We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds, excellent staff, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #107 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds, excellent staff, central location”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I am surprised that this hotel is not rated more highly on tripadvisor. I have stayed in five other hotels in Berlin and the Westin is my favorite.

All of my trips to Berlin have been for work but I always try to squeeze in a little fun on work trips. The Westin is centrally located relative to my business meetings and to conference venues while being close to sights, shopping, good restaurants, and pretty walks.

The Westin Heavenly Bed never disappoints. The rooms are comfortable and on the large size for a European city.

The staff is top-notch and definitely up to the standard of a five star hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your report. Indeed expectations of guests are quite different; you as a frequent traveler are able to see the differences between hotels and to evaluate the service. All the more we are really pleased to read that you were comfortable with us and appreciated our service standard. Thank you so much for your stay and for sharing with us your impressions. We are looking for your next stay in your Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    1,050
    299
    103
    52
See reviews for
376
1,090
217
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

All-in-all not too much to say about this hotel, it's an excellent chain hotel. Standard rooms, well kept, with excellent amenities.

Rooms - excellent, quiet and well equipped
Location - excellent for tourists
Service - excellent, polite and efficient
Sleep quality - very good, did n't notice any noise in the room and I am a light sleeper.

Would I stay again - definitely when I'm next in Berlin; location and value were excellent

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disestablishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your review - short and crispy but it says all necessary. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel and we hope this was not the last time here - we are looking forward to your stay! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed with my family at the Westin Grand Berlin from 4/12-4/16. The hotel was really nice. I had a hard time choosing hotels in Germany because most of them have twin beds and wood paneled decor. This was more like an American hotel. We booked two room and the hotel had them right next to one another. They had already put in a nice bed for my five year old daughter. Everyone at the hotel was really nice and helpful. I was really happy I stayed there. Breakfast in the hotel was awesome by the way. Try to get it included with your rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshfuld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest, it is really a pleasure to see that we could make your stay memorable. Thank you very much for being with us and thank you for your review. We always try our utmost to fulfill our guest wishes - how nice when we could exceed your expectations. We are looking forward to your next Berlin visit and your stay with us ... The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I see other not so positive remarks, but I thought the Westin Grand we excellent - just as the Westin Brand always is. I have been Platinum 3 times and Gold 4, so I have a pretty good experience base. The room was clean, with an excellent queen bed. My room is modern and feels like one of the latest Westins (not the circa 1995 kind) with update lights, multi plugs on the desk, and LCD TV. I wish there were more english stations, but this is Berlin after all. The location is fantastic. 5 mins to Brandenburg gate, Bundestag, Holocaust memorial, and 15 mins from Checkpoint Charlie.

In line with expectations for a Westin - but that is exactly what I expect world wide.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Your title is the greatest description for a hotel ever: being at home. That is what we like to be and for what we work every day. Thank you for your stay with us and for giving us your impression. We hope you will return one day to Berlin - and your Berlin-home: The Westin Grand Berlin. We are looking forward to your stay. Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I've stayed in many Westin's around the world. This was not up to standard and lets down their global brand. The decor was tired and in severe need of a refresh. My room was noisy from the elevator shaft. The bathroom was smaller than I would have expected for the price/standards of the city. Service was functional rather than warm. At no point did it feel like my stay was important to them. The wifi was a rip off, which left me feeling like they were just screwing me over for yet more cash.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abrdngy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guest, to let go a guest disappointed, makes us disappointed too. Our aim is your satisfaction and comfort during your stay. You should feel at home here and we sincere regret by reading your comment with your impressions. Please be informed that we are going to undertake some refreshments within this year and we will constantly doing maintaining works. You can be assured that you are important to us; you are the reason why we work here. We would be pleased to convince you a next time and hope to get a chance. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location for tourism. This is an American luxury hotel so you are not getting the European/quaint B & B experience. Really comfy king size bed (rare to find king size in Europe) and nice workout facility/spa. They offer massages and facials but we did not partake. They have a nice hot tub and swimming pool. Great bar/restaurant area...they will let you sit for hours as long as your order something. Use the concierge, that's what they are there for. 10-20 minute walk to Brandenburg gate, Reichstag, Holocaust museum...all the sites. 2 subway stops to Checkpoint Charlie, Berlin Wall, Topography of Terror. It is definitely in the hustle and bustle of tourism so everything shuts down around 7-8pm. Right by all of the embassies and shopping. We booked on SPG points. If I had to pay, I would probably find somewhere else. You don't NEED the amenities when you're our sightseeing all day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for being and sharing with us your impressions in Berlin and our hotel. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope it won't be your last one! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was very surprised to find that this 4 star hotel in the heart of Berlin was very unimpressive once you pass the grand staircase. Here is my list of pros and cons...

Pro: great location near many wonderful attractions and restaurants

Cons:
-rooms are old in appearance and very small, even for European standards.
- hotel pool is small and the water was quite cold, causing our child to get quite sick
- the breakfast is 40 euro per person and wifi is 15 euro per day. Many more charming hotels in Berlin offer free breakfast and wifi
- the staff is incredibly rude and inconsiderate and does not care to accommodate their guests in any way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alhayaat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guest, thank your for being with us and thank you for listing all your impressions as it is very important for us to get a real feedback of our guests. Our breakfast offers a great variety of foods and beverages and includes also the very healthy Superfoods. The most of our guests appreciate it very much and the rate appropriate. Indeed our pool size is not made for Olympic Games, but has a special round form with 13 diameters. Please be assured that all our guests are valued and polite and friendly behavior is a matter of course. We will evaluate your impression with our staff to make them even more sensitive at any time. Whenever you intend to come to Berlin we hope to get a second chance to convince you. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#60 of 634 in Berlin
4,463 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,212 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#55 of 634 in Berlin
1,918 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 634 in Berlin
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#82 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing