We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not ideal for business travellers or families - what's left?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Grand Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #98 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Kouvola, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“not ideal for business travellers or families - what's left?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here with family (2 teenagers) for 4 nights 26-30, December, 2013. Our 2 rooms were booked by redeeming my Starwood points (I'm lifetime gold member) and found out that there is no way in Starwood system that you could have breakfast included if you are using your points. So in the restaurant the price for 4 people varied from EUR98,- to EUR128,-!! I checked the bill only at home, so I do not know why the difference in price... You could "pay" that with your points with 3 000 pts/person/bfast = so 12 000 for us every day. But when remembering that in for example in Asia you can book a room with 3000 points, the bfast price here is a scam.

The other huge letdown is the Wifi availability: there is no free wifi anywhere in the hotel, the price per hour is EUR 7,5/USD 10,-! Outrageous in 2014! For us and our kids a sure mood killer. I cannot recommend this hotel because of this fact for anyone. Not coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnnyboyFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. Unfortunately it is not possible to book an including rate via the SPG system currently. Breakfast rate is 32.00 per day and person which indeed can be paid with points. Should there be some differences on your invoice please do not hesitate to contact us. Internet price per hour is 3,50 €. May be this could change your mind and you will give us another chance some day? We would be pleased. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    998
    282
    95
    46
See reviews for
351
1,030
211
682
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at this fantastically well appointed hotel in central Berlin. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was both clean and comfortable.
We have both travelled extensively on business and leisure trips and in this modern age we find it rather odd that a hotel insists on charging for wifi access. We would certainly not stay here with our teenage children , who are very dependent on internet access. Come on Westin Grand,make Wifi free to your residents and embrace the modern age !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much indeed for your nice comment and for your recommendation in regards to the WiFi. We can understand your concerns in regards to WiFi costs and we are working on this to improve our service for our guests. So we hope you will return in the not too distant future to enjoy our advantages. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Centrally located on the main shopping street, the Westin Berlin was the highlight of our trip. We were upgraded as Platinum members into one of their themed suites which was a very nice touch. Unbelievably, there is a sizeable pool located in the ground floor which we were not able to partake. The hotel opens up to the main atrium filled with wonderful piano tunes during the day. The breakfast was equally impressive and included an extensive selection of hot and cold items. If we were to provide any feedback back to the hotel, we found the concierge staff a bit cold. Follow up questions did not seem to be welcomed and we felt intimidated by the assertive style. That aside, we felt the hotel was certainly top notch and was the highlight of our trip.

One suggestion to the hotel is to expand the wifi internet to more than two (2) devices. As a family of four, we had 3 ipads and mobile phones and were locked out after more than 2 devices. As it is 2014, its really time to revisit this limit as everyone caries more than 1 wifi-enabled device.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terps37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I just enjoyed four nights at the Westin Grand. I was in a "Garden Deluxe" room, which was quiet and well-appointed. Each member of the staff was personable and attentive. The pool was particularly beautiful and quiet. I liked that this was a Westin property, but it didn't totally feel like a Westin: it has its own style and grandeur. Above all, the location is perfect: the U-Bahn is just across the street. There are plenty of great hotels in Berlin, but I would return to the Westin any time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was amid the major Christmas markets, the arch, Reichstag among others. The staff was kind and the jacuzzi and spa area was quite pleasant after a long day of walking. The rooms were large and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and equipped with every necessity. Mind you, there are a lot of elderly peeps so it is quite and well there are few youngsters.

My room faced the street and the noise did not affect me in the slightest, a complaint I've seen by many on TA. If it worries you then simply ask for a room that does not face the streets or that is most quiet.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest, first of all we wish you a Happy New Year! And we say thank you for being our guest and for sharing with us your impressions. How nice that you enjoyed your stay! We hope it was not your last ... We are looking forward to your next visit! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel the weekend befor Christmas, what a great atmospher it had. Very friendly personnel, great service, nice room. The lobby was nicely decorated, okay the prices were a bit high, but when the waitress remembers exactly what you both drink, they know what high service and making your visitors comfortable, means.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CKuipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

As expected, the beds were really comfortable, the rooms were clean and we were well rested staying at the Westin. The hotel is conveniently located near the train station (approx 5-7mins walk). The breakfast spread was good. Concierge and Front Desk staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. Although we didn't utilize this service, we thought it was a great offering (the Westin Workout) where you pay 5 euros and rent workout gear.

As already pointed out by another reviewer, I find it surprising that, given this day and age, I still have to pay for WIFI. This would have been the first hotel where I needed to pay for WIFI. (I think it was around 4 euros for 1 hour) Btw, I would suggest for you to walk down to the nearby Starbucks, get a drink for 5 euros and have free WIFI (it's just by the train station) unless you're in dire need of WIFI and the Starbucks is closed.

Airport transfers are quite pricey (think it was 90 euros), in the end we decided to just get a cab from across the street (there was a constant queue of cabs) and the fare to the Tegal airport was about 20 euros.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabby182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and thank you too for your comment which will we certainly consider for the future. Unfortunately we are not able to offer free WiFi for the moment. But we are pleased that you otherwise could enjoy your stay in Berlin and with us. It would also a pleasure if this would not have been your last visit here. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#50 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Titanic Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#14 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#75 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing