We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #105 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good, but not great.”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a number of hotels from this chain for business over the years, but this was a trip with the family from 19th to 22nd December...we did not have connecting rooms but the rooms they allocated us were close together. We did not make use of the restaurants in the hotel so this review is limited to the room and the staff.

The location of the hotel is good, there are U Bahn and S Bahn lines very close, there are a number of good shopping malls close to the hotel and Brandenburg Gate is a short walk.

The rooms are a nice size and have everything you need, the beds are very comfortable and everything works, just like you would expect. The bathroom is on the small side, with a bath over the shower, but it is easily manageable. One thing that was frustrating was the amount of dust in the room, which we can only assume comes from the construction taking place on the road outside the hotel...the windows were not open, but nonetheless the air in the room was not great. Also, the sir conditioner did not cool the room, so assume they turn those off in the winter!

As for the staff, I asked the concierge for some recommendations for restaurants, but unless I was looking for something within the direct vicinity of the hotel, they didn't seem to have a clue or even care, which was very dissapointing for a hotel like this.

In summary, the room was good, the location of the hotel was good, but the staff were not fantastic.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Reluctant_business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    1,033
    292
    100
    49
See reviews for
364
1,064
215
703
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was the first time my partner and I have been to Berlin. On arrival we were met by a friendly and chatty receptionist who directed us to our room. The room itself was immaculate and wonderfully presented in an understated elegance. I wouldn't listen to the negative reviews about the building works, we were on the third floor opposite the construction and we had no issues (admittedly out of the room by 11am most days, but no abrupt wake up calls here!). Next stop, breakfast. Everything you could possibly want in one buffet...including champagne! I would recommend the salmon and scrambled eggs! The staff were exceptional without being overbearing, always happy to help when asked. Unfortunately our trip had a downer put on it by our airport transfer not turning up on the last day, however the concierge was fantastic with trying to amend the situation, and this was completely the fault of our tour operator. Also, the local knowledge they had of the best places to go out was superb. If I really wanted to look for a criticism I would have liked some tea and coffee available in the room, but everything else soon made me forget my caffeine cravings. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking to stay in this beautiful and fascinating city. Thank you for making our stay, and anniversary, a memorable one. We hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACollinsSGalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear guest, we are delighted by reading your nice comment and to have fullfil your expectations. Thank you for your stay with us and thank you for your review! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed at the Westin for a long weekend, and really enjoyed it. We arrived at 10.30am and we were pleasantly surprised to be able to check in. Room was lovely, and the bed was so comfortable!!
The staff were very friendly and the cocktails were lovely! We recommend the Pina Colada and Strawberry Daiquiri. :)
The christmas decorations are stunning, and made us feel very festive! Our favourite thing to do was sit in the Hotel bar, listening to the piano player, drinking tea and hot chocolate.

The hotel is in a perfect location and the public transport is very easy to use and cheap!!There is a lot of shopping near by but we were surprised to find most shops shut on a Sunday!

I was also surprised the Wi-fi was not free, plus the breakfast buffet is very expensive for what it is! So try eat elsewhere and save yourself the money!

Lovely Trip, a perfect start to the christmas season.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor, and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
How nice to see, that you enjoyed your stay. We always try to offer a very good service and of course an early check in whenever possible. Thank you that you appreciate it. Whenever your travel plans bring you back to Berlin we hope to be your first choice as your Berlin home! Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Hotel is in a good location, however that does not matter in Berlin as the public transport system is excellent and good priced.
The Hotel is completely over charged.
A deluxe room will give you a small room. The Breakfast is 32 Euros, and it is a small sort of selection. Be aware. If you stay there, have breakfast around the corner for a third of the price.
The service in the lobby is pretty unfriendly, like as if the employees are unhappy. They can be quite grumpy. Also for features and benefits it is completely overpriced.
Conclusion, a overpriced placed where the features and benefits are very pricy.
I would stay away, as there other Hotels in Berlin what offer more for far less money.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms a very small, place is overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear guest, we really regret that you were not satisfied with our service as the satisfactionof our guests is the first aim of our work and friendly, guest orientated service is definitively a part of this service. We have evaluated your comment especially with the bar/restaurant team for a polite and friendly service you certainly can expect. The most of our guests pay tribute to the variety and selection of our breakfast buffet and we regret that it could not meet your expectations. Should you have any recommendations, we would be pleased to know for improving our offer. The Westin Grand Berlin-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

In Berlin for our annual trip. Summary of our impressions:

+ breakfast
+ great location
+ maybe the best bed we have had
+ very quiet dispite location

- dark room
- very expensive wifi

Also close to several Christmas markets.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear guest, thank you for being with us and for your evaluation. In the meantime we have reduced our WiFi rates recently as a reaction on our guest comments. And please let you show other rooms should you be with us again; we are sure we will find one to your satisfaction. We wish you a wonderful Christmas time and a Happy New Year. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

On our first visit to Berlin the excellent location in former East Berlin allowed us to walk everywhere we needed to see major attractions. Our upgraded suite was (SPG Platinum) was terrific. Ate at restaurant one night (too tired to go out) and food was surprisingly very good. Very helpful concierges. No recumbent bikes in health club was our only negative.

Room Tip: Decline rooms in rear newer addition except for a balcony overlooking courtyard you could have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for being with us and for sharing with us your impressions. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests had a comfortable stay with us. Should your travel plans bring you back to our city, we are looking forward to your visit! The Westin Grand Berlin-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Had a two night excursion here in February. The hotel lives up to it's "Grand" name - very impressive. The central staircase and the lobby lounge are fabulous. Room was wonderful. From this base I easily walked everywhere I wanted to be in Mitte. Parking is pricey, but not unexpectedly so.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear guest, how wonderful to know you were comfortable with us! Thank you for letting us your impressions; we hope it was not your last stay here in Berlin and with us. Season's greetings and best wishes for the New Year! The Westin Grand Berlin-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#55 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#53 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#80 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing