We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #107 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful and centrally located”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Gorgeous hotel located in an area where you are able to walk to most places (Checkpoint Charlie, the Reichstag, etc...) Breakfast buffet and a la carte menus were very good. Bar was pretty packed most every night and we really enjoyed sitting outside and having a drink before heading back to our rooms to shower and change for a night out on the town. I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it weren't for the following:

We were sitting outside and I had ordered drinks from the bar. My better half of course, being German, wanted some coffee and cake. Since there was no cake on the menu, he walked to a local bakery, got a slice, and joined me. he was told he could not eat the cake there because he has not purchased it there. Mind you, we were purchasing drinks from them. I find this completely unacceptable. He had to sit there and watch me drink while I guzzled my wine so we could rush back to the room and he can have his cake.

While I understand this is Europe and their customs and practices are different, this is a hotel in the TOURIST part of town so please, be a little more considerate and a little less ridiculous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much indeed for being with us and not at least for your comment. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay apart from your main issue. Thank you very much for your opinion; certainly we can understand your point of view; even if we are in the centre of tourists - in luxury hotels it is indeed not usually to bring your own food with you. But at this point we wondering that we were not able to offer you an appropriate cake to you as we serve a wide variety of cakes. Please take our sincere apology for the unpleasant situation. We will take your hint serious indeed to be more sensitive. We would be pleased to get a 2nd chance and hope you will be our guest again. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    1,060
    303
    107
    54
See reviews for
382
1,103
219
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There is no doubt about it, the Westin is a nice hotel. It is super clean and has a bit of the Grand flair older hotels often have. I was there for business on a Monday though, and there wasn't a whole lot going on. The hotel seemed almost empty.
Also, this hotel is in the previous East Berlin and there is construction happening all around it. Not that you could hear it in the rooms, but it made the whole sight not as appealing to me.
The food was pretty decent, but overpriced. I bought a Curry Wurst and promptly paid something like 15 Euros for it.
The room was fairly big, but to me this hotel lacked character.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest, thank you for being with us and thank you too for your comment. That's really a pity that we could not meet your expectations. Our aim is the satisfaction of our guests and hopefully we get another occasion to convince you. Your Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Qld Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Westin Grand Berlin close to the heart of Berlin, so great walking distance to key locations in Berlin. Parks, the Brandenburg Gate and waking distance to museums.
Would definitely stay there again. Also close to shopping areas and safe area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for giving us your impression. So nice to see, that we may welcome you again, whenever you have a chance for return. We are looking forward to your stay! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stay in the Westin Grand probably 4-8 times a year. I do a fair bit of business in the area and so as a business hotel I would say it is clean and relatively standard. its not the best business hotel I've stayed in. The Gym is small and not complete, but fine if you want to run a little and lift very basic weights. The last time I stayed there they moved me from my reserved queen bed to two doubles pushed together which basically means you are sleeping on one side in a double. The location is great, its very central and ideal for seeing the main sights and being able to go on a run in the park. All that said, I put my last trip at a 3/5 because they changed my room on me.

The best hotel to stay at in the area is the Soho house followed by the Ritz Carlton, sometimes you can get lucky and they are the same rate as the Westin Grand. I would also say this hotel is not close to all the happening spots in Berlin. Soho house is better situated for nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest, even if we could not convince you completely so far, we thank you for being with us and for your review. Any constructive comment helps us for monitoring and improving our service. We regret the faux-pas with the bed; please ask us especially for your preferences. We would be happy to get always a chance and to be your home in Berlin - far from your home. Certainly we will do the utmost to make you feel comfortable. The Westin Grand Berlin-Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location, very apt and approachable towards any part of the town. Breakfast needs to include more vegetarian variety especially during the vacation months. Staff was very helpful and courteous. In my next visit to Berlin, I am definitely staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EktaBiyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest, you would come back one day and that is the nicest review we could get! Thank you for your feedback; certainly we will consider your hint in regards to the vegetarian supplements for the breakfast. We are looking forward to your next stay with us! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Westing Grand Berlin is located right next to the Brandenburg gate and therefore in the heart of Berlin. You will be in walking distance from the key attractions in Berlin. The hotel itself was very good, with good accommodations and friendly staff. Would sure stay there in my next trip to Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
No better comment can be given to us - thank you very much for your nice comment! To be recommended shows us that you had a comfortable stay and that is what we are working for. We are looking forward to your next stay here in our exciting city and at The Westin Grand Berlin! Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spent a very much belated honeymoon (we have teenagers now!) in the Berlin we always wanted to visit. Easter 2014 was great: fine weather, lots of sunshine, crisp mornings, small crowds and amazing cultural sites. The hotel is located in the right spot: walk to the Tor, Bundestag, the boutique shopping zone and Museum Island. U Bahn service was excellent and construction noise from Unter Der Linden minimal. We had lots of room, excellent bathroom, windows to open (to give you that fresh air you need) and overlooked the shopping precinct. Housekeeping excellent and ideal low noise environs. Excellent value if purchased in advance locking in 30% discount. A great base to explore Berlin by foot, bike or public transport. Tegel bus 30m away!

Room Tip: South side rooms are indeed quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#65 of 634 in Berlin
4,516 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#9 of 634 in Berlin
1,225 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,885 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#83 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing