking but of course you have the option to park the car by yourself. Should you come to Berln in the future we would be pleased to be your host again. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
1,492 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#53 of 634 in Berlin
4,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#50 of 634 in Berlin
1,861 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#77 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing