We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 'ol USA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #105 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good 'ol USA”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is just what I expected in a Westin: a little slice of home. An amazingly huge comfortable bed, actual washcloths, and crispy bacon at the breakfast buffet.

There is definitely no European charm to this hotel, but it was a great respite in the midst of lots of time away from the USA.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for giving us your impressions - how nice that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for having chosen The Westin Grand Berlin; we hope it was not your last stay with us and in Berlin. We are looking forward to your next visit to be your home in Berlin! Andrea W., Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    1,040
    296
    102
    49
See reviews for
368
1,078
216
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Pola, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful central location so you can walk around with ease to most major attractions. Hotel is well run with good services. Very complete breakfast of a high standard, bar is comfortable to have a drink and rooms although a touch dated are clean, spacious with what you need. A place to return to in this city of differing contrasts.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
To see that our guests enjoyed their stay is the best remuneration for our work. Satisfaction of our guests is what we work for. Thank you very much for being here and thank you for making the efforts to write your evaluation. We are looking forward to your next stay! The Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Room was of a good standard , and the hotel itself is well located and very beautiful.
It's a pity because it is all spoilt by arrogant and rude staff.
The service at the bar was really bad , and not up to standard for a 5 star hotel.
I don't understand how it takes 15 minutes to bring a bill , or 20 minutes to acknowledge guests once you have seated yourself in the bar area.
Our room key was also temperamental and we had to have it replaced 3 times.
The staff was not friendly and were full of attitude when I complained about various things such a the key not working for the 3rd time or the poor service at the bar.
I would rather stay somewhere else for the same money where the staff is polite and the service is of standard !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B0rgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear guest, very sad for us to let you leave our hotel completely unsatisfied. We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations! Even if it would have been much more better to offer compelling service already during your stay we only hope you will accept our sincere apology afterwards. Please be assured that no one than ourselves regret more to offer a bad service. In case we get a second chance please be assured we will do our utmost for your comfortable stay. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W., Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A very good quality hotel which only had one downside a very unfriendly and arrogant lady in service express who refused to help with printing and finding a location of an hotel of the same group in another town.
The breakfast was excellent and my room was really excellent

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henryschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear guest, offering a high level service standard for the comfort of our guests is the aim what we work for every day. Not meeting guest expectations is disappointing not only for the guests, even for us. Please take our deep apology for the inconveniences the nonprofessional behaviour may have caused. We will do our utmost to convince you during your next stay with us and hope to get occasion for it. The Westin Grand Berlin-Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahrenshoop, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

You can't go wrong with this hotel. The hotel has something to it, especially when you stand on one of the top floors and look down into the entrance hall which is designed in an octagon (see picture). There are grand rooms and suits right on the gallery but also corridors leaving each gallery with smaller rooms. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms which was still more than sufficient. After the meetings I walked around in the "Friedrichstrasse" and of course the famous "Unter den Linden" which peaks in the Brandenburg Gate! Great for Shopping, Great bars and estaminets and safe to walk around. I am really picky about the last part, but believe me here there are so many people walking around that I think it is safe also at night. Especially do not forget to visit the "Gendarmenmarkt" - also just a few steps away from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3breathed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much to letting us know your experiences; certainly it is a pleasure to see that you felt comfortable. We would be pleased if it was not your last stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit in Berlin and at The Westin Grand Berlin! Andrea W., Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Chose this hotel as I like the Westin and the location is good near the center of Berlin. Close to Mitte, The Brandenberg Gate and the Gendarmenmarkt. The welcome at check in is friendly and the staff are professional. The hotel itself is dated and in need of some renovation. Feeling is a bit dark and outdated. My room was very comfortable and clean but there were no Tea or coffee making facilities and the you have to pay for the Wifi per device you connect. There is a good Room service menu and the food quality was very good.

Overall a nice stay but disappointed by the lack of room facilities and the Wifi. I will choose a different hotel for my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for in room tea making facilities and free WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xing-jia-bi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear guest, we deeply regret that we could not meet your expectations and you were disappointed. Guest comments will taken very seriously by us and we always take it into consideration for improvements. Should your travel plans bring you back to Berlin somewhen in the future we would be pleased to get a second chance. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Based on some of the reviews posted I was a bit afraid as to what I might expect, even being a platinum member but is till kept my reservation and overall I was extremely satisfied. I had a nice room, clean, quiet. As I was quite jet lagged, my sleeping / eating hours were a bit strange but room service food and quality was really 5 star. Also had a problem were the heating did not work , not even 5 minutes later a technician came in and fixed it.
Only negative point was when I arrived. No one was there to help with the luggage...same when I left. A bit strange for a 5 star hotel.
I will definitely choose this hotel again when I go back,

Room Tip: The spaghetti bolognese from room service is excellent.... You can ask to make it a little spicy...y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel3282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
A nice review and we thank you for it and for being with us. We are delighted not having appointed you and your impressions underline our efforts to offer a luxury service, even if we were not perfect in regards to the luggage service. Our Executive Chef thanks you for the hint in regards to the spaghetti ….. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#56 of 634 in Berlin
4,403 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,202 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#52 of 634 in Berlin
1,905 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#79 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing