We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst westin I have stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #105 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
tel aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst westin I have stayed at”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from 6 nights at this hotel. Had to change our rooms twice first because a pipe underneath the carpet blew up so it was all wet the second room had a cockroach in the bed...
We had trouble with electricity in the room from time to time.
The service at the hotel was at a very low level. We requested to speak to the GM but we were told he is busy and won't be able to find time during our week stay. Not to mention I am a platinum spg member.
Saying all that the location is great but the level of a youth hostel...

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank doronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest, first of all we thank you for your stay with us and certainly for giving us your review. As often happens you unfortuantely experienced a combination of unfortuante circumstances and not our normal, fine service as you may can excepted. Already during your stay we have tried to find a way to make your stay comfortable, but of course we can not undo the poor impression you have to got. We hope you will be accept our sincere apology and our promise to make your next stay with us enjoyable. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    1,040
    296
    102
    49
See reviews for
368
1,078
216
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
239 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in this Starwood property recently to explore Berlin. It is very well-located. We were able to walk to many of the sights: Tiergarden, Brandenburg Gate, Museum Island, and even the TV Tower. Our garden view room was pleasant and quiet. We could hear some noise from other rooms occasionally, but overall, it was a quiet place. Shower & bath were good, and the bed & bedding were excellent. We did not eat in the hotel, but there are many restaurants in the area. The bar was nice, and made excellent cocktails. The swimming pool at the spa was small but adequate for a stretch after a long flight, however the showers lacked soap both times I used the pool. There are U-Bahn stations being constructed near the hotel, and when those are completed the location will be super-convenient for using public transportation. I would recommend this hotel, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoisonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest, we are really pleased indeed – at first that you has been our guest and secondly for your kind report. Constructive reviews are really apprecaited as they can help us in monitoring and improving our service standards. We are looking forward to your next Berlin visit and stay with us! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel from May 3rd to 4th 20014. In a suite overlooking a garden that is well landscaped. It's a surprise to find an Eco - friendly ambience in the middle of urban Berlin.
The space is adequate and the fittings modern.
The stair hall is iconic and the restaurant had good service. The concierge were friendly , nice and courteous .Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and also given a chip of the WALL with authentication.

Tolu Talabi

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the garden if you are a nature lover
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talabi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It is a pleasant to read your review, dear guest! Thank you so much for being with us and thank you for your kind words - we hope this was not your last stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olot, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is ideally located. Walking distance to the Brandenburger Tor and a nice walk through Unter den linden street to Aleksander platz.
My room was on the 3rd floor and it was spacious, however some of the decoration is old and will need renovation soon.
Tha main entrance, restaurant, staircase... looks classy.
The worst part, WiFi is not free!! 15€ per day or 3.50€ per a single hour!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest, we are really sad to so that we could not meet your expectations! The satisfaction of our guests is our first aim and we hope to get a second chance whenever your plans bring you back to Berlin. We would love to convince you not only with location, with service too! The Westin Grand Berlin-Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Gorgeous hotel located in an area where you are able to walk to most places (Checkpoint Charlie, the Reichstag, etc...) Breakfast buffet and a la carte menus were very good. Bar was pretty packed most every night and we really enjoyed sitting outside and having a drink before heading back to our rooms to shower and change for a night out on the town. I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it weren't for the following:

We were sitting outside and I had ordered drinks from the bar. My better half of course, being German, wanted some coffee and cake. Since there was no cake on the menu, he walked to a local bakery, got a slice, and joined me. he was told he could not eat the cake there because he has not purchased it there. Mind you, we were purchasing drinks from them. I find this completely unacceptable. He had to sit there and watch me drink while I guzzled my wine so we could rush back to the room and he can have his cake.

While I understand this is Europe and their customs and practices are different, this is a hotel in the TOURIST part of town so please, be a little more considerate and a little less ridiculous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much indeed for being with us and not at least for your comment. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay apart from your main issue. Thank you very much for your opinion; certainly we can understand your point of view; even if we are in the centre of tourists - in luxury hotels it is indeed not usually to bring your own food with you. But at this point we wondering that we were not able to offer you an appropriate cake to you as we serve a wide variety of cakes. Please take our sincere apology for the unpleasant situation. We will take your hint serious indeed to be more sensitive. We would be pleased to get a 2nd chance and hope you will be our guest again. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There is no doubt about it, the Westin is a nice hotel. It is super clean and has a bit of the Grand flair older hotels often have. I was there for business on a Monday though, and there wasn't a whole lot going on. The hotel seemed almost empty.
Also, this hotel is in the previous East Berlin and there is construction happening all around it. Not that you could hear it in the rooms, but it made the whole sight not as appealing to me.
The food was pretty decent, but overpriced. I bought a Curry Wurst and promptly paid something like 15 Euros for it.
The room was fairly big, but to me this hotel lacked character.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest, thank you for being with us and thank you too for your comment. That's really a pity that we could not meet your expectations. Our aim is the satisfaction of our guests and hopefully we get another occasion to convince you. Your Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Qld Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Westin Grand Berlin close to the heart of Berlin, so great walking distance to key locations in Berlin. Parks, the Brandenburg Gate and waking distance to museums.
Would definitely stay there again. Also close to shopping areas and safe area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for giving us your impression. So nice to see, that we may welcome you again, whenever you have a chance for return. We are looking forward to your stay! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#56 of 634 in Berlin
4,403 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,202 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#52 of 634 in Berlin
1,905 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#79 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing