We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, location and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #117 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We only stayed at this hotel for one night in our return trip to the US from Vienna but it was a great hotel. When we checked in since my husband is an SPG platinum ambassador the manager on duty came out to greet us and speak with us. She was a lovely lady and was very pleasant to speak to. Although we already had a lust of things to see she spoke to us about so e of the must sees, if you inky have one night, and some of the local food. The room had a beautiful view of the gardens and was perfect for a one night stay. We chose the eat the buffet breakfast and it as well was good. I think the only thing I noticed about the breakfast was that some of their fresh fruit was not in the best shape, but hey they can't control if fruit is ripe.
The location is awesome as well ;)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aoneeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you, dear guest, for your wonderful review. We are glad indeed that you enjoyed our service and the friendliness of our staff. However, certainly all dishes must be in a perfect conditions and we even will be more attentive in checking also the fruits. We hope you will return one day! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 2,916 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here from 21st to 25th July. The Hotel staff were very polite and helpful, the room was perfect, no complaints whatsoever. Towels changed each day. unusual design inside as all floors look down upon the ground floor outside your room. The spa attached to the hotel (which is free to use) is brilliant with a pool, Jacuzzi + 3 saunas and you can go nude in the sauna if you wish. Breakfast was a bit expensive although they had an offer on of 16E when we were there. However we found a very good cafe nearby that did a good english style breakfast for 9E and the service was excellent. Friedrichstrasse railway station is only a 5 minute walk away which takes you to Schodefeld airport for flights back to the UK. Also the Hotel was central to a lot of site seeing inc the German Parliament the Wall exhibition, Brandenberg gate etc etc.

Room Tip: Had room over the street where the entrance is and no noise noticed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Crazy_Frogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay at at the Westin Grand. The staff was very helpful and spoke good English. The room service and food was very nice and so was the buffet breakfast! The room was nice, clean and functional. The beds were like a cloud!!!

Being a 5 star hotel though we expected a little more... Such as a doorman to greet us and a porter to help with all of our bags... Without us having to ask. This happens at most other Starwood hotels. We also expected movies and more TV channels, and free wifi in the lobby (but there wasn't any) which most other Starwood hotels have.

Apart from the negatives everything else was great! Massages were great, so was the pool, spa and gym.

The location was Perfect and I will stay at the Westin in future for sure because of that convenience!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank emilywanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you for sharing with us your impressions and we are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you too for mentioning the negatives as they help us in monitoring and improving our service. For sure you may expect luggage service and we have evaluated this issue immediately to avoid in the future. We are confident that your positive impressions prevail and you will be our guest again. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here in late May for 4 nights. Check-in was very smooth since we arrived in the evening. Had a Deluxe room with 2 twin beds on the 6th floor facing the front. The beds were incredibly comfortable! The room and the bathroom were immaculate.
The location of the hotel is excellent. The #6 metro is 1/2 block from the hotel, there is a good selection of fine dining about 3 blocks, and there is ample shopping adjacent. We had drinks and snacks in the lobby bar and the food/service was all very good.
The only drawback is that WIFI is available at a charge. There is a business center, but one needs to pay for a card to access WIFI, and have the receptionist provide access to the computer area. Having stayed in all 4/5 star hotels during our travels, we never had an issue with complimentary WIFI except for at the Westin Grand.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Letty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind review; it is really a pity that it was impacted by our Internet costs, but as mentioned before we are working on this and would be pleased to would come back to convince you during your next Berlin stay. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Location - great - near to train stations and landmarks

Service - Hit n misses but generally it is friendly

Room - clean n reasonable sizes. Deluxe room does not come with coffee machine and tooth brush - well so you can ask and it would be given. Internet access comes with Euro15 per day, I can't say that it is a bad thing, its just a policy that a big giant like Starwood put in place -

Breakfast - good spread and VERY good servers generally - i enjoyed it immensely

Room service food quality is very respectable - i seldom order room service but this outlet is good

all in all a good stay

Room Tip: Remember to flash your SPG card - it would give you a better room. I forget to flash mine and got ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddiensw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Nice to see that you had a pleasant stay, it is our pleasure too. Thank you for your review and your comment which is appreciated indeed. We hope to be able to offer an improvement in regards to the Internet during your next - we are looking forward to it. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As many have said, this elegant hotel was featured in the second Bourne movie, and for good reason. It has a beautiful lobby with a very high ceiling. Service and staff were more than great, every little request was fulfilled and delivered. Room service was always much earlier than the 30 minute estimate, and the concierge was very helpful with planning walks and biking routes. The location is fantastic, being right in the middle of an exciting area. Quick walks to the Brandenberg Gate, the Reichstag, Tiergarten, and Checkpoint Charlie. One tip, I'd advise you to get a room not facing the construction if you like to stare out your window. If you're not picky, any view would be fine, the rooms are quite soundproof. Eat at the breakfast buffet, and treat yourself by ordering room service at least once!

One criticism: The wifi here is not free! I have no clue why, this seems kind of ridiculous for a hotel of this caliber and price tag. I would hope this changes in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask to not be facing construction if you want a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter20274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest, how nice to see how much you enjoyed your stay. It is always great for us to read such a comment as it confirm us in our work for our guests. Please consider that we also provide Internet service with hot line and high speed internet. As we mentioned before we are working to improve our internet offer asap. We hope you will be satisfied completely and to 110% during your next stay. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Great view on the city, very nice rooms and absolutely great pool and spa area, good location just 3 minutes walking from the central train station and 5 from the zoo, probably the best place to have some rest in the middle of Leipzig.
Try it out!

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Shlomo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest, we thank you very much for your kind comment and that you enjoyed your stay in the middle of Berlin ! ;) We hope Leipzig was great too ... Thank you again and should you return to Germany we would love to be your Berlin home! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,719 reviews
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#18 of 634 in Berlin
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#14 of 634 in Berlin
3,612 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
1,574 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#45 Family Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#88 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £92 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing