We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Grand Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #94 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at many Westin hotels and the Westin Grand in Berlin certainly lives up to the Westin's high standards.
The staff were extremely friendly and efficient, the room good and the bar excellent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexMorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Very pleasant review - we thank you very much for your stay and your comment! The Westin Grand Berlin-Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,196
    995
    280
    92
    46
See reviews for
349
1,027
211
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Overall our stay was very good at this Westin. We have stayed at many, so we are able to compare. We arrived after a late day flight, and were very tired. The young lady at the reception desk was rather indifferent and kept laughing at something. Her behavior came across poorly. The others of the staff during our stay were fine. But as "first impression" people, the front desk staff should have a warmer demeanor. Our room was clean and comfortable. However, I was surprised that there was no coffee/tea service or wifi included in the room. Most hotels of this level offer this. Other than these points our stay was great. The location is fantastic and the appearance of the hotel is inviting. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much for your nice comment; it was evaluated within our team and we do apology for the poor impression during your check in. On the other hand you had a pleasant stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay; we would like to be your first choice should you return one day to our wonderful city. The Westin Grand Berlin-Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is lovely, charming, nicely elegant without being formal or stuffy. Great service, from room service to check-in to morning breakfast room, and a great send-off in a cab. Note there is construction across two of the three facing streets, but all of Berlin in the immediate area is under construction, so it isn't confined to the hotel area. It did start early in the morning, though. The morning buffet was beautiful, hot, and plentiful, and offered Berlin/German delicacies, as well as choices such as lactose-free dairy products. I enjoyed the swimming pool and jacuzzi (both indoors) one evening, although it is swim at your own risk. Housekeeping was usually mid-day, whenever I wanted to come back to the room, however, and my robe kept disappearing without replacement. One nice feature was a menu of room options, such as a kettle (with tea and coffee powder provided for free). There also is a lovely large interior garden, with an area where I could read quietly during a rainy day (although the smokers kept coming through the area with smoke clouds). Booking was easy online - I had one question and used Starwood's tollfree number and they were more than helpful. Starwood's loyalty program's profile, however, should provide the option of the need for hypo-allergenic bedding - I initially had trouble getting this addressed onsite, although quickly resolved once I pointed it out. One major issue was the high cost of Internet connectivity in the room or lobby; there is, however, a hidden Internet console where you can check the weather, flights, etc behind the check-in desk. Westin Grand needs to just factor in the cost of connectivity to the room rate. Note that I spent significant time with colleagues in rival Hilton a few blocks away, where they had numerous Internet consoles in lobby for public use for free. Another issue is the tricky shower/tub faucet, with no instructions, that you cannot turn on until you are in the tub and scald yourself - Westin needs to address this. In general, a beautiful, friendly hotel with some factors to address.

Room Tip: 3 different street facings plus an interior garden means you have much to choose from for a view. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much for your detailed and constructive review. It helps us indeed to monitor and improve our service standards. So great to see that you mostly enjoyed your days here; your advises will be taken seriously into consideration for improvements for our guests. Thank you again for being with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the not too distance future! The Westin Grand Berlin-Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed here three nights in early June. We had booked our rooms separately (she booked after we did) and like another reviewer, we did not think that breakfast was included. Fortunately, we WERE told at check-in that it was included, but because we did ask. While the location and property itself were wonderful, the breakfast room service was not up to Westin standards. The food was delicious and constantly restocked, BUT the staff clearing tables and serving coffee were below average. Unoccupied tables were not cleared even after pointing them out several times. There was no where to sit two of the three mornings we were there. Each time we asked (4 times) we were ignored. Finally, our daughter actually went down to the front desk to point this out. We are normally patient people but this was inexcusable as they were not that busy~just very busy ignoring dirty, unoccupied tables. Obviously, this did not ruin our trip, but it was disappointing and not "Westin-like" service.
On a side note, we did have free internet but perhaps that was because they either changed their policy or because we are Starwood members.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were placed overlooking an interior courtyard. It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piglet9150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your effort to evaluate us. We do not want to forget to mention, that of course we check all relevant booking details upon check in normally as we did in your case. In regards to your breakfast experience we already have taken corrective actions immediately in the early June and you will get a first class service as you may expect. Please take your apology for inconveniences and give us a second chance to make your stay perfect during your next visit in Berlin. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location, and with a metro stop just steps from the front door, it is very convenient. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub; it was nice to unwind after a busy day touring the city. The room itself, located on the 7th floor, was excellent. This was a recently renovated room and the beds were extremely comfortable with superb linens.

The Westin Berlin has the potential to be among the best hotels in the world, if they can iron out a few annoyances. When we checked in, we were initially directed to a sub-standard room located on the 1st floor. However, you had to take an elevator to the 2nd floor, walk down the hall, and take another elevator back down to the 1st level. Huh? The room itself was outdated, and while it was a good size, there were no windows in the bedroom. The gentleman at the front desk moved us to another room, and this was done quickly and efficiently.

We were very disappointed to learn, when we checked out for a 4-night stay, that our room rate had included free breakfast. We weren't told this by the young woman at check-in, and didn't get a chance to take advantage of it. To make matters worse, we were charged the city tax on the breakfast. We thought our rate should have been reduced, or perhaps an offer of breakfast for a future Westin stay.

As several people have noted, the internet service is costly. I'd like to point out to the hotel that while I recognize that good internet costs them money to provide, guests highly consider free (or at least low-cost) internet in their decision to stay. Also, why limit access to 2 devices? In this day and age, we had at least 4 wifi devices.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would consider it again myself. However,with just a bit more effort, Westin Berlin would have had a strong advocate and unqualified recommendation.

Room Tip: Rooms on 7th floor are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srinfo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guests, Thank you for your evaluation in regards to your impressions here. We do appreciate constructive comments as yours. And as written in our former responses we are working on for improve our service offer especiall in regards to the free WiFi; we hope to have better news for you soon. We love to see that you did feel comfortable here with us and are looking forward to your next stay! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel was in an amazing position within walking distance of the Brandenburg Gate. The breakfast was really good with everything that you could wish to have. The room that we had although small was luxurious with Egyptian cotton linen and a fresh bottle of water placed in the room every day of our stay. The one problem we had was that you had to pay for use of the internet in the room and there was no internet access in the lounge. Free internet access in the lounge would make the hotel unbeatable in every respect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
So nice for us to see that you enjoyed your stay with us - thank you for being here and for giving us your review. In regards to the Wifi we are working on improving our service offer and we hope we can give you good news soon! May be you could experience it during your next stay - we are looking foward for it! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Westin Berlin is the most amazing hotel - VERY modern and new - bath robes and slippers. The room service and breakfast is delicious and inexpensive. The beds are the most comfortable beds I have EVER slept in. The hotel and rooms are very high quality.

The hotel is in the perfect location - right in the middle of everything you need to see. It is in Mitte, right by some delicious authentic German restaurants and very close to the Brandenburg Gate and museum island, both of which are must-sees!

The staff at the front desk and the concierge are very nice and helpful. They all speak English and can make reservations for museums and restaurants for you.

One drawback: you have to pay for wifi. 4 euros for 1 hour, 17 euros for 1 day, and it goes up from there.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Friedrechstrasse have balconies and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elle_lambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Your comment in regards to the wifi cost will be taken seriously even if we can not act immediately - we 've got it to improve our service offer in the not too distant future. And we hope this will convince your during your next stay with us! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#51 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,225 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Titanic Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#13 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#10 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#71 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing