We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Grand is good, but used to be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #106 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Westin Grand is good, but used to be better”
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We have stayed at the Westin Grand Berlin several times in the last 10 years due to the location but also because they always had the most phenomenal New Years Eve gala party with fantastic entertainment (like a Las Vegas, aerialist and Broadway review). So after several years absence, we were excited to go there again because this time we had our extended family joining us for the festivities, which we had excitedly told them to anticipate a party above all others. Very disappointing. First of all, there had been a renovation of the lobby and rooms. While the rooms sorely needed this, the lobby did not. What used to have old-world charm (think Vienna/baroque decor), looked boringly like it was decorated by whoever decorates the Westins in places like No-wheresville, New Jersey. Color of the carpeting on the grand staircase and throughout was brown and beige. It used to be red oriental design...very regal. The old world charm of the lobby looked like it was now the business lounge at the airport. Very sad. The architecture SCREAMS for old world. How could this have been overlooked? In addition, without the gala events of years prior, this was a substandard New Years Eve bash. The band was mediocre at best. They were better when they stopped playing and put a CD on. Did not play what you might expect on New Years Eve for the more mature crowd. No Frank Sinatra. No big band. Played FAST Viennese waltzes that frustrated the couples with only modest dance ability, and then played disco. The crowd was mostly 50+. Also, the band was at the bottom of the staircase and the tables all upstairs. Had to struggle down that staircase in heels (and mine were very high) if you wanted to dance. My daughter fell trying to get down in her shoes. Not a great idea. In years past, the tables were at the foot of the staircase and once on both levels, but then they used the staircase as the "stage", performers moving up and down it so they could be seen by all. Food was good. Actually, the next morning, there was a buffet brunch with a different band (a quintet with sax, trombone, bass and piano and guitar) and they were excellent. They should have been the New Years Eve band. We sat there the entire 3 hours just for them.
Also, as someone else wrote, there is no free water in the room! I don't call this a 5 star hotel any longer. It's a 4 star. Used to be 5, but falls short now. If you only care about the location, then it's great, but we will not stay again for Christmas and New Years. Also they really have no restaurant. There is a room for breakfast buffet, but there is no upscale restaurant. Definitely this place needs a bit of an upgrade to compare with the likes of the Ritz (with a wonderful New Years Eve party, by the way) located at Potsdamer Platz. Internet was not free either and rather expensive!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krueger33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    1,030
    292
    99
    49
See reviews for
364
1,063
215
701
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens,Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Unfortunatelly I only stayed one night at the Westin so I guess I will only repeat what most other reviewers had to say. This is a very good hotel in the heart of an amazing city. It is on Friedrichstrasse and Under der Linden and you can easilly walk to most major attractions (although Berlin having been separated for so long is twice as big as most major cities). There is also a U bahn stop right outside the door just in case you are too tired to walk...
The room was adequet in size and clean but I would really appreciate a coffee maker. I ordered room service breakfast and it was very good. The hotel lobby is very impressive and grand as it shows in the pictures. The staff I spoke to were professional and friendly and I don't really think I need anything more from a hotel. I'll make sure I stay this place again next time I visit Berlin (hope it's soon...)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinBerlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 19 January 2010
Thank you very much! For your convenient stay you can order tea/coffee make facilites at our service express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Family of 6 from Ireland. 4 adults and 2 children, 5ys and 11ys. My son, his wife and me granny and my husband. My son and his family usually stay in 5 star hotels and have travelled worldwide My husband and I are lesser mortals and were relishing the prospect of staying in the Westin. A treat for Christmas---my son said he had "got a good deal"!.

First the positive thoughts about our stay. Berlin is a great city. Lots to do. Tasty reasonable food and drink. Super transport system. Friendly people, and jolly Christmas markets around every corner. We even had a little snow!.
The Westin is in a great location,. Comfortable bedroom. Delicious breakfast (with champagne). Mostly friendly staff, smiling chambermaids. Effecient lifts.

But, little things did surprise me happening in a 5 star hotel.

On arrival,Reception did not seem to have any knowledge of the childrens occupancy in their parents room. A "single" was hurriedly installed and they had to sleep top to toe, which led to sleepless nights for all concerned. Now maybe my son made a mistake by not booking the right room, but the children were on his booking fform but not on the hotels data. Is it possible that the Westin can only accommodate one child per regular bedroom and if you want to facilitate more than that you book a suite? Could turn out to be quite expensive and not very family friendly.

After booking in there was no porter in sight. Reception pointed in direction of lifts and it was a case of find your room. At this stage I did not feel very welcome.

Amazed at the price of a bottle of water,available in our bedroom E8.50. In Ireland complimentary bottles of water are readily available in hotels with lesser stars. (Maybe it has to do with our rainfall in Ireland).

Liked to sit at night in downstairs lounge. Spectacular with roof rising to seven stories, for drinks before bed. On first night,, on the floor above , there was what appeared to be an office party. Speeches, entertainment etc., all of which encroached on the level of enjoyment of our space. Surprised also to see stains on some upholstry. Perhaps the Westin needs residents lounge with a more relaxed athmosphere.

One night we were served,as part of our drinks order, with an item we did not request, When we brought this to the servers attention she reluctantly removed same. When the bill arrived this item ,which we had not ordered ,was included. Again, when this was brought to her attention, she was not well pleased.

Lastly --I am one of that ,shall I say it "dying breed" -- a smoker!!. (Although judging from the numbers outside the front door there are still some of us around). Be warned it will cost you E150.00 if you smoke in your bedroom!! Would'nt it be nice if there was an area , within the confines of the hotel,, maybe in the garden ,to smoke ,where one would not feel so much of a outcast.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1MARYMARY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinBerlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 19 January 2010
Dear guest, even after a time we do not want to miss to thank you for your comment. With deep regret we have noticed that we could not meet your expectations. Indeed extra beds can be put just in some room categories. But if we know in advance what the guest needs exactly, we can make a suitable offer.
We also do apologize for the experience in theLobby; we had an event at the upper and open Foyer-area, but that situation is really seldom. We are so sorry to disturbing you and also for the experience with the waitress, we have evaluated.
We are a non smoking hotel and thank you very much for your advice concerning the smoking area, we will consider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Second stay at the Westin Grand. It has been extensively renovated and it is in tip top condition. I would reccomend this to anyone visiting Berlin. The location is superb and provides all the amenities of a world class hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinBerlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 17 December 2009
Thank you so much for this nice recommendation! We are proud to fulfill your expectations! Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year for you and your beloved one's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Excellent service in a great facility, ideally located. Will always return to it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P9642Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinBerlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 17 December 2009
Dear Guest, we would be delighted to welcome you again and again. Have a Merry Christmas and all the best to you and your family in the 2010!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Mostly uneventful stay and room was comfortable but I had one morning where there was no hot water and so I took a cold shower.. complained but there wan no reaction other than a lame apology. I guess hot water 4 out of 5 days is pretty good?

Spent a few hours in the lobby with friends and it was nice and good tea and snacks but kind of expensive

Great location nr Unter De Linden

Also don't know why they charge you to use the sauna - most of the other hotels in the area it would be free.

I would have rated it higher had they responded better to my hot water situation

Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KirtiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinBerlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 17 December 2009
Dear guest, we deeply regret the occurence. Unfortunately it is a long time ago to find out what did happen but of course you did not experience our normally service. And of course if failures or mistakes occur we try to find a solution. However, we do sincere apologize if we failed and hope you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Located in the main street of Berlin, near the Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie the museum zone, all in walking distance, this is a great hotel, not too expensive as the new ones, but surely worth every Euro.

The big indoor poo, jacuzzi and spa, its a great finish for a walking day! And the first two are free!

And by the way, we met with Bono from U2 just two blocks away!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivetoTravel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinBerlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 17 December 2009
Google Translation
THANK YOU. Hope you will come back again and enjyou not only our wellness area! Warmest regards - your Westin Grand, Berlin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#53 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#51 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#81 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing